We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Hyde Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Hyde Park
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4142 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Hyde Park
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just a stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Well, it isn't but just a place to stay. Bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were terrible. I now regret not bringing our own on thus trip. Clean? Mostly. Room and hotel could definitelt need some updating/renovations. Breakfast area is way too small. We didn't even bother to eat there in the a.m.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Hyde Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    64
    43
    14
    11
See reviews for
53
45
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Cons:
1 Beds are awfully uncomfortable.
2 Pillows are a joke, throw pillow sized.
3 Card keys need to be reset everyday, locking you out of room and hotel.
4 SCALDING hot water in shower. Beware!
5 Staff is very poorly trained. Needs direction for everything.
6 Breakfast food was nearly inedible.
7 Internet service and "business computer" did not work at all.
8 Rooms are falling apart. Molding with nails sticking out on bathroom door.
9 Very very noisy!!! You will hear every footstep above you and every voice in the hallway or room next door!!

For 139/night. One of worst hotels ive encountered.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the comments on your recent stay. We are so sorry to hear that you had so many issues with your room. We are looking into each issue that was mentioned and they will all be addressed.

Please be sure to mention any issues or comments that you have on your rooms or the hotel to the front desk during your stay. We always strive to correct any issues that may occur to ensure that you have the best stay possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley Falls, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was a lovely stay the rooms were roomy and clean, the staff were wonderful. I would return there again. It was a busy time were went to various attractions, so it was nice to relax at the end of the day in a clean, cozy room. Even though it was on the main route it still was very quiet and inside the hotel there wasn't any noise like it other hotels. It was a peaceful time .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so glad to hear that you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our room looked clean but smelled so moldy/musty we had to buy febreze and thoroughly spray it before sleeping. The door to the outside which was supposed to be opened by key was left propped open all night, we discovered in the morning. Would not recommend or stay there again, though the staff was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff’s service but are sorry to hear that there was an odor to your room. We would have been happy to change your room for you to better meet your needs. We do hope that you do decide to return to stay with us again if ever in the Hyde Park area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband I had booked this motel through AAA for two nights last weekend. When we arrived, the clerk told me that our reservation had been cancelled. I showed him the print-out of my reservation, but he said that it had been cancelled on August 10th by the host. I asked who "the host" is. He said AAA. AAA would never cancel a reservation. Why should they? He said he had several smoking rooms available. I said I would like to look at one to see how bad it smelled. The room did not smell bad at all, and in fact, had no ashtrays. I said we would take it and he said we could have it for the night, but not the following night as they were all booked. I don't believe a word of what I was told.We left and went to the Roosevelt Inn, a family-owned motel, which was very nice. We were treated well.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that your reservation had been cancelled. Our system does take reservations from many channels including travel agencies and internet booking agencies like Expedia.com and Hotels.com. Each of these agencies does have the ability to reserve rooms from our availability and to cancel them as well. We are sorry to hear that the booking agency that made your reservation did have an error.

We always try to accommodate all guests as best as we can and we are so sorry to hear that you decided to go to a motel in the area. Booking directly with our hotel by calling 845-229-0088 is the best way to ensure that you speak directly to our front desk staff and we will work hard to make sure there are no errors in your reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stay in Quality Inns (or other choice hotels) regularly, mostly for the price. This place is a bit nicer than average, but also costs a bit more than most other Quality Inns, that is due, no doubt, to the location. Our room was nice, clean and OK; however, we did reserve a King and got a room with two doubles. They said it was because of remodeling, which may have been the case. I was just not convinced. The desk staff was polite, but not very helpful. Breakfast was OK, but the room was very full. This is the closest hotel to the FDR home, and that is why we stayed here, and would do that again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor...It is a pain going up two sets of stairs to the upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us! We truly appreciate your thoughts and comments. I am so sorry that you did not receive the room type that you reserved. We have been undergoing some renovations over the summer that have finally been completed! We hope that you stay with us again on any future trips to the Hyde Park area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had booked this hotel through expedia, a non smoking room as I have asthma, and it was guaranteed. When we arrived I found out that they were giving us a smoking room. I explained that I couldn't do it because of health issues. The only room they offered was a handicapped room with one small bed. We would have been ok with an additonal rollaway or even a mattress, but it turned out that they didn't even have a spare pillow. When I asked to have my money back, the owner outright refused. Over the course of some time we saw the same thing happen over and over again. People who had booked through some kind of travel site and not through tthe hotel were all forced into smoking rooms. I saw a lot of unhappy people that day, and the hotel staff couldn't have cared less. Bottomline: ok it's a cheap hotel, but they don't care about their guests at all, as soon as they have the money they won't do a thing to accomodate your needs. Avoid this place by all means.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are so sorry to hear that the room type that you booked with Expedia.com was not the type of room that Expedia.com booked you in at our hotel. When booking with some internet hotel sites the room type is not guaranteed. If you read your confirmation letter carefully it will say that room types are not guaranteed. We do try to accommodate room type changes for guests as best as we can but unfortunately we can only do so when there is the availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Hyde Park

Address: 4142 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Hyde Park 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hyde Park Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.