We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was fabulous...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
1201 Riverplace Blvd, Inside Crowne Plaza Hotel, Jacksonville, FL 32207-9009
904-396-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,747 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Flagler
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The food was fabulous...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've been to a few Ruth Chris - one in Portland Oregon and another here in NYC, however this Ruth Chris was a fabulous group dining experience. The staff was friendly and the food melted in our mouths. Would definitely dine here again!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    49
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I went to Ruth's Chris in Jacksonville with a large group. The staff provided us with a private room which was great since we got quite loud. The service was amazing. They were able to keep all our glasses full and still bring out hot food. Everyone was very pleased with the food and service we recieved at Ruth's Chris in Jacksonville.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Favorite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The loacation on the St. Johns river is beautiful. You have a great view of the water and the bridge lit up at night. I would recommend this chain to anyone. I have vistited it in Jacksonville, Las Vegas, Atlanta and Chicago. All of which have excellent steak. This filet is by far the best i have ever tasted. I put it up there with the Kobe steaks in Las Vegas at Craft Steak and places like that for a third of the price. If you are into fine dinning, this is the place that isnt too extreme. It will run you about $100 dollars out the door, more if you have drinks, but it is well worth it. I would recommend this one opposed to the one out at the beaches, mainly due to the ambiance. Feels much more romantic then the one out there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Different Location, Different Results!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After my really bad experiences at the Savannah, GA location, we ventures into Jacksonville, FL for my wife to enter a 15K race. After the race, five of us dined at the Ruth’s Chris along the river.

I was little apprehensive to go, but since the consensus wanted to dine there, I kept quiet and went along. Fearing another disappointment with an overcooked steak, I decided to order the Salmon special. And special it was! This was without a doubt the best salmon filet I have ever eaten, barring anywhere. I never once had to chew the fish; it simply melted on my tongue.
I accompanied the salmon with a side order of wild mushrooms sautéed in a venison broth. The combination was simply out of this world, and the party I was with became tired of hearing me rave over my dinner.

I am a fanatic about bread and can’t get enough when it is good. Ruth's Chris of Jacksonville made my day with their warm crusty serving of French bread. What a pleasure it was to have my faith renewed to the Ruth’s Chris chain of restaurants, although the jury is still out on the Savannah, GA location.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Ruth's Chris isn't bad but there are better places to get a good steak for less money. Unless we were going for an occassion, with other people, we would not go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.