We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the value. These people are really trying to do something good here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14585 Duval Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32218   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Additional 10% off
Ranked #31 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for the value. These people are really trying to do something good here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

After being scared away from many other budget hotels in the area we chose to stay at this one and I'm glad we did. We stayed here on our way from Northern Virginia and Key West. Making reservations was ridiculously easy, the man at the front desk when we arrived at nearly 1 am was very friendly and made checking in a painless process which we very much appreciated after driving since 10 am. The rooms were perfect for what we needed, ESPECIALLY for the value. The 2 queen beds were comfortable and clean and look exactly as pictured, smelled nothing of cigarettes, there was a flat screen TV in the room, bathroom was clean and more than adequate for the night and the AC worked well. The complementary breakfast was not great by any means but allowed us to grab a few small muffins, bagels and coffee before continuing our treck. This all coming to a total under 70 dollars was beyond a great value. Location was directly off 95 too but it was quiet which was great. I definitely recommend staying here if you're looking

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah K, General Manager at Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and our staff. Our staff are highly well trained to deliver excellency in hospitality. Your voice measures our success in this business. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our newly renovated rooms that has 32" flat screen LED TV, microwave and refrigerator.

If you will ever in need of FLY of CRUISE package in the future, please take advantage of our special offers. We have Park and Fly Package that includes up to 14 days or free parking and CRUISE package that includes roundtrip transportation to the cruiseport. We also have 24 hours airport shuttle.

Thank you for choosing the Jacksonville Plaza Hotel and Suites. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    116
    50
    17
    13
See reviews for
81
106
55
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We recently booked the "Sail and Save package" from the Jacksonville Plaza hotel. This package included full accommodations in a queen studio, Deluxe continental breakfast , parking for our vehicle for the cruise duration and round trip shuttle service to the cruise terminal. It was a steal for under $90, including tax. I was impressed with the front desk service. They allowed us to check in 2 hours early because we had driven overnight. The room was extremely clean and the decor was modern. This hotel is also less than half a mile from a major shopping center with a plethora of restaurants. The only negative aspect of our trip was that we had a difficult time with internet connectivity. The wifi wasn't very stable it kept dropping connection because we were on the top level. You can go down to the lobby area and obtain full signal or connect to the free Hyatt wifi next door. The hotel also has a pond on the property full of turtles and fish. There are lovely benches you can sit on and enjoy the view or feed the creatures. :)

Room Tip: If the wireless internet is mandatory for your trip, request a room close to the lobby for best conn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah K, General Manager at Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We take pride in our proficiency in providing outstanding customer service experience and improving that ability every day. We are delighted to hear that we have accomplished our goals during your stay. It is our number one priority to have clean and comfortable accommodations at a very reasonable price. We have the best value in town. We appreciate your feedback and we are glad that you were able to take advantage of our Cruise Package. Also, I would like to let you know that we have upgraded our internet equipment and we now have a better connectivity all through the building.

Thank you for choosing the Jacksonville Plaza Hotel and Suites! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on our way to Myrtle Beach from Miami to break up the trip and were very satisfied, so much that we reserved for the return trip. We reserved 2 rooms both times and the reception clerk gave us the same 2 rooms on the way back which we liked very much. The hotel has recently been remodeled and it is in excellent condition with very clean and ample rooms. The staff was great in directing us to all of the nearby restaurants (many) and were very pleasant and efficient. It is very easy to find, right off state highway 95 and Jacksonville airport road. I read where they also have a shuttle to the airport. There was no noise and we slept comfortably. The continental breakfast is enough to get you going in the morning without wasting any time.

As previously mentioned we would definitely stay here again since we already stayed twice. You cannot go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor by luck and it was very convenient not needing the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah K, General Manager at Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are very happy to hear that you had 2 wonderful stays with us. It is very important to us to have repeat guests like you.We are glad that you took advantage of our continental breakfast and enjoyed and our newly remodeled rooms with microwave, refrigerator and 32" flat screen TV. We appreciate your kind words about our staff. It is our number one goal to provide clean and comfortable accommodations and deliver excellent customer service.

