We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a relaxaing weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1 Sherwood Place, Hyde Park, NY 12538   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
South Orange, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a relaxaing weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I surprised my girlfriend with a weekend trip to Hyde Park, and we stayed at the Journey Inn at the recommendation of this site as well as Yelp. We enjoyed the gourmet breakfasts and warm hospitality. We both liked the Tuscany Room, but upon a return visit would probably like to try a different room for variety. All the living spaces seemed very clean and organized. The ground floor common areas have a ton of books and magazines, games, and a great breakfast room. We also appreciated having tea, drinks and cookies available at night since we arrived late. I liked having breakfast at one large table with the other guests. The location is great, very close to FDR House, Val-kill and the Vanderbilt mansion, and not far from local wineries (check out Millbrook), and other quaint towns such as Rhinebeck. I have already recommended Journey Inn to others and would stay here again if I return to Hyde Park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Your girlfriend seemed so thrilled with your planned surprise get away, you should be very happy with yourself! This time of year, more of our guests will take advantage of our public spaces and it was so nice seeing the both of you so relaxed and enjoying them. We are glad you enjoyed sitting around our breakfast table, isn’t it amazing how total strangers can engage in such lively breakfast conversations? We appreciate recommending us to follow travelers and we look forward to seeing you both again. We wish you a most bountiful Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    16
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
85
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Where do I start here? I can't say enough good things about this place. It is owned by two sisters who put every bit of sweat into making you feel welcome, the rooms clean and comfortable and the place feeling like home. My girlfriend and I were greeted at the door and shown around the place by the very lovely owners who were just nice in every way. When we walked in, the place was spotless, from top to bottom and it pretty much stayed that way all weekend. We stayed in the Vanderbilt Suite, which was great to spread for spreading out our stuff (or if there's more than two of you), impeccably clean and had an unbelievably comfortable double bed with the softest pillows and the highest thread count sheets I could imagine. It is also not next to any other rooms so we didn't hear anything but the trains at night and those don't bother me. It has its own bathroom too that you don't have to walk across the hall to enter. The two sisters give you very personalized service to everyone, bend over backwards to make sure you're comfortable and are extremely helpful in telling you about things to do in the area, shopping and restaurants. There is always coffee and tea available and delicious homemade cookies too! Each morning you get a different, home cooked breakfast - no store bought foods here and they serve you one course, and the rest is buffet style. If only I could eat like that every morning! Just remember, this isn't a hotel, and it is a smaller B&B with specific rules about when you can check in and out, make payment and eat breakfast (always at the same time), so be prepared to adjust your routine somewhat if you're the type that sleeps in late every day (not a criticism, just an observation). Considering its location, the level of personalized service you get, the unbelievable breakfasts and how nice the rooms are, the price is about right. If you go to Hyde Park, stay here at least one time instead of the many run-of-the-mill hotels in the area - you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: I liked the Vanderbilt Suite because it is not next to any other room, and I can be rather sensitive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
After reading your review, we asked the same question…”where do we start?” Thank you for taking your time to share with others about your stay with us. Even after all these years as innkeepers, it is still always interesting to see what truly is important to guests. We have always believed that you must first start with clean and then all else will follow. We will make sure we convey to our cleaning help your appreciation of their hard work.
A 7 room B&B is a good size to be able to give attention to all of our guests but at the same time it also affords our guests privacy between the 2 large and comfortable public places.
We never know who we will be welcoming through our front door, this time it was you when we opened the door…and what a wonderful time we had meeting the both of you! Happy Thanksgiving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greetham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here with friends for two nights recently and loved it. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and informative, and Hyde Park was a really interesting place to stay. My only quibble was that our bathroom, while large and with a full bath as well as a shower, was not ensuite but across the corridor. It was not a major problem but unusual in a B&B of this high calibre. However we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We couldn’t agree more that Hyde Park is the place to stay….. not that we are biased in any way! The four of you were full of enthusiasm and took full advantage of your time in our area; no moss grew under your feet. Please accept our apology for any discomfort you experienced, had we known of your desire for an ensuite bath with a tub, we would have offered you The Outback Room. We look forward to seeing all of you again, there is so much more for you to discover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very impressed. Diana and Michele made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful in planning our visits to Hyde Park, Top Cottage, The Vanderbilt Mansion and the Culinary Institute. The room was charming, clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts were very tasty. The location is perfect for touring in the area. This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
It is so much fun for us to help our guests plan their time with us. Then we have just as much fun listening to how their day went! Hopefully it is full of adventure, fun & laughter. We are very appreciative of your kind words. Happy Halloween!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A cute house across the beautiful Vanderbilt Mansion. Diana and Michele make you feel so comfortable with their hospitality and personality. Great gourmet breakfast to start the day and plenty information from the housekeepers in order to enjoy your stay and the wonderful Hudson valley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are thrilled that you felt so at home during your stay with us. We hope our interpretation of your room, The Vanderbilt Suite, fared well to the “real thing” across the street. We wish you a Happy Halloween!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

