We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the real deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 5th Element

5th Element
9485 Baymeadows Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32256-7901
904-448-8265
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 1,678 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lake City, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the real deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

First visit & when I walked in the door and saw cricket on the tvs and lots of Desi customers, I knew this was the real deal. The parking lot was more crowded than the other South Asian restaurant nearby.
Lunch buffet was good, though more highly-spiced than this Yank is used to. The guys at the table next to me, all Tegelu, said the food was almost as good as their mothers'.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian cuisine at a reasonable price . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Authentic Indian cuisine at a reasonable price . . .

I enjoy Indian cuisine as much as the next person, but there are certain dishes I enjoy.

I knew about The 5th Element over the years, but have dined there less than five times. My recent visit there was today.

They have a very good lunch buffet with a variety signature Indian dishes that are exceptionally well done. I enjoyed the chicken and goat curries especially.

The service is courteous and friendly. The atmosphere is pleasant within the restaurant. The one thing that stands out about this restaurant is the number of Indian customers who come for the food. To me that is an indication verifying that the cuisine is authentic. As awkward as it sounds, but it’s true.

I plan to go back when the weather is a bit cooler and when my palate wants some flavorful and robust Indian cuisine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I went out to eat wit my cousin, a vegetarian and my mother, a picky eater. I wish I could remember what the name of the appetizer was. OMG, so very, very good! A very large long bread thing with potatoes, onions and peppers inside.
I had the CHICKEN MAKHANI,my mother had the CHICKEN JALFRAIZE, and my cousin had the VEGETABLE THALI. The service was excellent. We were there for so long enjoying ourselves and talking that the restaurant closed. We hadn't noticed. no on said anything to us or made us feel like we were keeping them. When we left everyone smiled, they were all gracious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I been to these restaurant so many times every time I go there I like the food more than last visit.great lunch buffet with varieties.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, GFL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you like Indian Cuisine.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The 5th Element is one of my favorite dinner spots. Although I have never lived in India, the menu seems caters to a lot of people from India, as evidenced by the clientel . Try the Sag Paneer and any of the Masala dishes... you will not be disappointed. The Naan is fresh and has always arrived to our table warm. The servers attentive, courteous and eager to help in describing menu items that may bot be familiar to you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5th Element also viewed

 

Been to 5th Element? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5th Element, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.