If you will ever be back to this area to fly out, please take advantage of our 24 hours airport shuttle and parking. Also, we have a cruise package that includes roundtrip transportation to the cruiseport and free parking for the duration of the cruise.

Thank you for staying at the Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aiken sc
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our first time in Jacksonville Fl. A friend recommended the hotel and I always trust TripAdvisor and they both were spot on with this hotel. This was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Most of the time we stay in Choice Brand hotels, but this hotel held its own and we will definitely stay here again when we come back in a couple of months or so. The location was great. Denny's and Waffle House within walking distance. Ruby Tuesdays and other restaurants only 5 mins away, if that. The room was clean from day 1 to the end. Had enough room for me and my husband. Bed was comfortable. Staff was very nice and helpful. Only hate the breakfast area was not much(only muffins, fruit, coffee, juice), but hey, you can't go wrong with Dennys and Waffle House nearby. Also, I didn't see a pool, but that is not a must-have for us. And elevator was slow, but I can deal with that. Really pleased! Will return and will tell others!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah K, General Manager at Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are delighted to hear the possitive feedback from you! It is our number one goal to provide clean and comfortable accommodations at a very reasonable price. We are very fortunate to be nearby the Rivercity Market Place that has over 20 restaurants and shops. We are also conveniently located 2 miles away from Jacksonville Interntional Airport so if you will fly out of Jacksonville airport, please take advantage of our 24 hours airport shuttle or if you will be cruising out, we have a cruise package that includes parking and cruiseport shuttle service.

Thank you for staying at the Jacksonville Plaza Hotel and Suites! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is walking distance from the Denny's and the Waffle House up by the main intersection at the airport. They offer 24 hour airport shuttle service, which we needed for our 6am flight out. We walked to Waffle House for an early morning breakfast before heading to the airport at 4am. The front desk clerks were very friendly and helpful, which is important to me. The room served its purpose. Although it's not as nice as some other hotels we've stayed in, we weren't concerned with that. We wanted it for the shuttle service and close proximity to a breakfast location before our big international trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah K, General Manager at Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and took advantage of our 24 hours airport shuttle. We are conveniently located 2 miles from the airport and 1 mile from the Rivercity Market Place that has over 20 restaurants.

Thank you for your kind words about our front desk staff. We always try hard to go above and beyond to accomplish excellent customer service.

Thank you for choosing the Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We found this hotel with one of those voucher books found outside Macdonals etc. Had a very good rate for the hotel and found the room to be very clean and pleasant. Seems to be a very good choice if you are flying from the nearby airpot. Nothing much in the area for entertainment, the only place we could find to eat was Denny's which was ok for just one night. Breakfast was the usual orange, coffee cereal etc but not bad considering such a good rate for the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah K, General Manager at Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We offer the best value in town. Our newly renovated rooms are equipped with microwave, refrigerator and 32" flat sceen TV. We provide continental breakfast, 24 hours airport shuttle and wi-fi. We are conveniently located in a shopping plaza that has over 20 restaurants. Denny's, Waffle House, Dunkin Donuts are within walking distance from the hotel.

It was a pleasure to hear that we accomplished our goal during your stay. It is our number one priority to provide clean and comfortable accommodations at a very affordable price.

Thank you for choosing the Jacksonville Plaza Hotel. We look forward to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I witness one of the most outstanding displays of customer service the night I stayed there was a very irate customer screaming at front counter person Eric he had very long check in line not only did he handle the check in with professionalism he remained calm and showed me how to remain calm and still get the job done he should be a part of your management team! All the way down to Jordan in maintenance this was a great place to stay before I went on my cruise will definitely stay here again and tell family and friends about your facility keep up good job!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah K, General Manager at Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
It was a pleasure to hear such recognition about our staff! Please know that your comments are shared with our team so they will also hear your voice. It is our sincere most desire to exceed guest's expectations every time.

Thank you for choosing our hotel prior to your cruise. We hope that you were able to take advantage of our cruise package that includes round trip transportation for 2 people to the cruise port, free parking for the entire duration of your cruise and one night stay at the hotel.

We look forward to see you on your next cruise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 14585 Duval Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jacksonville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#38 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
#44 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksonville Plaza Hotel And Suites
Jacksonville Plaza Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.