We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our expectations exceeded, a return is imminent.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Chateau Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Petit Chateau Inn
Save Saved
You added Le Petit Chateau Inn to your Saves list
39 West Dorsey Lane, Hyde Park, NY 12538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our expectations exceeded, a return is imminent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed from December 23 to 25, and had a perfectly magical time. The rooms were beautifully appointed and the entire experience suited my finicky heart. We were disappointed in our first breakfast, however. The young and enthusiastic chefs attempted to create an original concoction which I desperately tried to enjoy but alas, couldn't. Woke up to a White Christmas and Valerie's scrumptious southwestern cooking which made up for the previous day's culinary blunder. Partners in Massage also give surprisingly competent and deep-tissue body work. We were very pleased with the level of service and plan to return in the spring. Valerie was a superb host.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    28
    11
    7
    12
See reviews for
13
82
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I took some time off from work to spend an overnight in Hyde Park, particularly to have dinner at the Culinary Institute of America (CIA), as well as to do some bicycle riding (for him) and running (for me). The CIA's web site listed some nearby places to stay while visiting, and we wanted a B&B. There were a few that appealed to us, but something kept drawing us back to Le Petit Chateau, and we were thrilled with our choice! The house was comfortable and quaint, on a quiet street only 1/2 mile from the CIA! Mid-afternoon, a couple of hours before our jaunt to the Walkway-Over-the-Husdon (a close drive away), we enjoyed complimentary wine, cheese and crackers in the living room. Our room, the Rhone Room, was so cozy, especially with the fireplace on in the evening; we had a great night's sleep! Valerie, the owner, was so helpful and friendly from start to finish. I emailed her with lots of questions and she answered me quickly, and with a friendly tone to her responses. When we arrived, she gave my husband an awesome riding route, and me the suggestion of a perfect place to run at the nearby Vanderbilt Mansion. Chef Marina (a CIA graduate) made us a delicious breakfast, and was so nice to talk to! Nicholas, the Inn-keeper who checked us in, was also very sweet and friendly (and a talented musician as well!) He really keeps the house nice and clean. We will definately stay at Le Petit Chateau in the future, and we highly recommend this establishment. (Oh, and I forgot to mention, you'll leave with a little parting gift, and token of Valerie's appreciation for her guests!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagne53, Owner at Le Petit Chateau Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
It is so wonderful to have guests like this couple! We are proud of our inn as representing Old World Charm, something I think that is lacking in many of the boutique-style environments. I think one of the charms of a bed and breakfast, is the interaction with the guests. As I am an avid bicyclist, our conversations were quite enlivened by the Lance Armstrong mayhem ( I am also a Texan...)

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I know people are so busy this time of year. It is genuinely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Superb location, nice clean rooms, HUGE updated bathrooms, cozy fire place, free wine and snacks that are actually good, high class breakfasts prepared by chef Marina that deserve a michilin rating, and a super friendly and accommodating owner. Thank you, Valerie. As a young couple from the city who are critical foodies who were looking for a quick weekend getaway, we had a pressure staying at your inn.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagne53, Owner at Le Petit Chateau Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We so appreciate the time you took to submit a review. I believe our breakfast is hearty, wholesome and seasonal. We strive to genuinely reflect what is available from the Hudson Valley farmers markets. As we are a Europena style inn, we strive to provide hospitality and service that is friendly and attentive, without being overbearing.

Thank you again for submitting a review. We know it takes time from your busy schedule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

No one to greet us even though we were asked to give our arrival time. Rooms & common areas are pleasant. Bed had a soft, lumpy mattress, " threadbare" blanket, roomy bathroom. Website shows a beautiful water view, no water in site. "The Farm to Table" breakfast consisted of a few grapes & melon on a plate, yogurt eaten out of a carton, small slab of " egg/ spinach" ??? Nothing else. Sorry, forgot the coffee cake. Nothing as advertised on the website. No fresh farm produce in sight.
ONLY reason to stay is its proximity to CIA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagne53, Owner at Le Petit Chateau Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
This is the most ludicrous review we have experienced in eight years:
First: There is a VERY noticeable and LARGE TWO ACRE pond less than twenty feet from our inn!! YOU CAN'T MISS IT. (We have ROW BOATS, We Ice skate in winter, some brave guest swim) Oh la la . You see this pond from the dining room, the sitting room, the kitchen, the front porch, the parking lot, from your window (yes you do need to look out your window!!!!!)

