We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly dissapointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6535 Ramona Blvd., Jacksonville, FL 32205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 131 Hotels in Jacksonville
Bucknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Slightly dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I use Choice Hotels a lot. Normally Good Clean Rooms and good staff

This time it felt a bit downmarket from previous stay. Rooms still clean and large enough and breakfast was adequate.

Service was poor and I allowed for the girl at reception who has health problems. The guys were sloppy and parking is limited.

The lift is so slow and sums up the hotel.

Buck up your ideas and it could be rated as very good. This time just average. A pity

Room Tip: Insist on non smoking room. I had a smoking room as that was all that was available and it whiffed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    30
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
43
32
19
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Macclenny, Florida, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The location was very sketchy, first and foremost. My dad and I felt safest at the CVS in town which was very nice. The room itself had holes in the walls, holes in the blankets, and dirt in every corner. We found a dead roach in the bathroom and the toilet was making weird noises and we hightailed it out of there. The service was awful. Prostitute was in the parking lot. Please do not frequent this location!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestChoiceHotel, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
This guest is clearly over exaggerating!! We do not have large holes in the wall and our rooms are not dirty! We can not stop people from walking to the gas station or the bus stop. We here at Sleep Inn do take EXCELLENT PRIDE in our Excellent Customer Service. We choose not to entertain false accusations. Safe Travels to all!

Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

More than one bug in the room, walls were dirty. Bathroom had stray hairs, and just seemed poorly cleaned and the non-smoking room had cigarette burns in the couch ... However , the bed it's self seemed very clean. It's just the rest of the room... Also in an area I as a female wouldn't go alone especially with my two very young children. Not the worst area, but definitely not somewhere I'm comfortable in. The service, however was great.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestChoiceHotel, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
This guest did not inform us of any such complaints. I did however go inspect that room and the room is clean (saw no bugs at all). Minor issues are of 1 small burn on the couch (which happens when traveler's break rules) However, the couch is still in great condition. In addition, to a minor spill of coffee on the wall by the trash can where a guest threw a drink. (Which is now cleaned and brought to housekeepers attention). The area is not as bad as everyone assumes and we have several repeat guest that feel very safe with us. We here have had no problems any different than any hotel you travel too, (considering we are a 2-1/2 star brand hotel (not a 5 star). Stars do not count as customer ratings, yet as for amenities allowed, rates & extra services provided. Tourist (*), Standard (**), Comfort (***), First Class (****) and Luxury (*****). Thank you for the input, we strive to excel better by travelers suggestion. We do apologize for the inconvenience towards this guest and we know we can not make everyone happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansboro, north carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is right off 295 and 10-The perfect place to stop during a trip. Easy on and off. I was a bit concerned when I pulled into the parking lot. It's located behind a convenience store. Very nice front desk staff-check in a breeze-got the room I requested-great nights sleep in a comfortable bed and clean room. I always sleep with the fan on the unit so noise was not a problem. I noticed the Hallway and room had a fresh scent to it. Can't say one negative thing about this hotel or stay. Keep doing what you're doing! This was my first time at a Sleep Inn-if all the others follow suit-it won't be my last.

Room Tip: Requested upper floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestChoiceHotel, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your honest opinion!!! We are honored to know that our guest are happy with their experience, rather than missing out, based off of assumptions!! Travel safe and we hope to see you again! The door is always open for you and your family!!

Mia P
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very clean, friendly staff and one of the best hotel bargains I've had. I usually steer clear of hotels that are less than like $100-$125 dollars as I assume they will be sort of rough but I was very pleased with my experience here. Welcoming front desk staff, room was clean and appointed with the typical amenities - nice TV, coffee pot, etc. Carpet was quite worn but for $70/nite - breakfast included - who cares :-) I would not however suggest this location for a woman traveling alone as the neighborhood was a tad sketchy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestChoiceHotel, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments. I understand being next to 2 bus stop's and a gas station tends to make people nervous because of the people walking to and from. But our hotel should not be held accountable in negative way because of something that is out of our control. And you provided travelers with input of the great service we provide and basis of what our hotel is! Again, We greatly thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Arriving to the hotel, we wasn,t so sure because of the area. Walking into the hotel we was like WOW!!!!!!!!! Very clean. Lawrence checked us in and he ensured us that nothing was going to happen to our car, and guess what he was right. He has a very out going personality, and is very helpful. Breakfast was wonderful, Penny checked us out OH LORD Penny is very crazy and funny, and knows what she is doing. Took all of 1 min. to check us out! Nice clean rooms, bathrooms, and parking lot, although it is a bit small. lol if your a traveler this hotel would be best fitting for you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestChoiceHotel, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to prove we are not as bad as the people rate the area!!! We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again real soon!!! Safe Travels!!!

Mia P
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had an awesome experience with the Sleep Inn in Jacksonville Florida! The rooms are super clean, parking is very close to the entrance and the staff is extremely accommodating and eager to assist. Oh, and the breakfast is REAL food and REAL good! After breakfast, we were treated to a complementary pass to Olympia Gym just 2 blocks away. Great stay all the way around!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestChoiceHotel, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
It is very easy to complain about someone’s work and equally difficult to appreciate her/his work or give a compliment for the efforts. But it is very crucial for an employee or for any individual or business for that matter, to get compliments on good work done or sincere efforts put in. We work hard either way to obtain overall satisfaction such as yours. Moreover, we are happily satisfied to have guest like you as well. Safe travels and the "Light" is always on for you and other wonderful guest!

Mia P.
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville

Address: 6535 Ramona Blvd., Jacksonville, FL 32205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 131 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly constructed hotel opened in September 2009, offers complimentary hot breakfast, outdoor pool, complimentary wireless and hard-wire internet access, complimentary business center and a guest laundry. I-10, Exit 357 allows for easy access to the airport and Jacksonville Cruise Port. We are within walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.