We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming B&B in a wonderful location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1 Sherwood Place, Hyde Park, NY 12538   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Welcoming B&B in a wonderful location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Besides the location being excellent (directly across from the Vanderbilt Mansion and conveniently located to several other attractions) the inn keepers were incredibly welcoming and knowledgeable. Before we even arrived, they gave us suggestions for activities which allowed us to buy tickets ahead of time and plan to see certain things. The B&B itself was very clean, and I feel that the description and pictures did it justice. I do agree that at times a little noise could be heard from other guests/normal 'house noises', but nothing too bad-- I expect a little of this when staying in a B&B. I've stayed in hotels with worse noise problems. The breakfast was very good, although for those who may have dietary restrictions or are "picky eaters" you may be left a little unsatisfied. Overall though we had a fantastic visit and stay and would recommend this B&B. The hospitality, cleanliness and location outweigh and 'mini-negatives' we encountered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Happy New Year to you and what a lovely way to start the New Year! Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay not only with us but with the Hudson Valley. The Hudson Valley is remarkable no matter the season. We appreciate and thank you for your comments. We might add that we do not see them as “mini-negatives” but has valued input. We will take them under advisement to see how we might be able to make some adjustments/changes over the next several months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    16
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
82
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsville
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for three nights two weeks ago. All things considered, this is not a bad place to stay. The pros - cleanliness, location, wonderfully nice hosts. The cons - temperature control, acoustics, breakfast. Simply put, the location could not be better. As other reviewers have noted, it is directly across from the Vaderbilt National Historic Site, and only a few miles from the Culinary Institue, FDR National Historic Site, and Val-Kill. Our room and the common areas were spotlessly clean. The hosts are top notch. If you need assistance with planning your activities, they are absolutely great. I'm one of those, however, who never travels anywhere without having done advance research. We therefore already had our day excursions planned, and we also had all of our dinner reservations made (three nights at different restaurants at the Culinary Institute!) before we arrived in Hyde Park. We stayed in the Outback Room. We thought that would be a great choice as it had not only an ensuite bathroom, but a TV and small refrigerator as well. It is a first floor room. If we return, we would definitely pick a different room. Because the Outback Room is on the first floor, if there are other guests traveling together, as happened when we visited, and they are using the common areas in the evening or early morning, then you will hear every word of their conversation. The room was otherwise comfortable, although a bit too warm for us. There are no individual temperature controls in this room. We closed all of the vents, but the room was still too warm for us to comfortably sleep. As for the breakfasts, you have to realize that this is a B&B and not a restaurant. They make one breakfast each day, served at one time, and everybody eats the same thing. You won't know what's being served until it's actually served. The hosts alter the main breakfast entree with one day being savory, the next sweet. I alerted the hosts upfront to the fact that I am on a no-sugar-added diet. There was no accommodation offered to me on the "sweet" day, so my only option was to have cereal. Gratefully, they did provide an assortment of cereals and juices each day. Still, my experience at other B&Bs is that hosts are often a little more accommodating about special diets. Even having alerted our hosts to my diet, on our second day I was served a fruit course (already plated) with added honey and sweetened yogurt. I would have loved to have had only the beautiful fresh fruit, but I wasn't given that option, so I had to forgo the fruit course altogether. It left me a little disappointed, especially considering the price that we paid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
When you first arrived, we were impressed at how well organized and efficiently you had planned your visit to the Hudson Valley. You returned every afternoon looking like you were just having a great time.
We find that after all these years we are still learning from our guests. You are correct that as a small B&B we cannot offer the same services as a restaurant, which is why we make every effort when guests are making a reservation to ask about dietary restrictions & allergies. At that time we do explain how we can offer a variety of cereals & granola as substitutions and/or other choices depending on the restriction and we explain that we do serve family style at one time. We hope this allows guests to decide before they make a reservation if what we offer suits their needs, we do understand what we can offer may not be to everyone’s liking.
Somehow we obviously messed up about the fruit course with a dollop of a plain Greek yogurt sauce for which we do apologize.
We do wish we had known of the heating issue, as we could have made adjustments to make it more comfortable for you. We regret you were uncomfortable. There is nothing more bothersome then being too hot or too cold.
As well organized as you are, there is still so much more for you to explore in the Hudson Valley and we look forward to seeing the both of you again.
