We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madhouse But Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Coast Line Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #50 of 131 hotels in Jacksonville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brandon, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Madhouse But Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Well, the family and I wanted to go to the USA v Nigeria game so I called American Express Platinum Concierge Service to get the tickets and room for Saturday night, they booked this hotel as it was the closest to Everbank Field where the game was being played. Well we arrived around 4pm and the place was a madhouse, we went to check-in and were told ok if we have any rooms, huh? I informed the clerk the I had reservation made through the AmEx Platinum Concierge, upon looking a little harder she apologized and said they're overwhelmed with people without reservations needing rooms, well ok I get it.
The room was clean and the view was nice. As it was getting late we went to the game. When we came back the madhouse continued so we tried to order some food and were told at least 45-60 minutes, so we just got the buffet, which was very good. As thing started to settle down I went to the concierge desk to inquire about a personal request for flowers for my wife and was informed all taken care of, and sure enough, it was! I had a little conversation with him and he stated that both teams and all their staff were staying here and the hotel was being flooded with fans, good to see this. The room was clean and quiet and the bed was comfortable and I would stay again!

Couple of items:
The did the best they could for the amount of people flooding the hotel looking for food/drinks (the bar was over run), autographs, pictures, etc. but as you can imagine this was part of the overall World Cup experience. I would think however, since they have an NFL team they would be used to it but I was informed upon check out they had more than twice the amount of people than rooms! So ok.
They should have been running a shuttle for game goers.
Staff should have been a little more prepared, especially the kitchen and bar.

Rating is tough here because of the shear quantity of people, so remember they did the best they could given this.

But overall a good experience and I would go again,

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jim G,
Thank you for your very thorough review of Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront over USA vs. Nigeria soccer. We appreciate your kind words. If you are ever back in Jacksonville, we hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    280
    154
    48
    37
See reviews for
97
121
40
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Bagboy was very helpful when our non-smoking room smelled of smoke. He called the front desk and within a few minutes, they moved us to another room farther down the hall. I appreciate his quick action to make this a comfortable stay for us.

Room Tip: A river view is worth a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Tooblessed61,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We appreciate your kind words regarding one of our bellmen. He was able to take a bad situation and turn it positive. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We visited during the Florida Country Festival. So, the hotel was close to capacity. The staff handled the volume with ease and made our stay seem more convienient than most all-inclusives. If you're on a budget, I'd recommend going outside of the hotel for food and drinks. It was pretty steep. Other than that, I thought it was a great experience in Jacksonville.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront the weekend of June 14/15, 2014.

My stay there, as with most of the other guests (so it appeared) was for the "Florida Country Superfest" concert weekend.

Overall, extremely happy with the hotel and location, Great view over the river (if you have water view rooms), close proximity to "the Landing" which has bars/restaurants, and about one mile to the Everbank Field.

Rooms were clean, staff was friendly-ish, rates were reasonable.

It's hard to phrase exactly where things fell short. Overall, great hotel with regard to location, room size, value, etc. But, there was something missing. While they tried to cater to the guest during that sold out weekend, they fell short. Room service stopped at 11:30pm, right as guests were returning from an a 6-7 hour concert event. Pool accommodations had a constant & continual wait for most items (chairs, towels, drinks).

As a business owner and as a guest I can sum it up by saying It seemed like there were so many missed opportunities for the hotel make substantially more money while providing for their guests. But, fell short of doing so on many levels. With the hotels income being linked to various events in the area, I would think that they would have the ability to preplan and adapt according to the prevailing event.

Pros: Location, cleanliness, made to order omelets at breakfast (insanely yummy)
Cons: Hotel seemed overwhelmed, understaffed, and constantly trying to catch-up to the guests needs on this sold out weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear FranklnSWFla,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront while in town for Country Superfest. We are pleased you enjoyed most aspects of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding our potential short falls and we wiill review in the appropriate departments. If you are ever back in Jacksonville, we hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Recently stayed two nights during the FL Super Country Fest. Inside concierge staff and registration staff was very helpful. Housekeeping was great. Outside parking and luggage staff needs to be a lot more organized and nicer. While I understand the craziness of so many people/ cars, they were not prepared and a few downright rude and unprofessional. I was told to move my truck up and would be assisted with luggage, after over 10 minutes of being in front of the door, asking for help, they kept assisting people that had just driven up and had not waited. When I inquired, I was told to chill, wait my turn, etc. I finally unloaded our luggage, drug them inside and was halfway to checkin when I received assistance. Otherwise, our trip was awesome!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The rooms at this Hyatt are spacious and very comfortable. We had a two-double bed river view room on the 6th floor. This view is amazing. The bathroom was large with a lot of counter space. Nice size shower with good water pressure. The concierge and front desk attendants are very helpful. Also, the restaurant and bar inside the hotel are great. Very good breakfast buffet and also a large menu to choose from. Overall, I had a great 3 night stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: River front rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
TriPaC87,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for two nights for the Florida Country Superfest. We very pleased that the hotel had a shuttle to Ever Bank Field for $2.00 a person. Enjoyed the pool and the late night buffet was perfect for all the concert goers.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Anna M,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments regarding your stay at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville over Country Superfest. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall experience; especially our wonderful amenities. We appreciate your business and hope to see you here again next year for the same event.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Address: 225 East Coast Line Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#38 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the lifestyle and landscape of the real Florida at our Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront hotel. Set along the St. Johns River within the heart of the city’s business, entertainment and sports districts, our outstanding downtown Jacksonville hotel is adjacent to the Jacksonville Landing, a hotspot for dining & entertainment, and within minutes of famous white sand beaches, championship golf courses, EverBank Field, water sports, museums and arts venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel Jacksonville
Hyatt Jacksonville Riverfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.