We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Mayport Naval Base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2040 Mayport Road, jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL 32233   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #45 of 131 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Visiting Mayport Naval Base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is convenient when visiting Mayport Naval Base. The price is economical especially with the military discount. A full breakfast is included which is great. The front desk was very friendly and helpful especially when we had to add an extra night. We couldn't stay in our room so we had to move to a different room which was ok. The complimentary cookies were awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilatjax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your generous compliments of our hotel and staff! I am very pleased to hear your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable.We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. We look forward to having you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    31
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
49
21
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We are staying at the Holiday Inn, Mayport Road, Jacksonsville, FL because of medical treatment at Mayo Clinic. The staff and service people have gone out of their way to make our extended stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Let the staff know if you have medical treatments at Mayo Clinic. They will try to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilatjax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I’m glad our staff was able to exceed your expectations.Thanks so much for adding us to your favorite hotels and we hope to see you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We go to Jacksonville at least every other month to see our grandson. We have stayed at just about all of the hotels on the mainland and on the beachside. Hotwire, which only gave it 2 and half stars, is what we used. In my book, it's really should be at least a 3 star. The hotel itself is spotless from the lobby and breakfast area to our room. We had a large king room which was very comfortable and nicely decorated. I did hear the tv in the room next to ours, but it wasn't annoying. The only thing I can say about the area that the hotel is in...is that it's industrial/residential. I never felt unsafe and as a matter of fact there were quite a few expensive type cars in the parking lot and no one reported any problems. As we spent most of our time with our grandson, we only were at the hotel for breakfast and to sleep. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilatjax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We LOVE hearing this kind of feedback. I’m so glad you were impressed with the quality, cleanliness and comfort of our hotel. We hope that next time you are in the Jacksonville area you will specifically choose our hotel. We’ll see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband, a quadriplegic, and I had to go to Mayo on short notice. My main concern for a room was accessibility and cleanliness. Our expectations were exceeded greatly. Management was very accomodating to our needs, took time to listen to what we needed and how to accomplish them. We had to make sure our Hoyer lift would go under the bed versus a platform bed like in most hotels. The room was the cleanest I've ever been in. They understood when I ran a little late checking out as I was moving all of our stuff back to the van. Every point of our stay was perfect. We will return the next time we're up there. Highly recommend. Sorry so late in getting this in.

Room Tip: Study directions closely. We missed the turn for the overpass coming from the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilatjax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
My team and I sincerely appreciate the time you took to review our property and are looking forward to being of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Four of us stayed there for a business (schooling) trip from the 5th to the 9th , company's choice. I had excent service the whole time; from check in to check out. Very freindly and accomodating. I had aske for late check out the last day and was able to take up to 2:30. Otherwise I would have had to take my luggage to school and go from school to the airport. All transportation was by Taxi; the company did not give us a rental car. I asked for and received two regular coffed packets each day from house keeping, I'm not a decafe person. The breakfast buffet was excellent, enough choices to please most everyone. This was important to us since again only Taxi to school and Hotel was authorized. I found the room clean and comfortable. This place was not picked by us but I would pick it if I had the choice. The area is not the greatest but we did find places to eat supper within walking distance, i.e...Thai, Mexican, wings, Sub shop and a small grocery store. The Hotel does not have a restaurant so except for breakfast, one much fend for themselves; though there is a Microwave Oven and a refrigerator in the room . Overall, I found it a great place and if you have better transportation, there are many good places to eat and it is not far from the beaches.

Room Tip: The buffet breakfast is served from 5:30 until 9:30. Rooms on back side will have less traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilatjax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
This review exemplifies the way we want our guests to experience our hotel. Thanks for the awesome review. It was a pleasure having you at our hotel and I really hope you guys come back to visit us next time you are in the area. Thanks again, and we’ll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Staying here as I write this. Chose this hotel because it is pet friendly and nest the relatives we are visiting. Service is first rate. The common areas are spotless as was our room. Nice complimentary breakfast - bacon, eggs, biscuits, gravy, cereals, etc. a couple of suggestions- provide bowls for the dogs food and water and put a couple of towel racks in the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilatjax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are glad you loved your stay and hope to see you again soon in Jacksonville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked here because of the location (best for us), price and hot breakfast. We were very surprised when greeted at the front desk with a hospitable woman who told us that she had our reservations and we were being upgraded to a KING SUITE because of our Priority Club membership and then handed us a goodie bag of chips, granola bar and bottle of water! WOW! Membership has it's advantages!
The room was clean and very spacious! The breakfast was good every time that we ate, They offered something a little different each morning.
There were only a couple of things that needed to be improved on. The bathtub was very slippery and needed either a tub mat or new non-slip pads. Also the bathroom needed an exhaust vent.
We had a very comfortable stay and plan on staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: They stop serving breakfast at 9:30am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilatjax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for these wonderful comments and for taking the time to share this valuable feedback on our hotel with TripAdvisor. We are grateful for your wonderful response. We are thrilled to hear you are enjoying your stay with our team, and felt welcomed. We are grateful for your wonderful feedback about our rooms and outstanding team, we strive to ensure our guests feel right at home with us and we are so glad you found our team, service and rooms to be accommodating. I hope you will continue to allow my colleagues and I the opportunity to create an indelible memory for you in the future. We really appreciate all the nice comments and will be sure to share this with my colleague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach

Address: 2040 Mayport Road, jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL 32233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Jacksonville-Atlantic Beach! Minutes from the Mayport Naval Station and a short 20 minutes from the Jacksonville airport, travelers appreciate how convenient we are to Jacksonville, Neptune, Atlantic and Ponte Vedra Beach. Spend the day at Hannah Park or an evening on the Sun Cruz Casino gambling the night away. Relax away the afternoon in our sparkling pool or take the family to Adventure Landing Water Park. Whether you are in Jacksonville for business or leisure, the downtown area is just 20 minutes away and the beaches are only a 5 minute drive. Plan to attend one of our Beach Festivals or The Players Championship at Sawgrass Country Club. Let Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Atlantic Beach be your perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.