We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2228 Phillips Highway, I-95 & Phillips Hwy Exit 105, Jacksonville, FL 32207   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 130 Hotels in Jacksonville
Jasper, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dive Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is going to seem like a slightly harsh review. This motel is by far not the worst I have ever stayed in...neither is it in the top 20 worst. This is actually an average low-budget motel, no worse than the thousands that litter cities around the country. If you want a suite, this is NOT the motel for you. Want a cheap room that's mostly tolerable? You might be in luck.

The motel is kinda hard to get to. I initially passed right by it due to construction and a weird interstate exit. Immediately after the exit, you need to turn into the "Scottish Inn" parking lot, drive through it and into the "Super 8" lot...there really no other way to get to it.

I made a reservation using the Super 8 website about 2 weeks prior to my arrival. Didn't matter, they had no record of the reservation even though I had a confirmation number and e-mail. They made up for it by quickly checking me into the same style room I had reserved. The desk clerk had an accent, but was easily understandable, and pleasant. I was all set in a matter of 5 minutes.

When I first entered the room, I immediately noticed a musty smell that faintly reminded me of urine. Luckily I've stayed in cheap motels before, so I was prepared with a few car air fresheners to stick onto the A/C unit. Took care of the problem pretty quickly. The smell was noticeable, but not horrifying by any means.....It was relatively faint, but definitely there. The view (which face it, isnt what people who stay here are after) is of the hotel next door and the interstate...at least on the side I was on. Lord knows what you can see on the other side.

The next things I noticed were the stains on the walls, especially in the corners and along all of the floors. The bathroom was worse, with mold in the shower, a very grimy top edge of the shower walls, painted over wall/ceiling damage (water expansion mostly). The toilet and shower had extremely low water pressure. You could tell that they had made a very small effort to clean, but it was half-hearted at best.

I always take the blanket off the bed right away, since I have it on good authority that motels usually only wash them when the moon is full, and a virgin is handy. The standard issue tan velour blanket underneath the bedspread had hairs on it...quite a few hairs. So many that if a murder ever occurs in this hotel, the culprit will likely get away with it if all they find is a few hairs as evidence...they'd never be able to prove they belonged to the murderer rather than one of the the 50 people that stayed prior. Thankfully I had my own blanket, so the tan one went the way of the bedspread. The sheets looked clean, and even smelled clean, but I took no chances and used my own. The pillows were very thin, but again, I've been to this rodeo before and had mine from home. The mattress itself was thin, and hard...the springs my constant companion through the night. I'm used to a pillow top high-end mattress at home, so this was rough...but I slept fine, with only a touch of stiffness the next morning (not the fun kind either).

The Wi-Fi internet connection sucked, which is pretty standard at cheap motels. One or two bars was the best I could get, and the signal dropped a lot. Add in a bunch of annoying pop-ups, and I ended up using my phone for most things.

The microwave was clean and worked, the A/C was a little noisy but not too bad and worked fine, the fridge was clean and froze my drinks on the max setting. The TV was an older model, but pretty good size (looked like a 32" or 36") and had one channel of HBO with about 80 other cable and local channels. The room also had a hair dryer, iron, coffee maker and plenty of space for my clothes. The alarm clock was a big question mark. I plugged it in, and half the numbers didn't light up, so I had no idea what time it was displaying. I unplugged it and used my phone to wake me up instead.

I stayed for 2 nights, and would say that all-in-all, this was a decent motel for what it was: an aging, under repaired, cheap motel.

If I need to stay in Jacksonville again, I'd probably try a different motel though.

Room Tip: Bring your own bed linen if you can, and definitely an air freshener or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    19
    10
    19
See reviews for
21
12
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed there from April 11, 2014-April 14, 2014. Mr. J and his staff are always very accommodating. When I'm in Jacksonville I always stay at this location. The waffle breakfast and oj are an excellent way to start off your day. Did mention it was free?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8central, General Manager at Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hi there we really appreciate your positive feedback and always looking forward to have you stay with us. Thanks again for staying at super 8 Jacksonville downtown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here for a night during a 14 hour road trip to Miami. I left my Ipad in one of the rooms and the staff went above an beyond to get a hold of me when they they personally did not have my contact information. They also took the time to mail me the Ipad. I appreciate their honestly. If you are looking for a place to sleep for the night that is cheap then this is perfect. The place was clean and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8central, General Manager at Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
I would like to appreciate your positive. We value your stay and hope you stay at super 8 Jacksonville again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I didn't get the room with the microwave and fridge despite my reservation but they had a microwave in the lobby I used. The breakfast was a joke and lobby was too small to a accommodate a proper seating. It was worth the price after coupon, nothing more.
Staff was nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

It was late and we needed somewhere to stay on our way to Savannah. The room was clean although old with bathroom paint peeling and carpet fraying in places but beds where comfortable. Walls are thin as we could hear people next to us. It is also near a railway line and there was someone making a lot of noise banging thoughout the night to be told it was management. Then to top it of someone turned up at 4am with their car music so load they could have been a mile away and still sounded like they where in front of our room. If it wasn't for all the noise would have had a good nights sleep.

The price includes breakfast in a very small area but you can take it back to your room. Breakfast included waffles (make your own), tea & coffee, cereal, toast, porridge & fresh fruit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8central, General Manager at Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you wrote us we always rely on guest’s satisfaction and review. We are planning to make some renovation in the near future and will make your next visit a pleasant one if you go through Jacksonville. Thank you again for staying at Super 8 Jacksonville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

terrible neighborhood I wouldn't even stop for gas in the morning, hotel is old, beds were comfortable, room was in "fair" condition, not much parking, no trailer parking, hotel was right off the highway.





  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Address: 2228 Phillips Highway, I-95 & Phillips Hwy Exit 105, Jacksonville, FL 32207
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 130 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Jacksonville is located near the heart of Jacksonville, and only a short drive from it's beaches. Our hotel has all the amenities needed for business travelers as well as visitors spending vacation time here in Jacksonville. Our rooms are spacious and clean and provide the atmosphere you expect when traveling away from home on business or pleasure. Our location provides you with easy access to all areas of the city and is close to all the major highways that run through Jacksonville. (I95, I10, US1)The hotel is conveniently located to all Downtown & Southbank businesses, all Downtown venues including Altel Stadium (which hosts the Jaguars, the Gator Bowl, and stadium concerts), the Baseball Stadium (which hosts Minor League & college baseball), the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena, the Convention Center, the Performing Arts Center, The Florida Theatre, Metropolitan Park, and the Riverfront Landing with it's shoppes, restuarants and nightlife.We are also close to all the major hospitals in the area including Baptist Medical Center, Nemours, Wolfson & Shands Hospitals and are walking distance from the unique Historic San Marco Area with it's ecelctic style of shoppes, restuarants and area history.Our hotel and staff make your stay a pleasure, providing you with all the essentials you need to make your stay a comfortable one. Our rooms are spacious 2 Double or Kings, with complimentary Deluxe Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet, full Cable television (including HBO, ESPN & Premium Channels), Microwave/Refrigerator available based on availability, Coffee Maker, Work Stations, and much more! All at a price you can afford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Jacksonville
Super 8 Jacksonville
Jacksonville Super 8
Jacksonville Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.