We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much nicer than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6535 Ramona Blvd., Jacksonville, FL 32205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 130 Hotels in Jacksonville
West Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So much nicer than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Based upon a sampling of recent reviews, we hesitated to make a reservation here, but it looked like the most convenient and affordable location for us. We stayed on a Monday and a Friday night during one week and had spacious, clean rooms both times. We could hear almost no road noise. Bathrooms were spacious. Having a digital thermostat to regulate the A/C was a welcome change from the other places we had stayed recently. It enabled us to fine-tune the comfort level. The selection of restaurants within a few miles suited us just fine, as we were not looking for gourmet-level food. We never sensed any "sketchiness" with this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    28
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
32
19
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This particular hotel made me feel at home. After such a horrible experience the night prior at a very nasty and scary 'hotel', the staff at Sleep Inn made all the difference. Manager, Mia Preston, was absolutely amazing and very compassionate! She treated us as if she had known us for years and as if we were repeated costumers of her establishment! We got our room and boy was it clean!!! I use to do housekeeping for a short time and have ocd so I know clean when I see it! all of the staff here take pride in their establishment. Honestly, I think this hotel is by far the best one my husband and I have stayed in during the 2 weeks I've been with him. The Ramada in Temple Terrace Fl is 2nd in the running! from the cleanliness to to the staff outstanding all the way around!! There are a few places to eat nearby that are in walking distance. The Corner Deli across the street has amazing cheese burgers!!! Sitting outside at night was fine, there is plenty of lighting and truthfully, you wouldn't even get nervous! Trust me, I'm terrified of everything!!!! If you are in this are, I totally suggest staying at least one night!!! It worth it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The surrounding area is questionable at best, but that is not a knock on the people that work there. Everything was clean from the front doors to my room. The room was large and always clean. Breakfast was good not great, could use a little bit more variety and quality. Overall I was very pleased with my stay and would stay again if need be.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Like the Hotel just need alittle work on somethings I thank when you come in the need more handcap parking in they front I thank the nned to give the guest a ticket to put in there window so they know who is staying there and who is not They Help there is very nice I wood stay there agine this time I was alittle let down when I came all the way from Anniston Alabama WATCH IS 445 Miles from home to find my room they bath room was not clean that great and when i went to they pool it was not clean no towels when the sead they wood be But like i sead i wood stay agine

Room Tip: the lower leavel rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I use Choice Hotels a lot. Normally Good Clean Rooms and good staff

This time it felt a bit downmarket from previous stay. Rooms still clean and large enough and breakfast was adequate.

Service was poor and I allowed for the girl at reception who has health problems. The guys were sloppy and parking is limited.

The lift is so slow and sums up the hotel.

Buck up your ideas and it could be rated as very good. This time just average. A pity

Room Tip: Insist on non smoking room. I had a smoking room as that was all that was available and it whiffed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclenny, Florida, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The location was very sketchy, first and foremost. My dad and I felt safest at the CVS in town which was very nice. The room itself had holes in the walls, holes in the blankets, and dirt in every corner. We found a dead roach in the bathroom and the toilet was making weird noises and we hightailed it out of there. The service was awful. Prostitute was in the parking lot. Please do not frequent this location!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestChoiceHotel, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
This guest is clearly over exaggerating!! We do not have large holes in the wall and our rooms are not dirty! We can not stop people from walking to the gas station or the bus stop. We here at Sleep Inn do take EXCELLENT PRIDE in our Excellent Customer Service. We choose not to entertain false accusations. Safe Travels to all!

Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

More than one bug in the room, walls were dirty. Bathroom had stray hairs, and just seemed poorly cleaned and the non-smoking room had cigarette burns in the couch ... However , the bed it's self seemed very clean. It's just the rest of the room... Also in an area I as a female wouldn't go alone especially with my two very young children. Not the worst area, but definitely not somewhere I'm comfortable in. The service, however was great.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestChoiceHotel, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
This guest did not inform us of any such complaints. I did however go inspect that room and the room is clean (saw no bugs at all). Minor issues are of 1 small burn on the couch (which happens when traveler's break rules) However, the couch is still in great condition. In addition, to a minor spill of coffee on the wall by the trash can where a guest threw a drink. (Which is now cleaned and brought to housekeepers attention). The area is not as bad as everyone assumes and we have several repeat guest that feel very safe with us. We here have had no problems any different than any hotel you travel too, (considering we are a 2-1/2 star brand hotel (not a 5 star). Stars do not count as customer ratings, yet as for amenities allowed, rates & extra services provided. Tourist (*), Standard (**), Comfort (***), First Class (****) and Luxury (*****). Thank you for the input, we strive to excel better by travelers suggestion. We do apologize for the inconvenience towards this guest and we know we can not make everyone happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville

Address: 6535 Ramona Blvd., Jacksonville, FL 32205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 130 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly constructed hotel opened in September 2009, offers complimentary hot breakfast, outdoor pool, complimentary wireless and hard-wire internet access, complimentary business center and a guest laundry. I-10, Exit 357 allows for easy access to the airport and Jacksonville Cruise Port. We are within walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;