Second: I (me, myself, miss chatelaine) checked these lady guests in. And in a line up I could describe Madame Maria A very well. I was in my biking regalia (all spandex) I might be slim, but no one looks good in spandex. HOW CAN SHE FORGET ME!!

Third:
All of our food comes from local farms. Please see our website: It really, really, really is true. Perhaps Madame Maria A wanted to visit the chicken coops at Feather Ridge or Spring Wool Farms and gather really fresh eggs. Or perhaps milk the cows at Ronnybrook Farm. Or she preferred to churn her own butter.

Shame on you for fibbing. In the land of Pinnochio, your nose would be so big it would stretch to TEXAS.

Really Dear Traveller... Madame Maria A is certainly banned from our inn, which is a pity because her travelling companion was making plans to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was the perfect romantic weekend getaway. It is a scenic hour and a half drive to the inn, which offers a peaceful escape from NYC. The inn itself is charming. We went to a local winery and enjoyed the private four course chef dinner. The dinner is an amazing opportunity to cook alongside the chef and then enjoy a phenomenal meal. My husband cooks for a hobby and even he enjoyed learning some culinary tricks and stepping outside his cooking comfort zone. Marina, the executive chef is delightful to work with, extremely personable and welcoming. We came away with some delightful recipes and incredible memories.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagne53, Owner at Le Petit Chateau Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We are so happy when our guests have the opportunity to participate in our Private Chef Events. We appreciate the response that you wrote regarding your experience with our Excutive Chef. It is a unique environment, hands on, intensive and fun. The Private Chef Events are seasonal and we use only local ingredients from our neighboring farms. The menu is tailored to your likes and what you wish to learn in our gourmet kitchen. Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review. It is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth/Boston area
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The rooms, the common areas, the atmosphere, and the food all share the same description: tasteful, elegant, & comfortable. Valerie & her staff are very welcoming & helpful when needed, but prefer to keep a low profile to allow guests peace & privacy. This is a retreat for adults who do not need a lot of hand holding. The breakfasts alone have been enough to keep us coming back 5 years in a row (also with our parents the past 2 years), but we all feel perfectly at ease with the combination of rustic farmhouse & boutique getaway that the inn has consistently had to offer. Especially compared to the sterile (or not so) name brand hotels we've tried in the area over the past 15 years, it is an excellent value & highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagne53, Owner at Le Petit Chateau Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We so appreciate the time you took to write a review. We are proud of our service, our farm to table breakfast and our attention to detail. We are a renovated farmhouse (circa 1900) that has all the modern amenities, yet we have kept the architectural dignity of an "older" house. We are very modern, but offer old world charm. We so enjoy having guests that appreciate our Le Petit Chateau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery Point, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the 5th year my husband and I have stayed here during the NY Sheep & Wool Festival, and it really is like a home away from home for us. For years we had stayed in a hotel in Kingston, but we decided that we wanted to find someplace with a more personal touch and that was more out of the hustle and bustle, as working the festival is exhausting. The location of Le Petit Chateau is perfect on a country lane near the Culinary Institute or America, and the breakfasts, prepared by CIA graduates and students, have always been incredible. After the festival, it's also been a good base for exploring the surrounding area. I'm sure that there are more chi-chi places out there, but we're more interested in being comfortable than living some upstairs-downstairs fantasy. For barely more than we were paying for a basic chain hotel, we've gotten a far better experience and much fonder memories.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagne53, Owner at Le Petit Chateau Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We love perfect guests! We understand that Bed & Breakfasts are not for everyone. We do fashion the Inn's amenities to appeal to a wide audience of travellers. To have repeat guests such as this one,is a real honor.
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Petit Chateau Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Chateau Inn

Address: 39 West Dorsey Lane, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Le Petit Chateau Hotel Hyde Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Chateau Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.