We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blackened fresh Mahi sandwich special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chowder Ted's

Chowder Ted's
5215 Heckscher Dr., Jacksonville, FL 32226-3051
9047146900
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 1,775 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“blackened fresh Mahi sandwich special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

...and it was delicious. There was a nice chalkboard eraser-sized chunk of Mahi, grilled and blackened to perfection, along with lettuce, tomato, roll, and some spicy dressing. My wife had the crab cake sandwich and we feasted on the onion rings. I also had a white beer from the tap for $2.25, which was tasty. This was my 2nd visit. The first time I had the fresh Grouper sandwich and Ted's delicious spicy chowder served in a less than attractive teflon coated pot (with half the teflon worn away). The place has redneck charm with authentic ripped up '60's-era padded chairs and tiny tables on a concrete floor. You can dine outside near the river on a concrete picnic table or seating at old wooden picnic tables can be had in the rear room when things get crowded, and they usually are. Go for the food and try to overlook the shortcomings like the parking lot that sorely needs some TLC, overcrowding, and slow service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    16
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Make sure you bring cash, they don't take credit or debt cards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Food's great. Parking lot needd to be repaved. Not a good place to go if you're wheelchair bound! There should be a sign in the window stating "Cash Only" restaurant. I had to leave my disable husband an drive to find an ATM that charged me $3.00 to get my own money. Would I go back? Yes, the food is just that good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

So my husband wasn't thrilled with the chowder but other than that everything was delicious!! We love to find local restaurants when traveling and this was exactly what we enjoy. It is an older small building. Nothing fancy about this place inside or out but my Cajun Shrimp sandwich was fantastic and my kids loved the Fried Tilapia Sandwich. Fries came with our sandwiches and they were also hot and delicious. My husbands chowder was not very warm but other than that it was ok. The broth had a decent flavor and if you like large chunks of vegetables with some seafood in a tomato based broth this might be your thing. It would probably have been better if served hotter. Prices were reasonable and our waitress was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sassylady22001
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Chowder was not what I expected. Was more like veggie soup. Conch fritters were good and the crab cake on a kaiser roll was awesome Local place. Crowded with not many tables tho

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Visited for lunch as advised by Trip advisor and was not disappointed. The chowder was unique and delicious, the shrimp were fresh nd expertly prepared. A TINY place with great food and well worth the drive! Location was beautiful.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder Ted's also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Chowder Ted's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chowder Ted's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.