We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Anniversary Present!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacksonville Zoo & Gardens

Jacksonville Zoo & Gardens
370 Zoo Pkwy, Jacksonville, FL 32218
904 757 4463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 169 things to do in Jacksonville
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 73-acre park is the only zoo in Florida's northeast.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Anniversary Present!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband arranged for a “Behind the Scenes Tour” for our anniversary and it was incredible. The zookeeper was entertaining and it was a delightful experience hearing about the different animals’ personalities and history at the zoo.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    373
    64
    19
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Most of the enclosures were very open and the animals were quite active. We enjoyed seeing the giraffes up close and heard monkeys calling and lions roaring while there. The grounds are very well kept and the gardens are In keeping with exhibits. We'll go back to see what they do with the new tiger enclosure.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I love this zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have been visiting this zoo for over 45 years and have seen so many positive changes over the years. It is very easy to spend a half-day to a full day here. We enjoy watching the animals; riding the train; exploring the gardens; taking lot of photos of the animals, particularly first thing in the morning when the zoo first opens. For families with young children, there are play areas, concessions, clean bathrooms. Food is available for purchase at the zoo or you can bring a picnic lunch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our Zoo in Jacksonville is small but enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I enjoy going to our Zoo it's small but you can have a nice day trip . They have animals roaming fields and a nice train ride around the park

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice little zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Great way to spend the day. A lot of animals with great habitats. The zoo trail is easy to walk. I was disappointed in the "extras" the zoo offers. Sting ray bay is an extra $2 per person to touch the rays. Butterfly hallow is also an extra $2 per person to go into the greenhouse and enjoy watching the butterflies. I have been to many zoos across the country. I feel these should be included in the price. These little extras around the zoo add up when you have a big family!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacksonville Zoo & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Jacksonville Zoo & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacksonville Zoo & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.