We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but bring ear plugs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Jefferson Road, Jacksonville, FL 32225 (Formerly St. Johns Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #22 of 131 hotels in Jacksonville
TIFTON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but bring ear plugs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

friendly staff, great rooms, great price for all the amenities. Would give it a 5 except for one thing, The walls are so thin you can hear everything in the adjacent rooms. On one side of us we were awakened at 4:45 in the morning by the news on the television in the next room. It was so loud I actually thought my wife had turned on the tv when I first woke up. And then at around 7:45am we could hear the entire conversation of the couple in the other room next to us.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you are on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    33
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
9
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Navarre,Fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a very nice hotel for the price.We had the executive king suite which was spacious with a nice sitting area which we used visiting with our Sailor.The Staff was friendly and helpful the room had a good size fridge and microwave.Breakfast was good with pancakes, eggs,meat and some killer cinnamon buns.While the hotel sits on a busy street about 8 miles from Mayport NAS
It was quiet.our senior rate was great for this hotel which was comparable to much more expensive area hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankie b, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us here at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, last month. We really appreciate both the kind words and your business. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the Jacksonville area, that we will have the pleasure of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Frankie Butler
53 Jefferson rd
Jacksonville, Fl 32225
904-997-9190
frankie.jaxab@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

For my stay,(visiting my son at JU) everything went smooothly while staying at this hotel.
I stayed here once when it was owned by another company, and the difference is night & day. The place is newly remodeled, very clean, extremely friendly & easy check in & very accomodating...breakfast came with the reservation & I was very pleased with the choices. Yes, the location is not very impressive stuck behind some buildings but it put you right in the middle of everything - a few minutes here or there & you were in the middle of all the shopping areas, restaurants & for me, really not even 10 mins.away from the college. Seriously a perfect stay!
Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankie b, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You very much for your positive review, and I am very happy to hear that we impressed you. Hope to see you with us in the future !

Sincerely,
Frankie Butler
53 Jefferson rd
Jacksonville, Fl 32225
904-997-9190
frankie.jaxab@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I booked the hotel by bidding so I had a pretty good rate. The location was not impressive. It was tucked behind a major road. Outside were mostly car dealerships but there were a few restaurants within a 2-minute drive. Southside is about 8 minutes away. Hotel was relatively new and clean. Bed was ok comfy, but pillows were not. Though they were marked soft and hard, I couldn't tell the difference. Both felt soft and old to me.

The next morning at 7:30am, the person upstairs started running around in his room. This lasted for 15 minutes and eventually gave me a headache. I told Jazmine at the front desk. She was very accommodating and moved me to the top floor. But, in the middle of the night after the move, I was waken up by the static behind the fridge. Thankfully, Jazmine took care of it again (you are the best!) The staff who moved the new fridge arrived in 10 minutes and he was very polite (kudos to you too).

If you have high tolerance for noise, this shouldn't be an issue.

However, if you have a good appetite for breakfast, then make sure you arrive early, because by 9:00am, bacon, breakfast sausage and scrambled eggs would be gone. The first day the male staff refilled the eggs, probably threw in 3 pieces of sausage, but the female staff on the second day did not bother after a big family cleaned up everything. The rest of the food was typical - toast, cereal, pancake machine. I didn't expect much for free breakfast, but this was worse than my expectation.

Now I understand why I won my bidding. If I have paid regular price, I would be very unhappy.

Room Tip: Choose the 4th floor unless you don't mind the noise and vibrations cause by the person above yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

It is a new hotel. The facility is excellent, and is kept clean. The staff is friendly. The breakfast is mediocre but free. it is kind of hard to get to in rush hour. And, there is no stoplight to get out.

Room Tip: Try to get room on the east side away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was staying on business & was greeted upon arrival by Emily, who upgraded my room to a very spacious suite. The first morning, a Monday morning, my family who was there only one evening with me...were all greeted by CC, who was extraordinarily friendly & even made my "hard to please" daughter very happy by making her pancakes, bringing her out some bacon (only sausage was out), & kept checking on us. The remainder of the week & weekend that I was there, the young lady in the dining area wasn't as friendly. Also they were missing some usually common staples in the HIE chain breakfast...boiled eggs & fruit. I simply went out & bought some fruit & healthier food items for my breakfast. Overall my stay was fine...the bed comfortable, the room clean, flatscreen TV, & lots of things close by....very low price when I was there also. I would return. Oh, also an easy drive into the downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankie b, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is not only to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We look forward to having the opportunity to redeem ourselves should your travels bring you back to the Jacksonville area.

Sincerely,
Frankie Butler
53 Jefferson rd
Jacksonville, Fl 32225
904-997-9190
frankie.jaxab@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A good hotel at a great price. I'd stay here again. It's a few miles from the beach, but it is also 1/2 the price of the hotels on the beach. If I was here on business I'd stay here without concern. For family it is a good dealat a family friendly price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankie b, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your stay with us! I am very pleased that you chose our hotel and enjoyed our rooms. It is through comments such as yours that let us know that we are providing the excellent service that the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville East Is known for !
Sincerely,
Frankie Butler
53 Jefferson rd
Jacksonville, Fl 32225
904-997-9190
frankie.jaxab@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East

Address: 53 Jefferson Road, Jacksonville, FL 32225 (Formerly St. Johns Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 131 hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville East, just off Interstate 295 and Atlantic Blvd. Whether visiting us for business or pleasure, we are the hotel for you! Centrally located between downtown Jacksonville and Jacksonville Beach, you are never far from work or play. Our guests can come and enjoy a home away from home in our spacious rooms. Every room includes our Holiday Inn Express plush bedding, a seating area, work space, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Guests also enjoy complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel and our signature hot Express Start breakfast. We also have a 24 hour fitness and business center on site. We are near some of the best of Jacksonville! Whether taking a cruise out of JAXPORT, catching a football game at Everbank field, heading to the beach; we are the location for you! We are also close to Craig Airport, Mayo Clinic, the Jacksonville Landing, multiple fantastic museums, the Jacksonville Zoological Gardens, Jacksonville University, University of North Florida, and Florida State College at Jacksonville South Campus. Our professional and friendly staff is always here to welcome you to the hotel and Jacksonville! We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.