We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are into the History, this is a good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
1 Sherwood Place, Hyde Park, NY 12538   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Ridgeway, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you are into the History, this is a good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The owner (Val) is friendly and exceptionally helpful, the B&B is clean and comfortable, it is located across the road from the Vanderbilt Mansion and just a hop to FDR's place and the American Culinary Institute... also about 40 minutes from West Point. What stopped this from getting the excellent review was the breakfasts. Though unique, everyone was to eat at exactly 8:30 around a table with 10-12 others and with only limited selection based on the theme for that day. There needed to be bread or toast with jams etc., and a wide range of cereals, or even some cheese or hard-boiled eggs, for people whose schedule did not match the hosts, or for individuals who did not share the same desire for the culinary fare offered. Val was caught a bit off guard when five of the guests were vegetarian... and other offerings would help fill the void. All in all, though, a good experience.

Room Tip: Each room tends to have a theme... so check it out before booking to ensure you are comfortable with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We really appreciate your taking the time to offer such a nice review. We do know that our family-style breakfasts are not for everybody – which is why we make sure that all our guests know before they book how we serve breakfast – and ask them if they are comfortable with that arrangement before we finalize the reservation. And we happily cater to all dietary preferences such as vegetarians, vegans, gluten-free, even those with restrictions due to diabetes, crohn’s, or celiac disease for example, plus any allergies, and other restrictions such as kosher and halal. We ask all our guests upon booking and again when they arrive if they have any dietary restrictions or allergies – and we prepare our meals to meet those requests. On rare occasions guests just do not tell us – as was the case when you were here. We were already accommodating two vegetarians, but there were a few guests who for whatever reason didn't tell us until we were serving the entrée – those things happen – which is why we always serve any meat as a side and never in the main meal. In addition, we do offer several types of cereal including homemade granola and gluten free options for those preferring a lighter meal or who want to supplement their meal with more food. Thank you so much for your suggestions – we always appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    15
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
67
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Ferrisburg, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Eight of us had a wonderful family get-together at the inn this past weekend, Nov. 1-3. The inn is beautiful, comfortable, and spacious. The guest rooms (we occupied Mombasa, Tuscany, the English Suite, and Vanderbilt Suite) were immaculate, well-appointed, and cozy. And downstairs, there were two large, comfortable rooms in which to sit and visit. Valerie, the innkeeper, is immediately warm and welcoming, and, as others have written, shows a genuine concern for--and interest in--her guests. She is full of accurate information about things to do and places to eat in the area. Each of her recommendations--walks to take on the Vanderbilt estate (right across from the inn), restaurants, a local deli--were right on target for our group. From the moment we entered Journey Inn to the moment we left, we felt entirely at home and extremely well taken care of.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Nothing pleases us more than helping to make a special occasion even more special. We loved hosting your family reunion - and offering our suggestions about what to do and where to eat dinner. You were such a fun group and clearly love seeing with each other and spending time together. We wanted our home to be your home and are so glad that we met your expectations. Isn't that walk at the Vanderbilt just amazing - I encourage all our guest to walk those amazing grounds - it is hard to describe how beautiful they are, you just need to go! We can't thank you enough for taking the time to write this review - it means so much to us that you had such a lovely stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River Nj
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

we discovered the Juorney inn on trip advisor and what luck we had to come across such a terrific place. Valerie the inn keeper is the jewel in the crown of this super place.
the accomodations were beautiful, clean well kept and we enjoyed just relaxing in the common areas. we took the english country suite that was our favorite, large a cozy the others rooms we did not get to see but must have been equally grand.
Valarie and her great assistant produced a breakfast of pleasure to see and taste. we sat around her large dinning table and loved the food and especially our fellow quests.
a true inn experience the inn seekers will visit often we will be back because hyde park has so much to do and see. wnderful visit in every way dont miss it....