When I travel I want everything to be as easy as possible because traveling can oftentimes be difficult and tiring as you know. This B&B is centrally located to everything Hyde Park, NY has to offer. This includes the Roosevelt sites, the Eveready Diner, the Culinary School and the Vanderbilt Mansion (right across the street)!

The house is very pretty on the outside and cozy on the inside. The breakfasts are more than adequate and the cookies throughout the day are scrumptious! Our room and bathroom were not overly large, but they were definitely adequate for our needs and the bed was VERY comfortable. We even got a cookbook as a little parting gift!

The two sisters who run the B&B are very helpful! If it hadn't been for them, we wouldn't have visited Top Cottage (one of the Roosevelt sites) and would have missed out on one of our favorite excursions. They also suggested booking very early in order to eat at the Culinary School - we were so glad we did, because many people who didn't know about the early booking requirement missed out.

Some things to keep in mind when visiting:
a) Breakfast is included in the room charge but everyone has to eat it at the same time at 8:30am. We enjoyed this as we got to talk to other guests and wanted an early start to the day. However there may be some folks who don't want to get up that early or don't really want to interact.
b) There are no TVs in the rooms. There is one TV downstairs and as everyone in the B&B has access to it, you may not be able to watch what you want to watch. When we were there, no one watched TV. They all read (great library by the way), did puzzles, or played games (provided). If you want to watch a special program or see the news, this may be a problem for you (depending on who is visiting at the time).
c) We stayed on the second floor. Our luggage had to be taken upstairs by hand - there didn't appear to be an elevator. If you need something handicap accessible, this could be a problem for you.
d) We had to pay half down when booking and half when we left. Again, this was no problem for us, but some people may have a problem with paying for something they haven't experienced yet.

I don't think you will be disappointed if you stay here. The food is good, the beds are comfortable, the owners are helpful, and all the sight-seeing is very close. We felt very happy to have found such a GREAT B&B!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Wow, thank you for the time and thought you gave to your review, we truly are impressed! We are very happy that you seemed to have thoroughly enjoyed your time in Hyde Park. Top Cottage, FDR’s retreat is such a gem; we just wish it didn’t close for the season in November and not reopen till May. As you discovered, there is just too much to see and do in one visit, we hope you are thinking of returning to the Hudson Valley for another visit.
We appreciate your concern about our breakfast service. As you know, we state it on our website and explain it to guests when they call to make a reservation( I know we are so old-fashioned, no online reservations) and lastly we also have it in our confirmation letter, but as we all know, some things can never be said too often! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestone, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in many B&Bs but this is by far the nicest and most welcoming. The proprietors Diane and Michele have created something special in this little gem across from the Vanderbilt Mansion. From the very first phone call, the warmth of their hospitality was apparent and the photos on this site don't even begin to capture how charming the house is. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Kyoto Room, which has a sense of Zen tranquility especially at night when the crickets chirp outside. The 8:30 am breakfasts are early but creative and delicious and get you up and out to enjoy the many sights to see in the area (the strong coffee helps, too!). Our room did not have TV but we did not miss it; the complimentary Wifi is strong and fast. Coffee, tea, and delicious home-baked cookies are available if you want a snack and there are plenty of interesting books on the area and the places the hosts have visited to enjoy. The prices are more than reasonable and the location is very convenient. I love this inn and look forward to coming back in the future.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Oh my, you definitely know how to start our week off on the right note! Thank you for your very kind review, we truly do appreciate the time our guests take to let others know about us. We are most fortunate to have 2 large public rooms for our guests to enjoy after a day of exploring. They are great to relax in, read a great novel (or a good trashy book) and to mingle with the other guests. We are so looking forward to welcoming the both of you back! Have a great fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Sherwood Place, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are across from The Vanderbilt Mansion, a short drive to the Roosevelt Home & Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-kill and The Culinary Institute of America. Kayak the Hudson River and explore our miles of walking and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Journey Inn Bed And Breakfast
Journey Hotel Hyde Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.