We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WELCOMING RECEPTION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Hyde Park

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Priceline.com
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Hyde Park
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4142 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Hyde Park
McLean, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“WELCOMING RECEPTION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is well located and is quiet by day and at night.

It currently has a great special asset. Yvonne Laben, the daytime receptionist, is very friendly, efficient and helpful. While the FDR Library was closed because of the government shutdown, she offered excellent alternatives of places to see.

On the negative side, the room at night was cold and the heating system was not working properly.

Jean-Pierre and Ofelia.

Room Tip: In cold weather stays, check with reception beforehand that heating is working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Our front desk manager Yvonne is one of our greatest assets! he works hard to ensure all of our guests are happy with their stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    59
    38
    14
    11
See reviews for
49
40
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Romney, WV
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

For a centrally-located place in a tourist hub this is OK. We arrived just as the government shutdown closed the FDR house and library!

The rooms are small but the big problem is the lack of sound insulation between rooms and from outside. I stayed on the first floor front and listened to cars coming and going in the lot outside. No problem with noise from Route 9 just beyond that. Breakfast was OK with scrambled eggs and waffles but there were too few tables at the peak time. Staff was friendly and the room was clean. When you stepped into the bathtub for a shower, the tub bottom flexed which was slightly unnerving.

Overall I would stay again, but get a upstairs room.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs and limit your expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
It is go great to hear your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed breakfast and our friendly staff and thought that your rooms was nice and clean! We look forward to having you stay with us again to visit the FDR Museum and Library now that it is back open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sanilac, Michigan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

For an overnight stay in the area, this is very convenient, clean, and we would stay again. Melanie at the front desk was especially helpful. Breakfast was pretty typical of this type property, it was well stocked and the breakfast area was clean.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Melanie is a great asset to our company. Her wining personality and helpfulness truly make our guests feel welcome!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast! We offer scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausages, waffles, pastries, muffins, breads, bagels, cereals, yogurts, fruit, and many drinks to choose from.

We hope that you choose to stay with us again for your next visit to Hyde Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We knew we were not signing up for a stay in the Lincoln Bedroom or the Ritz Carlton. It's a perfectly adequate place for 2 nights to visit the area. The room was a place to sleep. This is not a resort where the room is part of the destination. We were provided with a clean room, free parking, free internet, free breakfast, reasonable cost. Staff was friendly and helpful, otherwise they stayed out of our way, and they were quite obviously trained to maintain a low profile. The buildings are 2-floor wood frame construction so a second floor room would be a good idea if you are bothered by people 'walking on your head'. However, if you have problems with stairs, request a ground floor room as there is no elevator. I agree with another reviewer that they do a great job here with what they have. If we return to this area we will be happy to check in here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay. We are so happy to hear that you thought your rooms was clean and our amenities and services were great.

We always take requests for first and second floor preferences!

We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Everything was fine except for the big mower tractor an then leaf/grass blower outside our window before 8 am - hotel employees. The noise was ridiculous. The woman at the check-out counter was very understanding and apologetic, and said she would tell her supervisors. Blowers should be banned....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are so sorry that the landscapers were moving the lawn so early in the morning during your stay. We have since contacted them to schedule our hotels lawn maintenance later in the day. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Hyde Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBUS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

ok maybe for a stop in a pinch. but the place is dated and needs a make
over. it's conveniently located. but on the top floor there was a distinct
smoke smell. the staff was nice. i'm not sure i'd stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your thoughts on your recent stay. We do have both smoking and non smoking rooms for our guests convenience and preference. We so happy to hear that you thought our staff was friendly!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We traveled to Hyde park for a weekend stay taking our daughter to college. We did not know it, but it was Parents College weekend at two other local colleges. The Holiday inn that we normally stay at was booked and the Courtyard Inn quoted us $339-$439 /night and said it was an "event" weekend so it must be prepaid and was non-refundable. I can stay on the beach in southern California for less than that! So we found a opening at the Quality Inn in Hyde Park. I read all the reviews and yes it is not a new style hotel but it is updated, and very clean. And yes there was all new and very comfortable pillows in the room (I read that was an issue in the past). The staff was great, parking was easy and the area quiet and safe. The breakfast area is small yes, but it was very clean, and they had not only the typical toast-yogurt-juice-cereal, but also eggs, sausage, and made to order waffles. Nice. Oh, and a good full bodied dark roast coffee. Yes the owner would probably love to have a new style building at this enviable location, but they do a great job with what they have. Clean, fair price, nice people; oh and impeccable landscaping. We had a dinner at the Italian restaurant that is basically across the street and it was very very good. Not to be missed if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay and we hope that you choose our hotel for your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Hyde Park

Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hyde Park Hotel Hyde Park
Quality Inn Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park Quality Inn
Address: 4142 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Hyde Park 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Hyde Park to your Saves list