We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey but enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Orsay

Restaurant Orsay
3630 Park St, Jacksonville, FL 32205-8336
904-381-0909
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 1,721 restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Edgewood or Dancy
Transit: Public Transit Stop Located At Park & Ingleside.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Having dined last year at Bistro Aix and feeling it was loud and for the later 20-30 somethings, we thought we'd try Rest. Orsay. Definitely make reservations. We arrived at 6:30 and no line. By the time we left the line was out the door. The restaurant is loud but not loud enough that you can't hear the music. We were greated by "hey" which needs to be addressed but it went up from there. Our waiter Brian, was wonderful. In fact, we enjoyed talking with him so much it would have been fun to have him join us!! (Thursday night line up..). He was professional, knowledgable, attentive yet not overly so. The food was delicious (although the frites are better at Taverna) and we splurged and had dessert. All in all, a wonderful meal, fantastic waiter, a bit expensive (we are from the DC area) but a nice, enjoyable meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    152
    51
    22
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hostess issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

food was execellent, drinks were flawless, but the hostess didn't seem to want to be there. in addition, gave away our reserved table away to her friends (unaware I spoke her native tongue) and then tried to sale it as a mistake on her coworker. (can you hear the bus backing up?). The bartender executed the customer experience recovery. next time forgo the Rez on open table and just sit at the bar because if you come looking fresh and clean I guess that's is not a clue or a big red flag to the hostess...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A Flawed Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited Orsay after hearing of its popularity in Jacksonville. The restaurant itself is a large cinderblock building that has been somewhat strangely decorated. A dark-wooded interior predominantly in the Craftsman style is punctuated by rather odd high-style Georgian rococo wall decorations. The dining room itself is pleasant and quiet, if a bit dimly-lit. Soon after being seated a cheese and charcuterie plate appeared on our table. Thinking it was a bit elaborate for a mise en bouche, we inquired of the waitstaff, who whisked the plate away without a word of comment or apology.

We were informed that as of 8 p.m. the restaurant was already out of two cheeses and several oyster choices. The starters that we ordered consisted of French onion soup, pork belly and calamari. As with our mains that followed, upon serving the waitstaff found it necessary in each instance to inquire "who gets the squid? Who gets the soup?" The onion soup was served with an adequate portion of gruyere cheese, but the soup broth was grievously flawed by the addition of copious quantities of balsamic vinegar, which rendered the soup not only very non-French but marginally edible. The only successful starter was the pork belly, which had a nice crackling and was served over barley. The calamari, served with a tomato and basil sauce, was quite unremarkable.

Our entrees consisted of Carolina trout, pork chop and bouillabaisse. The trout was perfectly cooked and topped with string beans and almonds. This dish was one of the few stars of the evening, as was the pork chop, served with diced peppers and au jus. The bouillabaisse was dry, overcooked and uninspired. The vegetable sides dishes, at $8 apiece, consisted of overcooked and soggy brussels sprouts and kale, both seasoned with bacon and excessive amounts of balsamic vinegar and salt, rendering them inedible.

For dessert we ordered a pumpkin bread pudding, which had no discernible pumpkin component, and acceptable ice creams. The espresso was simply awful, no crema, acrid tasting and served in inappropriately large cups. One would imagine that a restaurant with the pretensions and price point of Orsay should at least have a decent espresso machine.

The service was pleasant and enthusiastic, but decidedly amateurish. Several of the appetizers arrived at least ten minutes before the others. Wine as served was routinely dribbled down the outside of the glass. For a restaurant that aspires to be among the top restaurants in Jacksonville, and surely one of the most expensive, Orsay has quite a way to go before achieving its ambitions. At the present time, however, while there will be some successful elements, patrons are unlikely to receive the quality experience overall that they expect.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A perfect night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I dined here on a busy night. Our waiter was very attentive to our every needs. The wine suggested paired well with my arugula and herb salad, roasted hazelnuts, brown butter, citrus. I wish there was room for dessert, but I couldn't help but stuff myself. If you are in the Jacksonville area, this place is worth checking out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up for Orsay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I celebrated my birthday at Orsay and this was my choice about my perennial birthday favorite, Bistro Aix. My dinner companions had earlier groaned...."Aix, do we have to go back there again?" So Orsay it was. Not at all disappointed. Great pace of service, nice wine list and great variety of menu. It reminded me a lot of Balthazar in NYC, without the bakery. We even had the seafood plateau, which is not to be missed. I think my old favorite has now been trumped!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Orsay also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Restaurant Orsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Orsay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.