We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, poor location and service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Kings Avenue, Jacksonville, FL 32207   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book in Advance & Save
Ranked #36 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Average hotel, poor location and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was disappointed in this hotel, very basic and in an area where there is nothing nearby. Service is average to bad, when I arrived back from a meeting at lunchtime the room had not been cleaned and it took 3 phone calls and 2 hours to get it done.
I will find somewhere else when I come back to Jacksonville

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear FrankFurness,

Thank you for taking time to place your comments on Tripadvisor! While we cannot change our location we can definitely fix the issue you had with having your room cleaned the first time you requested service. I have spoken with both our front desk and housekeeping teams about your situation, and put together a plan to correct this error. I want you to know that we truly appreciate your business, and value you as a customer. We hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

David Shoshan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    75
    29
    20
    5
See reviews for
40
49
17
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is so homey...

Very near to my office though we still need a car to get to the buidling. I enjoyed the facilities (gym, laundry room (lol!). The lobby is looks so tidy and as well as the resto. By the way, I love their free cookies every night....!!!!

The staff from the front desk (William and Larry) are soo cool and helpful as well as the resto staff. I love them!

My concern is the call center that took my call when I asked how much was the breakfast. He quoted $6 but it turned out to be almost $13. I hope he is more equipped with the knowledge needed.

Still, love the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Louieboytoy,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor about our hotel. We truly appreciate your business, and know you have many choices. I am sorry to hear about the misinformation from our call center in regards to breakfast pricing. I will be personally contacting the call center to ensure they have the correct information in their system. Once again thank you again for staying with us, and have a great weekend!!!


David Shoshan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel several times and until now have been entirely happy. On our latest visit however we were given a fine room on the sixth floor. Specifically the room was on the Northwest corner. What is important about this is that across the street from the hotel at this location is a nightclub that plays extremely LOUD music until 2AM. It was impossible to get to sleep. In Jacksonville there is apparently no noise ordinance that applies to businesses. Apparently this is not a new problem. See other reviews.
The next AM we were moved to a room on the interior overlooking the pool. All was quiet. Rose at the front desk was indeed a rose and did all she could do to improve our stay. If you're to stay at this hotel on a Friday or Saturday, do NOT get a room anywhere the Northwest corner of the hotel. Otherwise all was fine.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Northwest corner of the hotel on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Mr. Stuart,

Thank you for your kind words about Rose! We truly appreciate your feedback, and want you to know that we are working on resolving the noise issue with our neighbors. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future!


Sincerely,


David Shoshan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Traveled for business and had a very nice stay. We were there for four days and had several rooms. The staff was very accommodating and the property was clean.

The location is very good, but the restaurants and bars that are within walking distance are on the edge of "walking distance." The restaurant/bar area in the hotel is nice, but closes at 10 p.m. Seemed strange given how large the area was and how well stocked the bar seemed to be.

Also, there is a biker bar across the street which caused some noise on our last two nights. They got quiet around 12:30 a.m., and the rest of the evening was uneventful.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the parking garage to avoid noise from the bars. You'll lose the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear eightonesix,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate you staying with is and understanding about our noisy neighbors. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.


David Shoshan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My recent stay at this Hilton property was for business in the Jacksonville area. When I checked in I was told that I was the "guest of the day". That was a nice treat...I got a free breakfast, and a free snack and beverage from their Pantry. The only meal I ate there was in the morning and it was a standard buffet, with made to order omelet, which was very well done. When I return to this area for business, I will stay here again. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and well appointed. The bathroom had a new glass doored shower, which I really like better than the shower/tub with shower curtain. I am hoping that this is something the Hilton company is changing out in more of their hotels. They have a nice pool area which is in a courtyard and well protected.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side over look the interstate, but I could not hear trafffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Ms. Kathy,

I am so excited to hear that you were chosen as our guest of the day during your visit last month. We are so happy to hear that you had a enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you in the future!


Sincerely,

David Shoshan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville is a standard Hilton Garden Inn. Nice, clean accomodations, nothing fancy but comfortable. When we arrived there was no one at the front desk. We waited for almost 5 minutes when the front desk clerk finally showed up. She greated us nicely but she did not apologize for the wait. It seems to me that if your front desk person is going to be away there should be a sign saying they will return soon, makes happy customers.

The service picked up when we returned later in the day to visit the bar and met Megan. Very nice young lady who took very good care of us. The service was very good even when she got busy. The hotel is in a business district so there is not much around as far as restaurants or bars. For the first time at a Hilton Garden Inn we paid for parking. Other than that there is not much to say about the hotel, clean accomodations, good service at the bar, fix the front desk thing and you have a great hotel. Actually the front desk clerk has good customer service, just make sure you indicate when you will return if you have to leave the desk. Another staffing issue, I sense a pattern forming for this trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Pamela-and-Greg,


Thank your for your review about our hotel! I am sorry to hear that it took so long for our front desk agent to make inital contact. I have spoken with our Front Desk Manager about better ways to monitor the desk so it doesn't happen again in the future. I am glad to hear that Megan at our bar helped turn things around.

Sincerely,

David Shoshan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGIA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed for 4 days to celebrate my anniversary. This hotel is first class. They acknowledged my anniversary at check-in. Thanks to the staff for an upgrade to a presidential suite. Magnificent room. The bed was one of the best ever with the ability to adjust the firmness. The shower!!! 6 shower heads, perfect temperature. Location is prime for downtown. Very close to the Jacksonville Landing. Easy access to the interstate also. Want to thank Ms. Rosa for her help with an item I left. She took it upon herself to retrieve my item and see to it that we got it back. Ms. Rosa rocks!!!!! There is a night club near but it was only loud Friday might and about 12am it was over. So it was cool with us. Great stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear GeorgiaTraveling,



Thank you so much for your nice comments about our hotel and sharing your experience. I will definitely pass on your kind words to Rose! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future!

Happy Belated Anniversary!!!!


David Shoshan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank

Address: 1201 Kings Avenue, Jacksonville, FL 32207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#24 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
#37 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly constructed, uniquely designed Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown / Southbank hotel is located in the trendy San Marco area just minutes from the heart of downtown Jacksonville, and only 20 minutes from the Jacksonville International Airport. Most rooms offer a beautiful city or river view. The hotel is adjacent to Jacksonville's Skyway rapid transit system to facilitate your commute. The Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown / Southbank is the perfect corporate housing venue while in the Southbank area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.