We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kinda slow service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eveready Diner

Eveready Diner
4189 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538
845-229-8100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 42 restaurants in Hyde Park
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Poughkeepsie, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“kinda slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

food was good, but slow service!! The waitress was very confused-not really with what was going on!!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    109
    115
    46
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“FAVERITE PLACE ON EARTH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Everything is perfect here. The atmosphere is the perfect 50s diner. The food is outstanding. Staff is more friendly than friendly. ITs the perfect diner, and just great. DEFIANTE MUST GO

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not up to par ~”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went quite a few times before leaving this review. Each time it was awful. Food seems to be prepared from frozen except for their Raspberry Salad Dressing which was the only good thing about the place. The staff was more bad than good with incomplete orders to ignoring the diners to just not being up to par. Although it always seems busy, it's not good food at all. Head south on Route 9 into the Poughkeepsie and Wappingers area for much better diners!! Don't waste your money, time, or taste buds at this homely place. I felt dirty when leaving and queezy from the food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best diner in Dutchess County”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stop here whenever I am in the mood for home cooked, diner style comfort food.
Large protions, good pricing and great service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Strawberry Butter is worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On a family trip we stopped at the Eveready Diner because we had seen it on "Triple D's". Once again Guy Fieri was right, this place was money. We stopped in for lunch, the menu is extensive, the kids ordered breakfast and the adults ordered sandwiches. The service was good a little bit rushed but one could understand that with the volume of people they serve. The sandwiches were very good, but the breakfast with that strawberry butter on the side was absolutely fabulous. Everyone left full and five days later on our way back home we managed to stop again for lunch. This time I ordered breakfast as well, the bananas foster was a hit at the table as well as the strawberry butter.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eveready Diner also viewed

 

Been to Eveready Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eveready Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.