We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low price + Low quality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Jefferson Road, Hwy 9A & Atlantic Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32225 (Formerly St. Johns Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 130 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Low price + Low quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

Suites means a pull out couch in the same room with a partial wall devider. The TV was right in the middle of the wall devider so you could not even really watch it. The bathroom was in deplorable condition. The tub and walls were plastered over with that white re-sealant stuff. It was all pealing off and I had to go buy bleach to clean of the mold and mildew.
When the tropical storm took out the power my kids were completely bored. I was taking them out to play in the flooded grass next to the hotel (well protecetd by two large buildings) and asked for towels. The manager denied us towels and said he could not give us PERMISSION to let our kids play in the puddles. I did not know that I needed his permission, nor was I asking for it. HOW DARE HE! Then the next day the maids asked us if we put ours babies in the pool in the storm. WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!
We were in Florida for our daughter's wedding. We were in need of 27 more rooms that weekend. I made sure no one stayed there. We only stayed because it was already pre-paid for through Hotels.com and I could not afford to pay for another Hotel.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    42
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
40
14
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

We were travelling south through Florida and what a pleasant surprise we found at the Comfort Suites just off 9A in Jacksonville. This is a brand new "all-suites" hotel located on a great shortcut versus I-295. And it is only ten minutes from the beach! We had a very comfortable king size bed, nice bath with granite counter top, great sitting area et al. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful. The free breakfast offered great variety and fresh, frequently replentished foods/beverages in a pleasant environment. The beaches, many restaurants and shopping nearby make this a great location. Under $100 this hotel was a very good value. We highly recommend it!!

DW
Georgia

  • Liked — Brand new, all suites at good value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

Never been to Florida and my daughter was getting married on the beach near Jacksonville. This Comfort Inn is a very new hotel and is about a block off of Atlantic Ave. We stayed there for 3 nights and the beds there were better than mine at home! Beautiful bathrooms with granite counter tops on the vanity. Big closet to hang all our wedding clothes. Continental breakfast was great too. They had eggs, bacon, sausage, rolls, cereal-- pretty extensive. Desk personnel was very professional. Parking was very clean and seemed in a very safe area. Only downfall was a very small outdoor pool. It was too cool for us to even use it. There is a mall not far down the road from this hotel with lots of dining choices.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

We enjoyed a wonderful Stay at the comfort Suites in Jacksonville. The facility and rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff at the hotel was polite and helpful at all times. The rooms were quiet with no noticable road noise. The beds and pillows were soft and we had a good nights rest.

  • Liked — good bed
  • Disliked — limited breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

I was so surprised by this hotel. The building seems like it is brand new. The room is very spacious, and the beds are very comfortable and have nice linens. All of the furniture seems like it is brand new, and it looks very good. The bathroom was a great size and is very nice as well. The staff is extremely courteous and went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. The complementary breakfast is very nice as well. The only negative is that the hotel sits off of Atlantic Blvd and it could be a little tricky in getting to the hotel.

  • Liked — The newness of the hotel
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolivia,nc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

This hotel must be new! The public rooms were very nice and sleeping rooms comfortable and clean. For the price it was a great value. Location is good near 9A and Atlantic Blvd and service was friendly. Continental breakfast was ok, the attendant was very friendly and kept the area neat. The rate was about $30 less then the nearby Hampton Inn (also stayed there) and just as nice. This hotel was a pleasant surprise. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — clean and neat
  • Disliked — continental breakfast items
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - SE Med Center Area
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jac...
#18 of 130 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville East Regency Square
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - Blount Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott I-295/East Beltway
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Beach Boulevard/Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East

Address: 53 Jefferson Road, Hwy 9A & Atlantic Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32225 (Formerly St. Johns Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 130 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville East, just off Interstate 295 and Atlantic Boulevard. Whether visiting us for business or pleasure, we are the hotel for you! Centrally located between downtown Jacksonville and Jacksonville Beach, you are never far from work or play. Our guests can come and enjoy a home away from home in our spacious rooms or host a meeting in our 564 square foot meeting space. Each guest room includes our Holiday Inn Express plush bedding, a seating area, work space, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Certain rooms have Jacuzzi tubs and sleeper sofas. Guests may also enjoy complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel, access to our multi-computer on site business center and our signature Express Start hot breakfast. We also boast an outdoor pool, a 24 hour fitness center, as well as an agreement with LA Fitness where our Guests receive complimentary access to all its state of the art equipment. The Holiday Inn Express is just miles away from Jacksonville Beach, the St. Johns Town Center, Everbank Field and downtown Jacksonville. With continuous outdoor festivals, live music concerts, sporting events, theater productions and scenic views, Jacksonville is not only the largest city in the United States, it is always exciting! Jacksonville Beach offers beautiful views of our coastal city, movies under the moon light in the summers, and a wealth of night life and dinning. The St. Johns Town Center gives travelers the best shopping and restaurant options Jacksonville has to offer. Everbank Field is home to the Jacksonville Jaguars and is just a quick and easy 7 mile drive from the hotel, so drop in and catch a game! Getting into downtown Jacksonville is also very accessible to our location. You can have dinner on the beautiful St. Johns River at the Landing, enjoy the Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) or stop by the Museum of Science and History (MOSH). Visit the historic districts of Riverside, San Marco and Avondale, rebuilt after the Great Fire of 1902. This eclectic area offers travelers the opportunity to see Jacksonville's local artists at work during the Riverside Arts Market every weekend. You can also enjoy the many local restaurants in the area to experience the unique atmosphere and flavors found here in Jacksonville, this Bold New City of the South! Our professional and friendly staff is always here to welcome you to the hotel and Jacksonville! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.