We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
1201 Riverplace Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32207-9009
904-396-6200
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,720 restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Flagler
Orange Park, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We cook better steak at home. The service was very attentive and professional. The view of the river was the nicest thing about the dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    167
    45
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best dining experience everytime.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I love steak. Ruth Chris has found a way to make it the best steak I have ever had. This place is fine dining at it's best. Get a table near the windows, if possible, for a great view. Reservations are a must and this is an excellent place for an aniversary. They go above and beyond for you. Special requests are no problem here. The staff is excellent and the food is even better. I eat here twice a year do to the cost but I look forward to it every time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Fantastic food, but huge helpings. There were 16 of us, so we were split into two groups and that led to confusion over the bill. Our waiter was adamant that we couldn't be charged twice for the same meal.... Ah hem... Yes we could! Was he apologetic? No. Did he get a tip? Not bloomin' likely! It was embarrassing and detracted from a really first rate meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good place to take the family. They had a Thanksgiving meal plus the regular menu was available. When you leave they give you a "leftovers" box with more turkey and dressing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Johns, FL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Blah”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We found this restaurant to be very heavy on wood and glass decor and way too lite on the meal. More like a meeting in the boardroom type of experience, which was stiff and uncomfortable for myself and for my companion. When I am not in boardrooms I prefer a softer and more comfortable ambiance, especially when I am dining out.

The small filet looked very lonely on a large plate. Al a carte sides were picture perfect, but uninspiring in taste. For the price, and in being very familiar with my favorite steak, I would have expected a prime cut of tenderloin. However, I suspect it was choice at best. Not the best example, by far, of any I have eaten at the major national chains. So frankly, I have no idea at this point of why all the fuss over this chain.

My recommendation is elsewhere with either Flemings or Mortons, although Mortons is no longer located in Jax and Flemings has not yet made it here. If in Miamai or Orlando, recommend Capital Grill (but not the one in Jax).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville to your Saves list