We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't mind the smell of mold or mildew...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Airport

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1180 Airport Road, Jacksonville, FL 32218   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #50 of 131 hotels in Jacksonville
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“If you don't mind the smell of mold or mildew...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2006

...then you will feel comfortable staying here. While it seemed like it was a newer hotel and relatively clean on the outside, once inside the room, I was overwhelmed by the smell of bleach...which was there only to cover up the smell of mold & mildew permeating the room and the bathroom. I had booked one night at this hotel online, just to be close to the airport for a super-early flight. After inspecting the room, I determined that it did not "pass" and informed the desk attendant that it was unsatisfactory. She tried her best to have me stay and graciously offered me another room, but we decided to take our chances elsewhere (Pretty risky when it was almost 8 p.m. and I had a sleeping infant & young child in the car!) In my honest opinion, this was just not an acceptable room. It seemed to have had a recent vacuuming and wipe-down, but I did not want my kids on that floor for any reason. Save yourself the headache. I thought it would be a bargain at less than $100 a night. For $100 I expect better.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    24
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
29
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, IN
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

We had a very nice stay here on our way to Daytona Beach, FL. We found the motel to be clean and in good condition. The front desk was very friendly and helpful as we were concerned about getting to the race in time as there had been an accident on the Interstate. We didn't realize that the motel was North of the Interstate which we were taking South so it was a bit out of the way for us. The microwave was a bit too high and the refrigerator a little too low but very nice to have in the room.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2006

I NEVER book a hotel stay without checking the reviews of fellow travelers in Trip Advisor. Our son recently returned from a deployment in Iraq & we made the trip down to Savannah Georgia where he's stationed to joyfully welcome him home. Flights were less expensive flying into Jacksonville Florida, so we decided to fly into JAX, rent a car & drive up to Savannah. (Less than a 2 HOUR DRIVE.) After our joyful reunion we drove back to Jacksonville & based on the reviews of this hotel we saw on Trip Advisor we decided to book here for one night. One reviewer wrote how the hotel was renovated. Well the only thing renovated was the lobby & hallways. Our room had newer carpet & some wallpaper & yes that great "bowed shower rod". The pull out sofa was reupholstered, but they forgot to upgrade to new foam for the cushions. It was as clean as a quick reno on a older hotel could get, but in my opinion was not worth the $109 a night rate. We stayed at a brand new hotel in Savannah, Ga for a cheaper rate than this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2005

Got an amazing deal... stopped at the Florida Welcome Center on I-95 right before we entered Jacksonville. Found a coupon book advertising Comfort Suites Airport for $58. Got a CLEAN suite at a clean and new hotel for six people for 58 bucks, with free waffles and warm express breakfast setup. You can't beat that.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2005

I'm not sure why the other reviewer wasn't all that impressed. No, this isn't the Jacksonville Hyatt, but it is clean and great considering the value. I also wasn't under the impression that it was an updated Comfort Inn... the entire place seemed brand new to me.

All rooms are mini suites... it's great for the family... I traveled with my wife, and four kids... we got a room with two queen beds, and a sleeper sofa for $74. You can't get a mini-suite for that price, anywhere!

The room had a nice look to it, everything was new. Great shower with a shower rod that curved out for extra room.. nice water pressure for a hotel as well. Well lit desk with high speed hookups... but my laptop was dead, so the young man at the desk offered to print out our boarding passes.. great service! They had an internet kiosk for .10 a minute, but I thought I'd give the clerk a shot, and he gladly helped out. They also have an exersize room and an outdoor pool. There was a washer and dryer on the second floor for guest use. Vending was on all three floors.

The room key has an offer for a free starter at Longhorn Steakhouse which was in walking distance. It was a nice place, brand new (as everything in the area seemed, and safe) and good food.. pretty much along the lines of Outback Steakhouse.

The hotel breakfast included waffles, oatmeal, cereal, muffins, english muffins, toast, fruit, juices, tea, hot coffee and other stuff..

