We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hotel for an extremely busy weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Coast Line Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #51 of 131 hotels in Jacksonville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well run hotel for an extremely busy weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here for the Florida-Georgia football game. The hotel was very busy and run well. Had a nice view of the river from my room. The walls were a little thin. I could hear conversation in the next room in the morning. I don't think they were being loud. No free wifi was a minus.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear ChicagoTony,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront over the Florida-Georgia football weekend. We appreciate your business and look forward to you staying with us again next year.

Best Regards,

Matt Graham
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    287
    160
    50
    38
See reviews for
100
126
41
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Date of Stay: Saturday, November 17 - Sunday, November 18, 2012
Length of Stay: 1 Night

In a nutshell, the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront offers a truly perfect location with beautiful views of the St. Johns River, as well as absolutely amazing customer service! This is definitely the perfect place to stay in Jacksonville!

Now, for my detailed review:

Upon arrival, we were greeted by quick and efficient Valet Parking staff. A quick note on your parking options at this property -- you have two options, Self Park for $15 or Valet for $20. Based upon the minor difference in cost -- and the extremely reasonable cost based upon such a large downtown property -- I would suggest spending the money on the Valet option. The Valet service at this property was some of the quickest and most efficient that I have ever seen, so I would highly recommend utilizing the Valet Parking option, as it is truly worth the cost. Should you chose Self Parking, however, it is connected by a walk-way on the Second Floor of the hotel. One final note on parking -- keep in mind that as this property is in very close proximity to EverBank Field (making it the perfect location to stay for a football weekend!), parking rates may change or Valet may be unavailable during special events.

After such a quick and efficient experience with the Valet Parking staff, we were quickly in the lobby and at the Check-In area. The Main Lobby of this property is very well appointed, and is similar to many Downtown Hyatt properties, with a two-story open feel to the Second Floor banquet and convention rooms. Additionally, as you walk in, you will see the Currents Lounge to the right, Trellises Restaurant directly ahead of you, with Check-In and Concierge to your left. If you continue in past the Check-In area, you will see Jaxx Sports Bar, a well stocked gift and sundry shop offering very reasonable prices, and a large elevator lobby. One plus of this property as compared to many other large Downtown Hyatt properties is the elevator lobby -- this property offers a large compliment of extremely quick and efficient elevators. Unlike many Downtown Hyatt properties, you do not experience any long waits to get to the higher floors.

Check-In was extremely quick and efficient at this property. There was ample staff at the Check-In desk when we arrived, and we were checked in within a matter of minutes. The Front Desk Agent immediately greeted us by name and thanked us for being loyal Hyatt Gold Passport Diamond Tier Members. After such a quick and efficient check-in, we were on our way to our VIP Suite on the 18th Floor.

As to the rooms at this property, they are definitely very nice and well appointed. A room tip; spend a little extra money for a Riverview Category Room, as the views of the St. Johns River are absolutely amazing -- it is definitely worth the extra money! We had chosen to use one of our Hyatt Gold Passport Diamond Suite Upgrades, and we were lucky enough to receive a truly beautiful VIP Suite with a connecting King room on the riverfront. If you are a fan of Suites, this property offers some absolutely amazing suites, and I would highly recommend paying the extra for one -- the VIP Suite is so large, it would be perfect for a business meeting, a wedding party, or merely just entertaining. We were extremely happy with both the VIP Suite and the connecting King room. I can promise, you will not be disappointed by the rooms at this property.

We were assigned Room 1864 (King Bed, Riverview Deluxe Room) and connecting Room 1868 (VIP Suite). We entered from Room 1864, and we were immediately impressed by the amazing view of the St. Johns River that we could see through the floor-to-ceiling windows at the end of the room. The Riverview Deluxe King offered an extremely comfortable Hyatt Grand Bed, a large computer/work desk, plush lounge chair, and a large armoire with a flat screen high definition television. The bathroom was a standard Hyatt Regency bathroom, offering the traditional Hyatt Portico amenities. This room was connected by a large door to the VIP Suite, which offered an entire long wall of windows, giving even better views of the river. The VIP Suite had a very large round dining table on one end, which was just in front of a fully stocked wet bar, perfect for entertaining. Further into the room, you will find an extremely comfortable couch set and a large high definition television. Then, off to the left you will find a full bathroom, complete with large dressing area and ultra-plush towels with high-end Quince & Bergamot amenities. All-in-all, an absolutely amazing set of rooms that I would highly recommend spending the extra money on -- it was definitely worth our upgrade certificate! For more information as to these rooms, please see the numerous photos attached to this review.

In addition to the amazing room, this property offers other wonderful amenities. On the 19th Floor, one will find the large StayFit Gym, equipped with excellent equipment. Additionally, there is a coed sauna, and changing rooms for both men and women. Immediately next door is the outdoor pool and hot tub, offering amazing views of the river and Jacksonville from the top floor of this property.

