We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent service, cafeteria type food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pete's Famous Cafe Grill - CLOSED

Pete's Famous Cafe Grill
4204 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538
845-229-1475
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Rhinebeck, New York
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Decent service, cafeteria type food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had been wanting to try this place for a little while.... the outside is a little deceiving of the inside decor. Once I entered, although it is not a cafeteria style setting, that was the overall feel I got.... and the food was ok, also reminded me of a cafeteria.... glad I went, but I won't be returning.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    6
    6
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Excellently prepared basic diner food -- a huge menu! -- in clean, bright decor with friendly service. Great prices and generous portions. Not for a fancy dinner --- but for good eats at a reasonable price, excellent.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stopped for lunch after asking the ranger at the Vanderbilt mansion for a suggestion. He said both diners in Hyde Park were good so we decided to try Pete's. The menu offers lots of choices as well as daily specials that are presented separately. Prices were reasonable and our party chose three different sandwiches. All were very good and come with a pickle and a side of coleslaw. This was a nice break before moving on to more sightseeing.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Mi
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very comfortable atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

There are not a lot of restaurants to choose from in Hyde Park and we feel that Pete's is the best of the lot. There is a great selection of meals, the atmosphere is nice and relaxing, the place is extremely clean, the food is good and the workers are friendly. On top of all that, the prices are reasonable. you will be happy you stopped here

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Good food......good meat...good gosh...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Let's eat! Went here with family.....had calimari appetizer and a veal parm sub......both to my extreme liking ( took some of the sub home ).....Family was pleased also....service was great.......going to be coming back....

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's Famous Cafe Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pete's Famous Cafe Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.