We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy calamari!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maggiano's Little Italy

Maggiano's Little Italy
10367 Midtown Pkwy, Jacksonville, FL 32246-7409
904-380-4360
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maggiano's Little Italy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 1,775 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Maggiano's Little Italy in Jacksonville, located at St. Johns Town Center. Maggiano's specializes in serving lavish portions of authentic Southern Italian cuisine served family-style. Our menu is large and varied, offering a great selection of homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish and memorable desserts. Our 270-seat dining room is ideal for group lunches, festive gatherings and romantic dinners for two. In nice weather, join us for dining on one of our two outdoor patios.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy calamari!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We were seated quick for a party of 5 with 1 toddler for lunch. It took longer than usual for our server to start but it was probably just a miscommunication between the hostess. The food was served longer than usual as well considering that it wasn't that busy too. The food was great specially tge calamari, spaghetti, chicken parmesan and salmon. Just like how it is everytime we visit. All in all a great experience. :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    79
    46
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have been to this restaurant several times. The food is good, but not exceptional. The waiters have always been attentive. This visit was not the same. The service was extremely slow. When we finally got the waiter's attention to ask for butter and/or vinegar to go with the oil dip for the bread we waited 10 minutes, and had to ask again for the items. He never came back to the table to inquire if we needed a drink refill, or if the food was to our liking. We waited quite a while for our food and when it arrived, my husbands Ziti was dried on the top (I suspect it had been sitting under a lamp for a bit) and not overly hot. My Linguini with white clam sauce was good, but again, not overly hot. Perhaps the slow service was due to the inexperience of the waiter. He was pleasant enough and apologetic for "forgetting" the items we requested. I would go back to the restaurant again, but hope the service is improved. One last observation. The atmosphere would be nice but the noise is so loud and the tables so crammed together, it is more like eating in a diner than a nice restaurant. My husband and I had to move our table as the gentleman seated at the table next to ours couldn't get in his chair it was so close to our table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine Italian Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very nice restaurant for a shopping mall venue. Seated promptly with waiter, Austin, appearing soon after. One nit: extra place settings not promptly removed. Other than that, our waiter was prompt, courteous and knowledgeable. The obligatory Italian bread with EVOO dipping sauce appeared and was consumed just as fast. My wife and I both ordered drinks and a small chopped salad which was very good. She ordered chicken and spinach manicotti with Assiago cream sauce for the entree. I ordered the special: shrimp lemonete. Both were delicious and the portions were ample. Overall, a very nice respite from shopping.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Always dependably good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Tried the new flatbread pizza and it was better than most: perfect bar food to go along with some of the specialty drinks the waitress recommended. Drinks were very fruity and tasty, but too sweet for anything other than novelty consumption. Still, it was a fun and different experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had been to this Maggianos once before when it was new and it was a poor experience to say the least. My husband and I decided to give it a second chance so we went and ordered an ordinary Italian appetizer and entree (calamari fritti and lobster carbonara).

The place was almost empty yet they still got off to rough start when we had to wait for the hostess to finish her phone call before she even acknowledged our presence. Once seated we were not waited on for some time when eventually a passing waitress saw our dilemma and took care of us even though we were not in her section.

The initial bread was okay but the second basket was stale. The calamari was chewy and greasy and pieces of it were stuck together. Bad as that was the pasta dish was unforgivable. The pasta was so under cooked that I had to spit out the first bite. The lobster was chewy (it tasted canned) and the carbonara sauce was watery (carbonara sauce is supposed to be thick like an alfredo).

We sent back the entree and requested the check. By this time we had lost all interest in dining there. Even that took longer than it should have. the manager came to speak with us and sincerely apologized. She tried to offer a complimentary entree for either dine-in or take-out but we had no desire to let them take a second shot at us. She gave us a gift certificate which we have no plans to use.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggiano's Little Italy also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Maggiano's Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maggiano's Little Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.