As for food options, this property does not disappoint. Currents Lounge offers a relaxing setting with excellent drink and appetizer options. Trellises Restaurant offers excellent dining options -- we truly enjoyed the breakfast! Trellises offers amazing service, and wonderful food choices. We did not have a chance to try Jaxx Sports Bar, but it also looked and smelled amazing.

All-in-all, the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront is a wonderful property, located in a truly perfect location with absolutely excellent customer service. The next time that your travels take you to Jacksonville, this property is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a Riverview Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear AttorneyVin,

Thank you for your very thorough review of Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront! We were so glad to hear you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel. At Hyatt we strive to provide ‘authentic’ hospitality and it sounds like we delivered. We appreciate your loyalty to Hyatt and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,

Matt Graham
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardinal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent several nights at this hotel during a conference. In addition to being an excellent hotel with friendly and accommodating staff, the hotel is located right on the St. John River in the older part of town. You are less than a mile away from Everbank Field, home of the NFL Jaguars. You are right beside Jacksonville Landing, with Speciality shops, restaurants, night clubs, bars and nightclubs. You can access the water taxis which ply the river. There are shuttles to the airport from the hotel.

I

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river, if you can. Although there was no balcony, there was a railing, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Awsumi,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel, especially our friendly staff and amazing views! If you are ever back in Jacksonville, we hope you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Matt Graham
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Room overlooked the river (and the yacht parked there and owned by the Jacksonville Jaguars owner) and was very scenic with the bridges and water display across the river. Great breakfast buffet in Trellis Restaurant. Desk personnel were very pleasant and helpful. I didn't like the fact that there were no computers for public to use except for boarding passes and if needed to use them you must go to business center and use a credit card to pay for time used. Was within walking distance to restaurants at Landing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Grace621,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We appreciate your kind words regarding our associates. We were also glad you enjoyed our wonderful location and amazing views! If you are ever back in Jacksonville, we hope you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Matt Graham
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great views of the river. Average rooms, but no in-room safe or mini- bar. Free toothpaste amenity
But no restocking. Not so good water pressure in shower. Room had 2
beds but only one had a down comforter - the other had a cheap blanket?
Nice big flat screen TV. Good food at the hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Peabodymac,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We appreciate you taking time to give us feedback regarding your stay. We were sorry to hear our rooms were not up to your standard. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail, please contact me.

Sincerely,
Matt Graham
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed 1 night at the Hyatt Regency to attend the Thursday night beat down of the Jacksonville Jaguars by the Indianapolis Colts. We do have season tickets to the Jags (I know you feel sorry for me) and decided since it was a night game and we live over an hour away it would be best to stay near the stadium since I would have to have a few beers in order to watch the game...

Anyway back to the hotel. It is in a great location on the river in downtown Jacksonville. It is a bit of a walk to the stadium, but can be done. Cabs and bicycle cabs are a better choice. The rooms are large, clean and we had a fabulous top floor river view room! The lobby is nice with a good vibe especially on game night. The bar offers a good happy hour and the food looked good even though we just drank.

In the morning I went downstairs to grab a coffee and some breakfast, but found the wait at the main restaurant was very long and the line at the attached Einsteins Bagels was out the door. I was able to finally get a coffee at the hotel bar and a muffin that was not good.

Overall I would stay here again, but having stayed in other Hyatt Properties, I would say this one will need renovations in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor river view room. Jacksonville is a very pretty city with the river and bridges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Dave and Heather,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront for the Jags/Colts game. We appreciate your very thorough review of our hotel and location. Jacksonville is a wonderful city, and we have the most amazing views in downtown! We hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Matt Graham
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Extremely disappointed. My room is disgusting. There are hairs everywhere...all over the floor, stuck on towels. The bathroom is gross. The floor is dirty, the shower is slimy and filmy and has marks and moldy areas everywhere. The carpet is gross and has stains. The TV is from 1996. Given a room with a view of a rooftop with pipes and steam. The only thing I can say is that the staff who checked me in were nice...probably preparing me for my disgusting room.

Room Tip: Pay a lot of money and request a room on a higher floor with a view of the river. Ask if they actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Kellyo1126,

Thank you for your review. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you received during your stay. Please know that at Hyatt our goal is to provide ‘authentic’ hospitality and I’m sorry in your case, we fell short. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Matt Graham
Director of Rooms
904-588-1234
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Address: 225 East Coast Line Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#40 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the lifestyle and landscape of the real Florida at our Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront hotel. Set along the St. Johns River within the heart of the city’s business, entertainment and sports districts, our outstanding downtown Jacksonville hotel is adjacent to the Jacksonville Landing, a hotspot for dining & entertainment, and within minutes of famous white sand beaches, championship golf courses, EverBank Field, water sports, museums and arts venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel Jacksonville
Hyatt Jacksonville Riverfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.