We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shrimp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. John's Seafood & Steaks

St. John's Seafood & Steaks
9825 San Jose Blvd, Jacksonville, FL
(904) 338-9349
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #656 of 1,775 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
tallmadge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently stopped in Jacksonville, Fla., while traveling to Sarasota. The area we stayed had little to offer except fast food, and after several hours driving on I-95, we needed a drink.
St. John’s Seafood and Steak showed up on our laptop radar. This is a local chain with three locations. We chose the “western” one on Lane Avenue, off of Commonwealth (near both I-295 and I-10.)
Other TA reviewers have described St. John’s “not the fanciest” and “unpretentious.” Both are good descriptions.
This is a fish house, plain and simple. Indoor/outdoor carpeting, basic booths, uninviting lighting. It has a few TVs on the wall for the sports fans. Soda crackers (not bread) are served while you wait for your food. A strong, but appealing smell of frying seafood filled the air.
But it was a FIND. They offer a shrimp platter –15 medium-sized shrimp for $11. This was not a diet night, so I chose fried. It was perhaps the best fried shrimp I have ever had. My husband got his shrimp blackened and he said they were perfect, maybe the best he's had. And we counted. Both of our platters had at least 18 shrimp but it probably depends on the size available on any given day.
The coleslaw was wonderfully creamy. We both chose green beans for a side and WOW what a surprise. Not grandmas canned green beans. When we asked the waitress what made them so good she told us they had a little butter, a little onion and seasonings but we could tell she didn't know the recipe.
Service was a bit slow, but it was a Saturday night and most people were drinking iced tea which probably meant the servers had to hunt for their wine supply.
It was a very good meal and St. John's will be a mandatory stop in our future travels through there.
,

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Fl And Cleveland, Oh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best seafood restaurants in the world!l”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I know this sounds over the top, but if you love just plain old fried oysters and shrimp, along with awesome cole slaw, this place is a must try! We make it a point to stop for lunch every time we pass through Jacksonville. Prices are reasonable, staff is friendly, this very unpretentious restaurant is truly a sleeper among great restaurants. Nothing fancy here folks, just great food! Love this place!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best value in town for seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

St. Johns Seafood and Steaks is a great family owned and operated seafood restaurant. My wife and I have been going there for a number of years. It's not the fanciest restaurant but it's always clean and the wait staff generally provides great service. The prices are reasonable and the food is good. They offer a variety of different seafood and steaks; however, we can't get past the fried shrimp. Their fried shrimp is consistently some of the best we've had. It's never over-cooked and it's always tender. You can't beat the 30 piece special.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good, Reliable Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

St John's Seafood & Steaks is a regular stop for our luncheon group's monthly get-togethers. The seafood always seems fresh. (Over several years and over a hundred meals between group members, no one has ever complained of an "off" smell or taste.)

The menu has a better than average range of seafood choices, as well as a few non seafood options. I tend toward the fried combos, as the breading isn't too heavy, but their grilled/baked dishes are also quite good.

Portion sizes are generous, giving diners a good value for their dollars.

Perhaps because we generally have a fairly large group, service tends to be on the slow side. However, the wait staff are efficient and patient. They have never balked at our requests for separate checks even though we have as many as 20 in our group, and some are using coupons.

Jacksonville and environs have other seafood restaurants with more charm and atmosphere , but for value and convenience, St John's Seafood & Steaks is hard to beat. That's why we've been going back year after year.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. John's Seafood & Steaks also viewed

 

Been to St. John's Seafood & Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. John's Seafood & Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.