We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for an overnight stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Mandarin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Mandarin to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Mandarin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3199 Hartley Road, Jacksonville, FL 32257   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great deal for an overnight stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my spouse and two small dogs as an overnight stop before continuing on a road trip to the Florida Panhandle.

I selected this hotel because they accept pets, and due to its close proximity to Whole Foods where we could buy provisions for our week at the beach. In addition to WF, there is a Publix grocery store (I love those Publix subs!!!!) a Target, several businesses and restaurants nearby.

The hotel was much nicer and comfortable than I expected. Nice spacious (for DC standards) King room with a pleasing color scheme (orange, yellow) mini fridge, microwave, computer desk, flat screen TV, free wireless, granite vanity, and faux hardwood at the entrance of the room and in the bathroom.

The mattress was firmer than I am used to, but we were able to sleep well. The hotel also provides breakfast which consists of the usual continental fare: coffee, cereal, bagels, boiled eggs, waffle machine, etc. The breakfast area was small but clean, and there was a friendly staff member to provide assistance and keep the area clean. We ate breakfast around 8:00 am, so there is no telling how busy the breakfast area gets later on.

Of course the hotel is not without its faults, but I am not expecting perfection from a La Quinta Inn. For instance, the wall paper on the hallway had several uneven patches where the hotel tried to fix tears or holes, but which work looked shoddy. In the bathroom, I saw some yellow mold spots in the ceiling, which the cleaning staff could easily clean with either mold remover or Clorox.

Additionally, the wireless signal was very weak in our room, and we were unable to do anything more than slowly check our emails. Finally, for a hotel that accepts pets, there were not enough trash cans by the grassy areas. It would be nice if they had some dog potty stations with poopy bags and trash cans around the property.

Overall, I would have no qualms recommending this hotel, and will definitely stay here again if we repeat this road trip in the future. For the location and all the amenities we got this hotel was an excellent deal!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    49
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
69
32
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

nice place for a weekend getaway. Their pool was larger than most of the pools in comparable priced hotels in the Jacksonville,Florida area. Even the more expensive hotels had very small pools and that was the main reason for the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have been looking for a good place to stay halfway to FL. Considering there was no front desk clerk for quite some time upon our arrival, we found this facility very comfortable. Good beds, pet friendly, close restaurants and decent sized pool. A few small items need attention in the bathroom but on the whole it was a good experience. We will stay again.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room and did have some noise from above. I would suggest a third floor room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is popular in the area because of its low price and the ability to keep one's dogs in the rooms. The breakfast food provided was consistant with all other LaQuinta hotels, that we have stayed. The desk staff were very accommodating and eager to assist with any of the guests needs. On the breakfast: On one day, the individual repacing the food and keeping up the breakfast area appeared to be more interested in eating her breakfast than in keeping the facility stocked with breakfast items. With approximately 1/2 hour remaining, she stated that they were "about to close" as the reason the fruit bowl had not been refilled. Hotel Mgt. needs to energize this employee. The rooms, while adequate, have to have their rugs shampooed. In both rooms that we stayed, 235 &236, we got the bottoms of our feet filthy from the dirt imbedded in the rugs.

Room Tip: Check the cleanliness of the rugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I liked everything about this location, but the internet connection was a problem. We could log on, but both mine and the wife's computer kept timing out. They did fix it the morning we left and it did work well then.

The p;lace is clean and not real old. Has aged well. I would stay her again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Mandarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Mandarin

Address: 3199 Hartley Road, Jacksonville, FL 32257
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Jacksonville
#37 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Mandarin 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Mandarin - San Jose features free high-speed Internet access and more! This newly renovated hotel is conveniently located off I-295 in the suburbs of Mandarin, just minutes from the Jacksonville Navy Air Station. Do not miss area attractions like the Museum of Science & History. Enjoy a variety of nearby restaurants, including a few within walking distance, and shopping at Avenues and Orange Park Malls. In just a short drive, reach Jacksonville Beach and the beaches of St. Augustine. The sports and entertainment venues of Alltel Stadium are only 10 miles. We are not far from Orange Park Medical Center and Baptist Hospital. For "Best in Class" service and amenities, come to the La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Mandarin - San Jose, where the fun begins with a delicious Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning in the lobby along with your copy of USA Today. All rooms have secure interior corridor entrances. Hotel services include a guest Laundry Facility and a 24-front desk with available fax/copy services. When you are ready to kick back, take a plunge in our sparkling outdoor pool or grab an energizing workout in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Mandarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Jacksonville Mandarin
La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Mandarin Hotel Jacksonville
La Quinta Jacksonville
Mandarin Jacksonville
Jacksonville La Quinta
Jacksonville Mandarin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Mandarin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.