Room Tip: the english country suite was perfect costwise higher then the others but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are so happy that you discovered us - and that you want to come back to see all that Hyde Park has to offer. There is so much to do here that I am always telling folks to give themselves a few days. Thank you for taking the time to offer such a nice review. We work hard to make your stay wonderful and welcoming, especially our breakfasts where you can mingle with the guests and share your travel tips! My Dad and Mom are my great breakfast assistants and we are so happy to have them - this is a family affair and we all love serving. Thank you, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent two nights at the Journey Inn in Hyde Park--absolute perfection! Val and her Dad were the most wonderful hosts...warm,funny and very helpful about everything.My husband and I spent about an hour one afternoon just talking "shop" with Val...my husband is in sales and she was in marketing....lots to discuss!
We stayed in two different rooms and both are equally lovely.Good breakfasts each a.m and little touches like water,ice tea and soda available all day.Val is born to do this,and it shows!
As my husband told her,she has set the bar very high....we will definitely be back,and stay even longer.A first-class experience!!

Room Tip: Kyoto room has a bathroom in the hall,but worth the little bit you have to walk...bathroom is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
It is so easy to be a great host when you have guest like you and Charles. We really enjoyed having you at the Inn - it was fun talking "shop", especially since I don't have to do it anymore! Charles clearly loves his work and so do I - now that I am an Innkeeper. My Dad is honored that you mentioned him - it is a labor of love for him too. We really look forward to having you back soon - first class guests deserve a first class experience - thank you!! for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The reviews that I read before making reservations at Journey Inn are the reason why I chose the inn. Between the time that I made my reservations and stayed at the inn, it changed owners. The new owner, Valerie, loves her work. The joy of serving people radiates from her face and is shown by the care that she gives to the details of running the inn. Breakfasts were delightful! Everyday is something different and tasty. Valerie's knowledge of the locality is also quite helpful.
I went with a group of cousins. We enjoyed the spacious sitting areas which allowed us to relax together at the end of the day. It felt like we were being entertained in a comfortable home.
I hope to return! My only fear is that this inn is going to be so popular that booking a room will be near impossible.
Thank you, Valerie, Eric and parents -especially DAD, the butler extraordinaire!
**This inn is located right across the street from the Vanderbilt Mansion. The grounds offer quite an extensive walking trail!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
What a wonderful review to wake up to this morning! Such a fun group you all were - and it made for a very interesting weekend with a house full of women. ;-) It is easy to love your job when you meet such interesting and nice people such as you Ruth and the "group of cousins"! Nothing pleases us more than seeing our guests having so much fun not only seeing the sites, but relaxing under our pavilion on a beautiful afternoon. I loved hearing your laughter and seeing how much fun you all had together. I really can't wait to have you all again - next Spring perhaps?! Thank you for taking the time to post this review - all of us really appreciate the effort - and my Dad is particularly pleased.-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a delightful getaway! The inn is situated in the perfect spot to take day trips to a variety of interesting venues. We spent 6 nights here and loved it. Val is the consummate innkeeper. Her attention to detail and genuine concern for the comfort of her guests made our stay a true retreat. Breakfast was delicious each morning and we loved the eclectic group of guests who gathered around the table. This is definitely a spot we'll return to just to relax and enjoy the hospitality.

Sandi and Elena

Room Tip: Vanderbilt Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Loved having you and Elena at the Inn. It is so nice when we have guests for several days - we really get to know you and we LOVE the menu planning for the long stay! You cannot be in this business if you do not truly want your guests to be happy and relaxed - so it is so gratifying when we achieve our goals. We are so lucky to have such great and interesting guests - as it does make the breakfast table a joy for all. You both added so much to the quality of the stay for all our guests. Thank you! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A gracious innkeeper, lovely room, and excellent breakfast with lovely shared spaces made this a wonderful place to stay to visit Hyde Park and all the local attractions. We loved staying here. And Rhinebeck offered very good restaurants. The Vanderbilt grounds just across the street were perfect for walks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you! And you and Dorothy were such gracious guests - we loved having you at the Inn. So happy you both enjoyed our breakfasts (something that is very important to us - we love feeding people) and were able to take advantage of our great location across from the Vanderbilt. We encourage our guests to take their morning/afternoon stroll on those amazing grounds with such beautiful views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Sherwood Place, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are across from The Vanderbilt Mansion, a short drive to the Roosevelt Home & Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-kill and The Culinary Institute of America. Kayak the Hudson River and explore our miles of walking and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Journey Hotel Hyde Park
Journey Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list