We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Hyde Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Hyde Park
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4142 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Hudson, NH
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed three times. It's a typical Quality Inn. Not too new. The kind of building where the top floor is likely to be quieter. The pedestrian bridge over the Hudson is nearby. We had a nice walk on it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for the review and for staying with us as a repeat guest! We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    67
    48
    14
    11
See reviews for
56
48
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loma Linda, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was a cold winter night with snow - nice to have nice people to care about you! Would have been nice if they had a snow scraper to share. Nice breakfast in the morning to get you down the road. It was also nice to be able to use choice privilege points in this area since there are so many things to do and see here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you had a great stay with us this winter. Our staff works hard to ensure that everyone feels welcome! As you mentioned we are a Choice Hotel and reward our guests with choice privileges points for their stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, NY
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the Quality Inn in Hyde Park when picking up our son from the Culinary Institute. The hotel is close to the Institute and is in an area where there are plenty of amenities. The hotel has ample parking.

Check in was easy, and we had to climb stairs to get to our room, we had only small luggage, so this wasn't a problem. I am not sure if there is an elevator or not, as the person at the desk said "your room is right up those stairs."

Our room was a bit dated, and the large mirror was cracked, but it was clean. We had a microwave and a fridge that we did not use, but it was nice to have,

Internet in the room was bad. Our phones and iPads could not get the wifi, and the laptop connected, but the connection would drop. We called the desk and they told us to reboot our devices and offered no help there. Internet DID work in the lobby. I've always had bad internet at Quality Properties, so we were prepared to be without.

The beds seemed fine to us, but we were exhausted after a long drive and can sleep anywhere at that point. A positive is that the hotel was quiet.

Shower pressure was great, which is important for me, and the bathroom was large enough to comfortably maneuver.

Breakfast was good. Breads, fruits, danishes, eggs, meat and waffles were there to be had. The breakfast area is a bit small, but it was not busy when we were there, so it wasn't a problem.

There are better properties out there, but pricewise, you can't do much better for the area for a decent hotel. I would consider this hotel my number 2 choice if I couldn't succeed on bagging a higher quality hotel on a discount site.

Room Tip: I think rooms on the first floor near the lobby have better internet, if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to the Culinary Institute of America! As you mentioned we are only a few miles north of the CIA. We do not have an elevator at our hotel but we do only have two floors and if a first floor room is needed we are always happy to accommodate guest with a first floor room. I do hope that after your stay with us you will consider us your first choice for lodging in Hyde Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus Hook
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a plesant surprise when we arrived at the hotel. My husband is a smoker and we are very used to "No Smoking" rooms. He always has to go outside and that becomes an inconvience. When we arrived we were asked if we wanted a smoking room. Wow! We sure did and it made the trip that much nicer. Thank you for considering those who do smoke.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed our smoking section of the hotel. We do offer a few rooms for our smoking guests for their convenience. I am so glad that it made you stay that much better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed there the day before Thanksgiving.... Internet spotty, tub did not really drain.....overall it served its purpose as and for all I know the other hotel s in the area are worse...but still I can't in clear conscience recommend this place for anything other than a quick stopover. Also the tiny square pillows are most uncomfortable. It is super close to all of the Hyde park activities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing you opinion of our hotel. We are so sorry that you experienced issues with drainage in your shower and that you did not find our Choice Hotel pillows comfortable. We do try to deal with any issues that our guest bring to our attention so if you ever have a concern at any hotel please bring it to the attention to the front desk so they can have a chance to make your stay and the stay of future guests better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is just down the street from the FDR Presidential Library. I walked there several times, and it only took a few minutes. I was there to do research, and the hotel was perfect for me. Good Internet service, a clean and comfortable room, decent breakfast, and the price is right. From here to Eleanor Roosevelt's home Val-Kill is a 2 mile walk on a lovely well-managed path through the woods. The staff at this hotel is pleasant, polite, and helpful.

Try Coco's restaurant for a light dinner or lunch. Good food at a good price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are so glad that you have a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you are going to CIA (Culinary Institute of America) either to bring a student or visit a child, this is the best place to stay. It is just 2 miles away from the school.
Breakfast was OK and the rooms clean and neat.
Not a luxurious hotel but good enough for the purpose. Wi fi is free and fast.

Room Tip: Use the back room if you have plenty of luggages. Good for moving in day in the schools nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for the review. As mentioned we are very close to the Culinary Institute of America as well as the FDR Library and Home, Val-Kill, and the Vanderbilt Mansion. We are so glad that you are recommending us for a stay while visiting all of the Historic Hyde Park attractions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Hyde Park

Address: 4142 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Hyde Park 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hyde Park Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.