We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love garlic...and tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 13 Gypsies

13 Gypsies
887 Stockton St, Jacksonville, FL 32204
904-389-0330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,775 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stanley, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“If you love garlic...and tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The food is fresh, the service was friendly and prompt...great place! The honey hummus should not be missed. I hadn't had honey on top of hummus before, but it was a nice counterpoint to the garlic in the hummus. Every other plate we had was really scrumptious. The chorizo, the cremini mushrooms and the bruschetta were all winners. The gazpacho was a little weird. I have never had pureed gazpacho before. It was good, just not what I expected. I don't think I will get it again. Overall a really good experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    17
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Date night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This isn't a place you would eat every night but when you want something special... go here. The chef puts a lot into his menu. You aren't eating anything out of a box. It's tapas so the portions are on small side... as you would expect. The specials are amazing and the desserts are too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best crab cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I love this place! Went there for lunch and had their crab cakes. Apparently they had just put them on the menu! The best I have ever tasted! My husband had the ham gravy over peasant bread and that was delicious as well! I highly recommend this place! There are no burgers, no hot dogs or anything that even resembles this on their menu! Just good food prepared wonderfully!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have tried on numerous occasions to have dinner at 13 Gypsies and finally landed reservations! Our fabulous evening celebrating two birthdays was well worth our wait! Our party of 8 ordered everything from hummus with clover honey to citrus marinated beef, gnocchi and tres leche cake!
We loved everything ! Don't give up!
You will love 13 Gypsies!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Try the risotto and the tres leches cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We shared the Tres Leches cake. OMG it was incredible. As was the risotto. I had the mushroom and Parmesean croquettes. They are $3 a piece not per serving. They were okay. I also had the piri piri shrimp. Again, just okay. Small portion big price. But I would definitely go back for the risotto and cake. Nice sized portions and the best risotto I ever had and I make my own. It was perfect. I challenge Chef Ramsey to find fault with their risotto. True perfection. My cousin had the Salvador sandwich. He says it was good. I think I have some photos to add.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 13 Gypsies also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to 13 Gypsies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 13 Gypsies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.