We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and pleasure found together at HGI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Kings Avenue, Jacksonville, FL 32207   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book in Advance & Save
Ranked #34 of 131 hotels in Jacksonville
Home
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Business and pleasure found together at HGI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a new concept,that combines both a garden inn and homewood suites in the same location, sharing a large outdoor pool , hot tub, but with different kitchens. Parking is plentiful and covered to avoid the hot Florida sun, and only a short walk from the keyed entry. The Inn is currently updated, and replete with smiling and helpful clerks and staff. The lobby has tables, chairs and couches for business or eating , but I preferred to sit poolside, and enjoy the sun or shaded areas which were plentiful, but there could be a few more lounging chairs. The rooms are large and comfortable. Microwave and mini fridge present, large flatscreen and typical bathroom. Work desk is good, well lighted and an adjustable work chair works well. Beds were a bit stiff, but if you like a firm feel, comfortable.
Breakfast was plentiful, but I didn't like having to order eggs vis waitress,made freshly, but the option of ready made scrambled was. It offered. Lots of meats, waffles, fruit, cereals, breads, and the not oatmeal was very good, a rarity these days!
The exercise room was disappointing in that there were no free weights, but otherwise aerobic machines and a stack was available, but only l person could use that at a time.
Regardless, the good far outweigh the just oks at this property.

Room Tip: The train is heard from any room, no real views, but the pool side may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    60
    24
    17
    4
See reviews for
32
36
15
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Excellent stay at this hotel very close to Metro Park, we were there attending a concert very busy at the hotel. Rose who assisted us at the front desk was AMAZING, she was quick to help us with local shopping and places to eat, also made every morning enjoyable when we would see her before heading out. The hotel was very clean and convenient for the weekend we had planned. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel is located at the Southbank near downtown Jacksonville. I had a business conference at the Hyatt, but the rooms there were too expensive. My sister recommended the Hilton and I am glad she did. You do pay a $10 daily fee for parking, but your car is inside a parking garage in which only key holders can enter. A cab ride to downtown is about $5.20. The hotel is about 20 min. from the airport.

The check-in process was very smooth and quick. The view from my room was spectacular, especially since I love Jacksonville's downtown skyline. Everything is kept very clean. The dining area is next to the pool, which I found very relaxing. To my surprise I was able to dine at the lounge for less than $15, which included soup, a hefty order of nachos and a soft drink.

There is always coffee and cookies or muffins to snack on in the lobby area. They also have very cozy seating areas and a fire place in the lobby. Breakfast is not free. Pool is between 4 to 6 feet deep, which leads me to believe it is not necessary the place for family vacationing, but a great place for business and couples.

The hotel has easy access to I-95 and it's only a few feet away from the skyway (monorail) system that takes you to downtown. There's lots to do in downtown: Science Center, The Landings (music and dining by the bay), walking trail next to the waterway, etc... Loved the stay!

Room Tip: Anything 6th floor of higher and rooms with even numbers have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kindersley, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a great hotel! It was super clean and tidy. it has a very updated look. Very friendly staff! Loved everything about it! The location was great for our stay, close to the Metro Park, as well as many restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This site is extremely difficult to get to from the interstate and the dinning area is extremely worn and dirty. The staff was very helpful and friendly, they were the best part of the hotel. HASDE DDD FUH FERE DFC HH OTEL STAY WAS WEASW

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

hotel is near major highway and my room was noisy with traffic all night, no acknowlegenment of my status or bottled water, morning breakfast staff was great however as was the upgraded breakfast offering of salmon, capers, and onions but wouldn't stay again due to cleanliness and noise I am a Platinum Hilton member

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Nice hotel but odor near the Kitchen/Bar/Elevator area is an issue. Next the the paint on the bathroom ceiling is flaking off. I would recommend this hotel however if management doesn't ensure the small quality problems are taken care of customers will not be happy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank

Address: 1201 Kings Avenue, Jacksonville, FL 32207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
#26 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#28 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly constructed, uniquely designed Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown / Southbank hotel is located in the trendy San Marco area just minutes from the heart of downtown Jacksonville, and only 20 minutes from the Jacksonville International Airport. Most rooms offer a beautiful city or river view. The hotel is adjacent to Jacksonville's Skyway rapid transit system to facilitate your commute. The Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown / Southbank is the perfect corporate housing venue while in the Southbank area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.