We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
1201 Riverplace Blvd, Inside Crowne Plaza Hotel, Jacksonville, FL 32207-9009
904-396-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,673 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Flagler
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We cook better steak at home. The service was very attentive and professional. The view of the river was the nicest thing about the dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    60
    25
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best dining experience everytime.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I love steak. Ruth Chris has found a way to make it the best steak I have ever had. This place is fine dining at it's best. Get a table near the windows, if possible, for a great view. Reservations are a must and this is an excellent place for an aniversary. They go above and beyond for you. Special requests are no problem here. The staff is excellent and the food is even better. I eat here twice a year do to the cost but I look forward to it every time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Fantastic food, but huge helpings. There were 16 of us, so we were split into two groups and that led to confusion over the bill. Our waiter was adamant that we couldn't be charged twice for the same meal.... Ah hem... Yes we could! Was he apologetic? No. Did he get a tip? Not bloomin' likely! It was embarrassing and detracted from a really first rate meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good place to take the family. They had a Thanksgiving meal plus the regular menu was available. When you leave they give you a "leftovers" box with more turkey and dressing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Blah”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We found this restaurant to be very heavy on wood and glass decor and way too lite on the meal. More like a meeting in the boardroom type of experience, which was stiff and uncomfortable for myself and for my companion. When I am not in boardrooms I prefer a softer and more comfortable ambiance, especially when I am dining out.

The small filet looked very lonely on a large plate. Al a carte sides were picture perfect, but uninspiring in taste. For the price, and in being very familiar with my favorite steak, I would have expected a prime cut of tenderloin. However, I suspect it was choice at best. Not the best example, by far, of any I have eaten at the major national chains. So frankly, I have no idea at this point of why all the fuss over this chain.

My recommendation is elsewhere with either Flemings or Mortons, although Mortons is no longer located in Jax and Flemings has not yet made it here. If in Miamai or Orlando, recommend Capital Grill (but not the one in Jax).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.