We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Esin

Cafe Esin
750 Camino Ramon, Danville, CA 94526-4259
925-314-0974
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Esin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 121 Restaurants in Danville
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sycamore Rd
Description: Esin has been a neighborhood jewel since opening in 1998. The name Esin is not only the name of one of the owners but also means “inspiration”. The food is the passion of Chef & Owners Curtis and Esin deCarion. They strive to create cuisine that is fresh, seasonal, and prepared with great care. The fare is American with bits of Mediterranean influences. The wine list has been recognized by Wine Spectator & Wine Enthusiast magazines. Esin Restaurant & Bar relocated in July of 2008 to the Newest upscale lifestyle center The Rose Garden in Danville. The freshly designed dining room offers warm and comforting tones. Be sure to save room for one of Esin’s fresh made desserts that have become so well known.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Liked the place but wish had a few more spicy options -Good service and a nice place to take friends out to dinner-

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    35
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Danville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We used to visit Cafe Esin in their old loction in San Ramon. We've been here (to this location, after they moved) 5+ times, always excellent food and service. Our # 1 restaurant in the San Ramon Valley and Walnut Creek area...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“There needs to be a new entry made”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My understanding is that Cafe Esin still exists and that a new restaurant called Esin Restaurant and bar has been opened. This was our first visit which was prompted by a restaurant review in a local magazine and the occasion was lunch on our 37th anniversary. Rather than use Open Table to book I wanted a more personal reservation. Nellie took my call and was most gracious and helpful. She promised me a booth and when we got there both she and the booth were also. When I identified myself she greeted us both cheerfully. (I had not told her it was a special event.) and showed us to a booth in a corner window.

The busser appeared immediately with our water and a friendly greeting.The server followed immediately with an equally friendly greeting and the day's specials. We were pleased with the offerings and my wife selected the PEI mussels while I was opted for the Grilled Prawn Cobb Salad. The server offered bread which we declined (but we both wondered why it wasn't just brought). Our food arrived in a reasonable time and it was, simply put, excellent. On the way to the car I asked about my wife's mussels and she said they could not have been improved upon.

Water glasses were kept filled, a sat check made on our meals, desserts offered and declined. and thanks provided with the check. When we left Nellie was on the phone but mouthed her thanks and goodbye as we left. We cannot remember the last time we had such a positive experience in every respect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Have been visiting Cafe Esin in both its current and prior locations on a regular basis. The food is fresh, well prepared and delicious! They are consistent in offering wonderful selections and daily specials. Love it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Ca
1 review
“"Consistently good quality"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is our go-to restaurant in the area, for consistently good quality food, always nicely presented. The tastes in dishes are blended superbly...in such a way that the individual ingredients stand out and are not overpowered by the stronger flavors....this is delightful, and increasingly a rarity when strong peppers or saltiness predominates so many chefs dishes. Service is attentive, but not intrusive. The large dining room is chic and bright. A winner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Esin also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Esin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Esin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.