We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1 Sherwood Place, Hyde Park, NY 12538   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Niagara Falls, New York
1 review
“wonderful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary there. Everything was perfect. Michele and Diane are lovely hosts. They made us feel really special- like we were part of their family. The coffee is strong and yummy- the grounds are beautiful- the rooms are spacious and comfortable. They helped us make all our reservations for the tours. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Outback room. On the 1st floor, bed was comfortable. It was quiet, bathroom was ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We hope you don’t mind if we share that this was your 1st B&B experience and as such we are always hopeful to make converts to a better way to stay! We thoroughly enjoyed meeting & talking with you. We hope your little “table gem” looks fabulous in your home....…though we thought it looked pretty good being stored in our living room during your stay. We wish you both a good school year and hope our paths will cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
93
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boonton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent two nights at the Journey Inn. It was a beautifully maintained and cozy home. Innkeepers Diane and Michelle were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. They were very knowledgeable about the area its history. They took time to answer questions, chat with us and give recommendations and suggestions for things to do without being overbearing. Breakfast was delicious. Hot and cold beverages were available all day, with a few munchies in the evening. The inn is very close to all the Hyde Park attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
As an innkeeper, you always worry about meeting expectations. We are very happy we didn’t disappoint you. This is such an exciting and fun area to explore; it has something for everyone, no matter the season. Glad you enjoyed our breakfasts; they really are fun to make.
Make sure you send us photos of your “little one” later this fall! Our best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Two lovely nights, two lovely mornings punctuated by great food and great coffee (the only place I have ever been that makes coffee as strong as we do at home). Beautiful home in an ideal Hyde Park location, just across the street from the Vanderbilt Mansion. Diane and Michele strike the right mix of graciousness, humor and respect for privacy. Rooms are well appointed, immaculate and full of all of the amenities, books and resources needed for a first rate visit to Hyde Park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
When we opened our bed and breakfast, my sister warned me that I would have to learn to make the coffee weaker and not as strong as I liked it. I said I couldn’t be the only one that loves a great cup of strong coffee in the morning. Fast forward 15 years later, rarely has a guest diluted it with some hot water! Our neighbors across the street offer a free music concert every other Wed evening in the summer. It’s a lovely way to lull away a summer evening, bring your own blanket, a picnic dinner, a bottle of wine and enjoy the music!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I had only one night in Hyde Park. We learned that we should have been there at least 4 days. So much to see. Diane and Michelle with the perfect hostess--funny and outgoing. The Mombasa Room was so comfortable; highly recommend it. Breakfast is served family style. Although we were skeptical of this, we ended up loving it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
You discovered one of the beauties of a family style breakfast….....you get to share information & suggestions with the other guests, about what there is to see & do in the area. And all of this happens with your morning coffee! We are happy you enjoyed and were comfortable in The Mombasa Room, it is a popular room. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit and perhaps this time you will be able to spend a bit more time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent our anniversary weekend at the Journey Inn B & B. The innkeepers Diane and Michelle are the perfect hosts. They made us feel so welcome and special. Diane announced the days breakfast menu and gave everyone an update on the weather and what sites were open. They gave us great dinner suggestions as well. Our room was very nicely decorated and oh so comfortable. A perfect Hudson Valley location makes it an excellent choice to see the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for spending your anniversary weekend with us, a little different then 32 years ago, we bet! We did try and encourage you to go to Hyde Park’s Drive-In, climb into the back seat, assuring you we would not ask what movie was playing..…. though we all had a great laugh….. cooler, older & wiser heads prevailed! We thank you again for finding and staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed in the English Suite for a 2 night mini-vacation. Diane and Michelle couldn't have been better hosts. Both are warm and friendly and full of great suggestions. The inn is perfectly situated in Hyde Park and a nice quiet place to relax after touring the local sights. Diane and Michelle made us delicious breakfasts and left cookies and cold drinks out during the day. Many thanks for making our vacation a memorable one. We will definitely recommend this B & B to our friends!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We are always very appreciative when guests take the time to write a review, we thank you!
With each passing year that we are here, we are ever so grateful for our wonderful location. We are close to all of the sites in town but we truly are in the heart of the Hudson Valley. So for those fortunate enough to have their vacation in the Hudson Valley, we are in a great jumping off spot, to go north, south east or west, most things are a stones throw away.
Your family is delightful and we hope we will have the opportunity to also meet your son the next time you come to Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights in the Kyoto room as part of a long weekend get away. It's a great location, near the FDR sites and the Culinary Institute and right across the road from Vanderbilt mansion where you can roam the beautiful grounds for free. As everyone else has said, Diane and Michelle are both very friendly and gracious and enthusiastic; and not at all pushy. We would have preferred a room with an attached bathroom but we didn't have to share and there was no problem running into anyone else in the hallway; we were just a little worried about possibly waking up others when we had to get up during the night. Hair dryer, ironing board, and free wi-fi were all available as well as access to hot or cold drinks anytime; and cookies in the afternoon. Breakfast was great with something different and delicious each morning. Lots of brochures and info available about local attractions and Michelle and Diane were very good at making suggestions when asked. Would definitely recommend staying here if you're in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
The Vanderbilt Mansion’s grounds are fabulous and all the more so because they are open to the public from sunrise to sunset, every day. One never tires of the view of the Hudson River from that vantage point. The gardens, which have all been restored and maintained solely by volunteers, are amazing. Thank you for your comments about The Kyoto Room and its bathroom. It is always helpful to future guests to hear about the hall bath from previous guests, it was good of you to mention it. We hope you are planning a return visit to The Hudson Valley; we would so enjoy seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Sherwood Place, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are across from The Vanderbilt Mansion, a short drive to the Roosevelt Home & Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-kill and The Culinary Institute of America. Kayak the Hudson River and explore our miles of walking and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Journey Inn Bed And Breakfast
Journey Hotel Hyde Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.