We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style or Substance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Jacksonville Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Jacksonville Airport to your Saves list
Aloft Jacksonville Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   751 Skymarks Drive, Jacksonville, FL 33218   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #70 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Asheville
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Style or Substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The room layout was like Ikea - open, functional and modern. I loved it. Free bottled water in the room is always a compliment. Loved the natural light through the room windows to the shower. The wall-sized bathroom door was very heavy, loud and very noisy to use when others are sleeping in the room - I guess it's just part of the industrial feel. Appreciated all the power outlets and electronics connections. Free wireless, nice TV, great desk area with lots of counter space. The beds were a little too firm for everyday, futon-type mattress I believe. Unfortunately attention to service wasn't their strongpoint although the manager more than made up for it and as such I would stay here again. But the main reason for 3-stars? A leaking A/C unit made the carpet soaking wet around one of the beds and no other rooms were available. Overall it seems that humidity and moisture may be a problem for this facility - maybe something to do with a concrete-type composition in Florida.

There were also some other things that got to me during this stay. We had booked a double room for 4 guests but only had towels for 2. Went down to the desk for more towels the next morning and there were limited supplies. At the same time we attempted to use the self-service espresso machine. After standing there for 5 minutes while it heated up, water came pouring out of it, apparently as part of a cleaning cycle. We turned around to tell the front desk and a staff member appeared from around the corner, seemingly scolding us for attempting to use it while he was in the middle of cleaning it. Would have been better if someone noticed us there trying to use it for 5 minutes, or maybe an out of service sign could be posted. I just didn't feel the attitude was deserved - and I am generally a pretty tolerant guy.

I suppose the wet carpet was a stroke of bad luck, assuming this was an isolated incident. I can't fault them for not having an alternate room and they did provide compensation above and beyond which shows they value an opportunity to prove my experience wasn't typical. It could have been an off day for the staff managing a full hotel. I really want to love this brand and look forward to giving it an improved rating in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    89
    46
    26
    18
See reviews for
49
47
31
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As a airport close hotel nothing rivals the Aloft in Jacksonville. From the moment I rang up for a pickup at the airport to the greeting upon arrival at the property every aspect of my stay exceeded my expectation of the property. Room size is appropriate for the rate charged. The layout was intelligent with a generous bathroom and closet space. Location was excellent and convenient in getting to the interstate into the city. There is a small bar with well priced wine and spirits and the additional of the pool table makes for a very relaxed, informal space.
With a dedicated, welcoming staff and very reasonable priced accommodations one could not ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a nice stay at Aloft while visiting with family who were leaving on a cruise from the JAX port the next day. Loved all the shopping and dining options so very nearby. We have stayed at the other Aloft in Jax, too, and enjoyed that as well. The food, beverage, snack area is very handy and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Been to this hotel twice I recently took a group of trainees there. It is clean comfortable and the staff is very friendly. There is shuttle service from the airport a nice swimming pool and fitness center. It is conveniently located across the street from a huge mall with lots of dining and shopping options. Ideal for business and stopovers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was impressed. Very modern hotel. Incredible room. Plus the rate i got from priceline was incredible (58 plus tax). Loved it!
Altought I did not get the chance to enjoy the pool or the other ammeties, I would say they looked really nice.
The bed was really confortable. Great sleeping experience. I had never even heard of this chain and i was positively impressed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We chose this hotel because we had starwood points to cover the cost. Only stayed one night with a 4am transport to the airport. The nicest part was being able to keep our car there for free and having a ride back to the hotel when we landed back in JAX 2 days later. This was our first stay at an aloft and I must say that it's very fresh and stylish. We had a drink at the bar and the bartender was very customer friendly, she brought our drinks over to where we were sitting. Would stay there again for another early flight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Aloft Jacksonville Airport, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us at Aloft! We value your feedback and are very glad that you would be willing to stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

It is a hotel close to JAX airport, which is a very convienient thing. It is a very cheap hotel on the weekends, which makes it extremely practical. It is very modern, it is very well-designed, the rooms are spacious, bathrooms are modern, TVs accept external sources, the lights, the accents, the lobby, the WXYZ bar - all look and spell modernity. The staff is young and friendly. You can bring your pets with you. There is a lake nearby and a shopping center....
So there are so many pluses, but there are some quirks. The air-conditioner makes jet engine noises and still does not cool the air, the refrigerator was very loud too, the window shades did not block all the lights, the cleaning staff was very loud in the morning knocking on people's doors "Housekeeping" - which robs this otherwise cute and nice hotel of the "EXCELLENT" spot.
For the price, though - this is a VERY GOOD hotel with some quirks :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Jacksonville Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Jacksonville Airport

Address: 751 Skymarks Drive, Jacksonville, FL 33218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Jacksonville Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 minutes away from the airport, The Aloft Jacksonville Airport hotel offers free WiFi and high-tech entertainment centers as well as easy access to Anheuser Busch Brewery and Everbank Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Jacksonville Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Jacksonville Airport Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Jacksonville Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.