We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Manor Motel

Golden Manor Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Manor Motel
Save
You added Golden Manor Motel to your Saves list
522 Albany Post Rd., Route 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We chose this place because it was right across the road from the FDR home, museum and library. The price was the least of any place we checked and we found there were reasons for that. This is a motel from the 1950's. I'm fairly sure it has never been updated. The lights in the room are all flourescent on pull strings, There were holes in the sheets. The bathroom is small, Everything worked but the towels were tiny, the toilet ran all the time and it was difficult to turn on the faucets. The tv's are old style but it was cable with 2 showtime channels. When I checked in I was given a key and the tv remote, I found that interesting. There is a big pool which I didn't try. In the morning, there is coffee, muffins and doughnuts which was a nice touch and the owners are very pleasant if somewhat hard to understand. I wouldn't call the place unacceptable but there is nothing high tech anywhere (even the room phone was a 1980's touchtone) but again, I could walk to the Roosevelt facilities and that's why I came.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the rooms out back, we were there and no one else was, it was a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
13
15
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here during a visit to the FDR Home and Library, which is right across the street. This place is definitely dated and not fancy, but our room was large and clean, and everything in the bathroom worked well. It was so quiet, and we enjoyed a good night's sleep after a busy day. The owner kindly stored my daughter's doggie bag from dinner. Breakfast is pretty basic, with juice, coffee and donuts, but that's what we expected. The pool looked nice, but it was too cold to use it. I would recommend the Golden Manor for people looking for a "budget" motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in July, 2013. Called to make reservation(this place is not automated at all) and was quoted $55.00 per night for two people. When we arrived we were told the rate was $65 for Thursday and $75 for Friday because of high demand. The desk clerk insisted that is what she quoted me. Room was as pictured. Pillows(2 for 2 people) were worthless. Bath towels were small and thin. Wifi worked but our room was right next to the office. Someone entered our room while we were out for a few hours and turned of the window a/c but did not make up the room at the same time. Felt this was an invasion of privacy. Breakfast is donuts and bad coffee and oj in the depressing lobby. Location is good. Room was large. Swimming pool was "not ready. "If this is important to you ask when reserving if it is open.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. The property is old school motel, but not bad. Room was large and since there apparently were no other guest on our side, very quiet. The owners were friendly enough and quite helpful. In the morning they provided Entenmanns pastries and coffee and juice, but we preferred the Apple Pie Bakery at C.I.A. which is located about half a minute down the road. FDR home is literally across the street. Bed was ok although they try to fit queen size bedding on a king size matress...no big deal...the room is clean. The shower water pressure is more than adequate...better than I have at home actually. Bring shampoo and soap, the ones they supply are not so hot...not bad but you can bring better. If you really want to have a bygone experience, there is a really cheesey drive-in theatre right next door! All in all the room was worth the price and the experience was pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed with my wife at this motel for one night during Marist's graduation and found it very adequate. The bed was firm and comfortable. The furniture is dated but the room was very spacious and the tv had a good variety of channels including Showtime and other pay channels. There was coffee, juice and donuts in the lobby in the morning. The cost was around $85.00 including all taxes and fees so it is very economical. The room was also very clean. The outside air temperature was in the high forties at night and the heat worked well. There is a water saver shower head but the water pressure was so good the shower was very refreshing. The owners should look into some new chairs since they are old but overall the experience was an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Bring an extra pillow since they are scarce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Golden Manor several times as we love to visit the Roosevelt National Park and the mansions along the Hudson that are full of history and great tours. The rooms are quite spacious and clean. The shower we have in our $75.00 a night room is a water saver and you will want to bring your own hair dryer.If you need an iron, Trudy, your host will let you borrow it from the office. Coffee is served in the office There is a great place to have breakfast down the street-Ever Ready Diner and many good restaurants for other meals nearby. There is a TV and you also get your remote when you check in. None of these things are a big deal when you are on a budget and want a nights sleep in a clean establishment before you are off and running to your next adventure in the area.

Room Tip: Book early around graduation time- several colleges nearby,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Attended the Rhinebeck Car Show this past weekend. I found the hotel very convenient. Directly across from FDR's home in Hyde Park. Quiet. Owners are very nice although making the original reservation was short and to the point, most likely due to a slight language barrier, but once there they are quite nice. The rooms are VERY 60's, but absolutely SPOTLESS! I don't care if they are modern, just clean and they are! Cable TV and free WiFi all worked great. Beds are a little hard for my comfort, but everyone likes something different. Grounds well kept and no trash. Free coffee and donuts in the mornings, nothing fancy, but it's there. I would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: I faces the main road, but rooms were still quiet as the building it set back from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Manor Motel

Address: 522 Albany Post Rd., Route 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Golden Manor Hotel Hyde Park
Golden Manor Hyde Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Manor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.