We also used the hotel shuttle and got to the airport right on time. I'd stay with Comfort Suites in the future.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2005

The hotel was about what is expected from a Comfort Suites. The room was huge and the amenities were decent. The hotel did appear to be old and just remodeled from a Comfort Inn to a Comfort Suites. Also, there was a hair on the top of the toilet tank (from the cleaning lady?).

The hotel was incredibly quiet considering its proximity to the airport.

Rather than having a true business center, there was a computer in the lobby which charged $0.10 per minute for internet access! Shouldn't that be included in the hotel?

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2003

I was very impressed with the Comfort Suites at the Jacksonville Airport. I booked the room on their website for $68.00, plus $2.00 for parking.

The hotel is very new, but the outside is not pleasing to the eye.
Don't let the nasty brick design fool you. It is a nice hotel.

We arrived early and the lady was very nice and let us check in. We took the elevator up to our room and was very, very happy.

The rooms are huge! The ceilings are very tall too. The room had two, very compfy queen beds. There was a partial room divider and a large sofa. The room was equipped with a refridgerator, microwave, and small mini/bar/sink. The bathrooms were very large and clean. Their bathrooms included their company soap, shampoo, and lotion. There were glass cups and a glass dish tray.

The room had cherry wood furnishings. Again, the beds were very comfortable. The room had hi-speed Internet access that was free. The connection was great!

They served a typical continental breakfast. They had daily papers too.

The pool area was nice, but very small. No complaints.

If you have to stay at a hotel at the Jacksonville Airport, Comfort Suites is the one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Airport

Address: 1180 Airport Road, Jacksonville, FL 32218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Airport is conveniently located within two miles from the Jacksonville International Airport. The Jacksonville Municipal Stadium (formerly Alltel Stadium) and the Jacksonville Zoo and Gardens are a short drive away. Jacksonville Beach and Adventure Landing Jacksonville are 23 miles from the hotel.Located off Interstate 95 and three miles from Interstate 295, the hotel is located on the north side Metro Jacksonville, in the hub of the International Tradeport. The Jacksonville Port Authority (JAXPORT) is within close proximity. The JAXPORT has three public marine terminals and one passenger cruise terminal: Blount Island Marine Terminal, Talleyrand Marine Terminal, Dames Point Marine Terminal and the temporary JAXPORT Cruise Terminal. The hotel can arrange shuttle service to the port for a nominal fee.This Jacksonville, FL hotel is close to River City Marketplace, Regency Square Mall, the Prime F. Osborn III Convention Center, Shands Jacksonville Hospital, downtown Jacksonville and many beaches. South on Interstate 295 is a major commercial and industrial area with regional offices for UPS, FedEx, BMW, Burger King and many more.Several restaurants and cocktail lounges are located nearby, including LongHorn Steakhouse, Ruby Tuesday, Cracker Barrel Old Country Store, Chili's, Applebee's Neighborhood Grill and Bar, Denny's, Marco Polo Chinese, Flight 747 Lounge and Grill, Destination and Montego's Restaurant.Full-service amenities include:24-hour airport transportation Free wired high-speed Internet access in all suites Free wireless high-speed Internet access in the lobby Free local calls Free weekday newspaper This Jacksonville, FL hotel offers a free hot deluxe continental breakfast, featuring fresh coffee, tea, milk, fruit juices, bread, oatmeal, bagels, English and sweet muffins, waffles, doughnuts, eggs and sausage, fresh fruit and cold cereals. An outdoor pool is also located on the property.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like an Internet kiosk in the lobby, two-line telephones with data ports, voice mail and access to copy and fax services. The boardroom accommodates eight people and the Jaguar Room accommodates 45 people. High-speed Internet access and audio visual equipment is available in the meeting rooms.All spacious suites include sofa sleepers, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Guest laundry facilities and dry cleaning services are available for guest convenience.The convenient airport location, friendly customer service and relaxing accommodations make the Comfort Suites Airport perfect for business and leisure travelers in the Jacksonville area. Come enjoy the Suite life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Airport Hotel Jacksonville
Comfort Suites Jacksonville
Jacksonville Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.