We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bowl of Pho

Bowl of Pho
9902 Old Baymeadows Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32256-8103
904-646-4455
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 1,775 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

Pho was excellent.
Our waitress was nice and helpful.
All 4 dishes tasted very good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Americanized Vietnamese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011 via mobile

My significant other is Vietnamese, so I had had a lot of great Vietnamese food homemade, as well as in Vietnamese restaurants that they enjoy. This restaurant is not one of them. The food here is an Americanized concept of what Vietnamese food should be. It is edible, but if you know what the food is supposed to taste like, there is no comparison. If you want to try great Vietnamese food in the Jacksonville area, there is a little restaurant at the corner of Cassat Avenue and I-10.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakeitsgreat
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Tasty Noodles in an Excellently Appointed Eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My girlfriend and I recently visited Bowl of Pho for lunch. I am not from the area and we found this place via Google when we searched for Bubble Tea.

I got the Bún, while my girlfriend ordered the Phở. Both dishes were served with their traditional accouterments, and were tasty and fresh. We also shared some spring rolls, which were also very typical, fresh and delicious - the only difference was the peanut dipping sauce was much thinner than I have had at other restaurants - I actually preferred this sauce to the pastier variations found at other places.

I am not a fan of Bubble Tea, or Boba, but my girlfriend orders the milk tea and reported that it was a touch too sweet, and had grass jelly mixed in. The tapioca balls were a good consistency - she gave it 3.5 stars (a compliment).

The restaurant is located in an older looking shopping plaza anchored by a grocery store. There were several other Asian restaurants and shops in the area. Bowl of Pho was much nicer than I had anticipated by the surroundings - I think I was imagining more of a noodle shop type place. This was an artfully decorated restaurant with a host, booths and a full menu.

If you are in the Jacksonville area and are craving some Phở, I would highly recommend Bowl of Pho.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pretty tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Surprisingly delightful! We came here purely based on the Yelp reviews, and I'd say that it was worth the trip.

We ordered our simple spring rolls and pho special. I ordered the small, Husband ordered the large, and 3 of our other friends ordered other Pho bowls.

I thoroughly enjoyed the spring rolls. Very fresh, equal balance in filling of shrimp to pork to vermicelli to basil leaves and lettuce. The dipping sauce wasn't bad, but I prefer it to have a little more heat to it.

Pho was well done. Meat quality was high, and the broth was pretty good. I still prefer the broth that I had in Mississauga, Ontario. Tastes more fragrant. This one was just a little flatter and saltier. Still pretty good compared to some places in LA.

All in all, good meal, and good service. Quick, fast, and efficient. No frills, and not dingy either! I'd come back if I was in a pho mood and in the area.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“We drive 100 miles...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

round trip for the pho at this great place! The food is fresh and tasty, and the prices reasonable.
They have a well rounded menu of noodle and rice dishes, as well as spring rolls. The service is quick and efficient.
My only suggestion would be....put in a second location at River City!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowl of Pho also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Bowl of Pho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowl of Pho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.