We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming atmosphere, safe menu choices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J Alexander's

J Alexander's
10296 Bistro St, Jacksonville, FL 32246-7488
904-996-7147
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
J Alexander's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 1,775 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Big Island Drive
Madison, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming atmosphere, safe menu choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The staff was very understandable and accommodating. We got lost due to some bad directions on mapquest. We were seated immediately and the food came correctly out with 15 min. We all enjoyed the onion rings appetizer so much, we ordered another! The onion rings and that chili mayo sauce( trust me, like comeback) were scrumptious! I ordered a chicken sandwich and people in my party ordered grouper, fried chicken salad and a chicken entree dish. We were all satisfied and would return again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    41
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Always eat here when I'm in town. Love this place. Never had a bad experience. You will love it. Ribs, French Dip, Grouper all to die for.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, probably the best chain Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I'm a fan of J. Alexander's, and this Jacksonville location is one of the best. The decor is unique, upscale and comfortable and the service was excellent.

I ate a salad... but was offered add-ons, appetizers and was treated like I ordered the most expensive meal in the house. My only disappointment was that they no longer offer Merryvale wines by the glass, but a reasonable and delicious substitute was suggested by the waiter.

J. Alexander's will serve you a great meal at any location I've visited... and I really enjoyed the Jacksonville location.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Ribs, WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We decided to stop in for a family lunch and everyone of us loved our meals! Not always the case as we all know. Our son ordered the rib dinner and we all enjoyed our sample of his dish, wow! Fall off the bone good. The rest of us had dinner salads that were so big and delicious. If you haven't tried J Alexander's in awhile give it a try again, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always a Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The burgers and salads are excellent. Steak Frites is just the way I like them.
Steak served rare and fries/frites crispy and hot.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Alexander's also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to J Alexander's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Alexander's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.