We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VVA Convention August 2013.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Dora Italian Cafe

Casa Dora Italian Cafe
108 E Forsyth St, Jacksonville, FL 32202-3318
+1 904-356-8282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 1,678 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Casa Dora Italian Restaurant is located in Downtown Jacksonville on East Forsyth Street next to the Florida Theatre. You can find the owner Chef Sam Hassan and the store manager Freddie in the restaurant each day. They have been cooking homemade Italian food with love and care since 1976. Stop by and try some of Casa Dora's delicious food and see why 'Homemade is Better.'
1 review
“VVA Convention August 2013.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Very good and reasonably priced close to Hyatt Hotel Riverfront. Friendly attmospere and good wine selection. Nice walk to and from hotel. Desert really tops off the meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    20
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superior food with simple setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Casa Dora was a pleasant surprise and only wish we had learned about it earlier as our time in Jacksonville is coming to an end. All four of us had different entrees and all of us said it was excellent. The entrance tells you that food and staff will be what you remember because it is simple without an expensive decor. Service was great.

I do not know if they take reservations but I'm sure they would try to accommodate a small party.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Casa Dora Italian Cafe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The quaity of the food was not very good. The service was Ok. The price was a Ok, but not for the quality provided.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This restaurant was in walking distance of the Hyatt where my husband and I were staying. We were greeted by Freddie as we walked in. It was a very welcoming environment. The food was delicious from the bread, to the salad with homemade dressing, to the dinner to the cheesecake! We loved everything about this restaurant and the friendliness of Freddie! If we ever come back to Jacksonville, we will certainly come back to this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimauma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fast, friendly and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

A nice gem in downtown Jax. Order at the counter and pay and Freddie and his crew brings you your wonderful items. Lots of famous signed photos on the wall to peruse while you wait for your food. Delightful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Dora Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Casa Dora Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Dora Italian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.