We wish you a most Merry Christmas and an exciting New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I surprised my girlfriend with a weekend trip to Hyde Park, and we stayed at the Journey Inn at the recommendation of this site as well as Yelp. We enjoyed the gourmet breakfasts and warm hospitality. We both liked the Tuscany Room, but upon a return visit would probably like to try a different room for variety. All the living spaces seemed very clean and organized. The ground floor common areas have a ton of books and magazines, games, and a great breakfast room. We also appreciated having tea, drinks and cookies available at night since we arrived late. I liked having breakfast at one large table with the other guests. The location is great, very close to FDR House, Val-kill and the Vanderbilt mansion, and not far from local wineries (check out Millbrook), and other quaint towns such as Rhinebeck. I have already recommended Journey Inn to others and would stay here again if I return to Hyde Park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Your girlfriend seemed so thrilled with your planned surprise get away, you should be very happy with yourself! This time of year, more of our guests will take advantage of our public spaces and it was so nice seeing the both of you so relaxed and enjoying them. We are glad you enjoyed sitting around our breakfast table, isn’t it amazing how total strangers can engage in such lively breakfast conversations? We appreciate recommending us to follow travelers and we look forward to seeing you both again. We wish you a most bountiful Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Where do I start here? I can't say enough good things about this place. It is owned by two sisters who put every bit of sweat into making you feel welcome, the rooms clean and comfortable and the place feeling like home. My girlfriend and I were greeted at the door and shown around the place by the very lovely owners who were just nice in every way. When we walked in, the place was spotless, from top to bottom and it pretty much stayed that way all weekend. We stayed in the Vanderbilt Suite, which was great to spread for spreading out our stuff (or if there's more than two of you), impeccably clean and had an unbelievably comfortable double bed with the softest pillows and the highest thread count sheets I could imagine. It is also not next to any other rooms so we didn't hear anything but the trains at night and those don't bother me. It has its own bathroom too that you don't have to walk across the hall to enter. The two sisters give you very personalized service to everyone, bend over backwards to make sure you're comfortable and are extremely helpful in telling you about things to do in the area, shopping and restaurants. There is always coffee and tea available and delicious homemade cookies too! Each morning you get a different, home cooked breakfast - no store bought foods here and they serve you one course, and the rest is buffet style. If only I could eat like that every morning! Just remember, this isn't a hotel, and it is a smaller B&B with specific rules about when you can check in and out, make payment and eat breakfast (always at the same time), so be prepared to adjust your routine somewhat if you're the type that sleeps in late every day (not a criticism, just an observation). Considering its location, the level of personalized service you get, the unbelievable breakfasts and how nice the rooms are, the price is about right. If you go to Hyde Park, stay here at least one time instead of the many run-of-the-mill hotels in the area - you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: I liked the Vanderbilt Suite because it is not next to any other room, and I can be rather sensitive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
After reading your review, we asked the same question…”where do we start?” Thank you for taking your time to share with others about your stay with us. Even after all these years as innkeepers, it is still always interesting to see what truly is important to guests. We have always believed that you must first start with clean and then all else will follow. We will make sure we convey to our cleaning help your appreciation of their hard work.
A 7 room B&B is a good size to be able to give attention to all of our guests but at the same time it also affords our guests privacy between the 2 large and comfortable public places.
We never know who we will be welcoming through our front door, this time it was you when we opened the door…and what a wonderful time we had meeting the both of you! Happy Thanksgiving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greetham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here with friends for two nights recently and loved it. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and informative, and Hyde Park was a really interesting place to stay. My only quibble was that our bathroom, while large and with a full bath as well as a shower, was not ensuite but across the corridor. It was not a major problem but unusual in a B&B of this high calibre. However we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We couldn’t agree more that Hyde Park is the place to stay….. not that we are biased in any way! The four of you were full of enthusiasm and took full advantage of your time in our area; no moss grew under your feet. Please accept our apology for any discomfort you experienced, had we known of your desire for an ensuite bath with a tub, we would have offered you The Outback Room. We look forward to seeing all of you again, there is so much more for you to discover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very impressed. Diana and Michele made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful in planning our visits to Hyde Park, Top Cottage, The Vanderbilt Mansion and the Culinary Institute. The room was charming, clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts were very tasty. The location is perfect for touring in the area. This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
It is so much fun for us to help our guests plan their time with us. Then we have just as much fun listening to how their day went! Hopefully it is full of adventure, fun & laughter. We are very appreciative of your kind words. Happy Halloween!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A cute house across the beautiful Vanderbilt Mansion. Diana and Michele make you feel so comfortable with their hospitality and personality. Great gourmet breakfast to start the day and plenty information from the housekeepers in order to enjoy your stay and the wonderful Hudson valley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are thrilled that you felt so at home during your stay with us. We hope our interpretation of your room, The Vanderbilt Suite, fared well to the “real thing” across the street. We wish you a Happy Halloween!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Sherwood Place, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are across from The Vanderbilt Mansion, a short drive to the Roosevelt Home & Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-kill and The Culinary Institute of America. Kayak the Hudson River and explore our miles of walking and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Journey Hotel Hyde Park
Journey Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.