We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place for Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amber Bistro

Amber Bistro
500 Hartz Ave, Danville, CA 94526-3808
925-552-5238
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Amber Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 106 Restaurants in Danville
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Church St.
Transit: Bus 221, 960B, 960C
Walnut Creek
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Good Place for Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I had dinner at Amber Bistro. The food was quite good, especially the duck spring rolls.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go across the street to Bridges instead”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was there with a party of 4 just 4 days ago on a Sunday at 6:30. Only 2 other tables occupied in entire restaurant. Service was very pleasant but something must have been going on in the kitchen because it took an hour for entrée to arrive and another hour for the dessert to arrive. Wait staff never came by and said it will be a few minutes; we had to flag someone down to inquire. We only complained among ourselves. My duck was good, one steak was well done instead of medium rare and the 2 Halibuts were just average. We had decided to try it because we had not been there for years and one of the group had been given a gift certificate for an entrée! We all said we should have gone to Bridges which was bustling and is always consistently very good. Food at Amber is mediocre and on the highest side for Danville, service congenial but something was definitely wrong in the kitchen. We all agree that even if they have been there for some time they cannot stay in business long at that rate. We were very disappointed and saw no reason to go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in Danville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Located conveniently across the street from a wine tasting room, the Amber Bistro is a better option than Bridges. The food is excellent, the wine menu well thought out, and the service always friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A little pricey, but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Ok, just to get it out of the way first, this isn't the least expensive place around - there are cheaper options. There are more expensive ones also. To give you perspective, my bill for one plate and 2 glasses of wine with tip (no appetizers or dessert) was a little North of $60. Entree's float around 30, with steaks a little more, pasta less etc. That's OK if everything clicks, so it really comes down to how much you actually "like" it.

In this visit my meal was a large center cut Pork Chop, it was very good and I enjoyed it greatly. However 2 of the folks I was with had a seafood dish that they claimed was below average. Another had the Filet Mignon and claimed it was really good. That's a 50% hit rate. So I guess you need to be a little carefull what you order. The server was pleasant and while the service itself was a little slow, we weren't in a hurry so it didn't matter much. The noise level inside was a little high and they were only half full. It might be very loud if they are full.

Geographically it is located right beside Bridges (and I was told - didn't validate - it is owned by the same company). They share the same valet service and parking is a little hard to find otherwise. Did I enjoy it? Yes I did. Would I go again? I think that's a possibility, but not assured.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California/Italy
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“A surprise! Wonderful restaurant. Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

While the menu is not large, one has a good choice of fish and meat dishes and some very creative appetizers. The gazpacho was an alternative version of this iconic cold summer soup but the taste was smooth and rich. The nut crusted halibut on a bed of farro was superb....balanced flavors, beautifully presented and filling. The service was attentive, prompt and excellent in every way. We were there rather late on a Sunday evening and they were patient, classy and professional. An option to Esin and Bridges, and an excellent one at that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amber Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Amber Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.