We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Huguenot Memorial Park

Huguenot Memorial Park
10980 Heckscher Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32226
904-251-3335
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 70 Attractions in Jacksonville
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching
Attraction details
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My family and I camp at several different parks throughout the year. This park, by far, was the worst camping experience we have ever encountered. The people that worked there harassed our family since we first checked in. They kept stopping on our campsite questioning us like we were violating some rule... which, by the way, there are MANY MANY MANY rules. This was unenjoyable. We go camping to relax, enjoy ourselves, and get away from the hussel and bussel of everyday life. The bathrooms were horrible. I can't speak for the men's but the women's bathroom was disgusting. People that supposedly work for the camp would come by in an unmarked car, not even introduce themselves, shine their lights all over our campground, look into our cars, ect. The beach is nice, I'll give it that, but only as a visitor for the day. If you are looking to relax and spend time with your family .. this is NOT the place. Little Talbot Island 1 mile down the road from here is much better with no harassment.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    9
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fishing Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I come to this place several times a year with my family for net fishing and sunbathing at the same time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best of the river and the ocean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Unique park with access to beach and river. Great view of Mayport. Avoid crowded times. Food available but it's not that good--bring your own.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Drive your car on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were camping down the road at the Little Talbot SP (which was very nice) and a fellow camper told us about this wonderful beach. The only beach in the Jacksonville area where you can drive your car on the beach. We were there on a weekday in October and there were less that a dozen cars.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashiers, North Carolina
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is an interesting park located on A1A. There is overnight camping which seems to be very popular as you can park right on the water.

The major draw to Huguenot is that you can drive onto the beach, park and spend the day doing all kinds of water sports but be warned: THE TIDES ARE SEVERE AND THE TIDE COMES IN FAST!! Getting caught in the water is commonplace so be careful.

You can drive on this beach in certain areas without four wheel drive, but be mindful of where you are. On holiday weekends the traffic backs up on the highway to get in. The beach is packed with a variety of water sports including kite surfing.

It is a very cool place but weekdays would be a smarter time to visit if you are not adventurous. The traffic on the beach is non stop in the summer and there are kids of all ages everywhere so beware of your surroundings.

Low tide midweek is the best time to visit and it is very special when you are one of a very few driving out onto the beach and exploring this amazing part of the world.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huguenot Memorial Park also viewed

 

Been to Huguenot Memorial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huguenot Memorial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.