We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Eat Here...Go to Red Lobster instead!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville

Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville
5205 Big Island Drive, Jacksonville, FL 32246
9046453474
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #163 of 1,678 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't Eat Here...Go to Red Lobster instead!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I went for Easter dinner this year and we were completely DISAPPOINTED!!! The recommended appetizer (crab dip) was FISHY and disgusting!!! I have tasted better at lesser restaurants. WE were given approximately 10 tortilla chips to go with this dip and I asked for a bit more. The waitress told me that they were not allowed to give more (and did not even suggest an upcharge)!!! The gumbo was TERRIBLE and the rice was HARD (very crunchy)!!! The stuffed sea bass was just okay and I enjoyed the shark fin pie.

I will not return to this restaurant again. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone. Please SAVE your money. They are overpriced! Red Lobster is better than this place!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    47
    21
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Very Good menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Most of the fish is fresh, the waitress tells you what is the latest they received. There is a list of fishes and options of preparations so you can easily customize what you want to eat. Good selection of wines. Very good service. I also like the ambience a lot, feels comfortable and noise level is good enough to have a conversation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service and a Big Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and I had lunch at Mitchell's earlier this week. It was our first time at Mitchell's, a chain restaurant with shaded outdoor seating on the fringe of Town Center Mall in Jacksonville. It has a warm chop house feel.

We were greeted well by the hostess and promptly seated with our small dog. The waiter greeted us with a big smile and presented our dog with a metal bowl of iced water which was paramount to serving him a Martini! He couldn't have been more accommodating. I had the fish and lobster chips which was very good. My wife had a cobb salad also excellent. The food and space was great and we commented that we would definitely come back.

Now for the surprise. Opening my email this morning was an email from Sarah Smith, the Operations Manager of MFM, advising that they had found my wife's IPhone that had been left behind. She wrote a very nice note and told us that she would keep the phone safe until we could return and pick it up.

I know from experience that it sometimes takes a lot of time to figure out who belongs to a phone so we very much appreciate Sarah and the folks at Mitchell's that took the time and effort to find us.

So, a nice lunch and a great reason to return for another great meal. Thanks Mitchell's Fish Market!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The choice of fresh seafood from around the world fixed in the manner you select is wonderful. The service is great and the decor is comfortable. Don't forget to save room for desert, as they have the best carrot cake in the world, and one serving can serve 2 or more people.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our First Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Mid priced seafood chain. Had lunch with my wife. The fish sandwich and salad were very good. Service was way above most chains that we have been to. Prices were reasonable.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.