We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Hyde Park to your Saves list
Quality Inn Hyde Park
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4142 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Marcus Hook
2 reviews
“Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a plesant surprise when we arrived at the hotel. My husband is a smoker and we are very used to "No Smoking" rooms. He always has to go outside and that becomes an inconvience. When we arrived we were asked if we wanted a smoking room. Wow! We sure did and it made the trip that much nicer. Thank you for considering those who do smoke.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed our smoking section of the hotel. We do offer a few rooms for our smoking guests for their convenience. I am so glad that it made you stay that much better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    93
    56
    17
    14
See reviews for
72
68
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed there the day before Thanksgiving.... Internet spotty, tub did not really drain.....overall it served its purpose as and for all I know the other hotel s in the area are worse...but still I can't in clear conscience recommend this place for anything other than a quick stopover. Also the tiny square pillows are most uncomfortable. It is super close to all of the Hyde park activities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing you opinion of our hotel. We are so sorry that you experienced issues with drainage in your shower and that you did not find our Choice Hotel pillows comfortable. We do try to deal with any issues that our guest bring to our attention so if you ever have a concern at any hotel please bring it to the attention to the front desk so they can have a chance to make your stay and the stay of future guests better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is just down the street from the FDR Presidential Library. I walked there several times, and it only took a few minutes. I was there to do research, and the hotel was perfect for me. Good Internet service, a clean and comfortable room, decent breakfast, and the price is right. From here to Eleanor Roosevelt's home Val-Kill is a 2 mile walk on a lovely well-managed path through the woods. The staff at this hotel is pleasant, polite, and helpful.

Try Coco's restaurant for a light dinner or lunch. Good food at a good price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are so glad that you have a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you are going to CIA (Culinary Institute of America) either to bring a student or visit a child, this is the best place to stay. It is just 2 miles away from the school.
Breakfast was OK and the rooms clean and neat.
Not a luxurious hotel but good enough for the purpose. Wi fi is free and fast.

Room Tip: Use the back room if you have plenty of luggages. Good for moving in day in the schools nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for the review. As mentioned we are very close to the Culinary Institute of America as well as the FDR Library and Home, Val-Kill, and the Vanderbilt Mansion. We are so glad that you are recommending us for a stay while visiting all of the Historic Hyde Park attractions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent two nights at the Quality Inn Hyde Park, and for the most part we were pleased with our stay. As other reviewers have pointed out, it's tough to find a good hotel in the Hyde Park area, and this one was relatively reasonably priced. The location is unbeatable - the area's main attractions (FDR House, Vanderbilt Mansion, Culinary Institute of America, Val-Kill Cottage) are all located off of the same road as the hotel within easy driving distance. The room was very clean, and it's nice that the hotel provides a full breakfast (eggs, a breakfast meat, waffles, plus the usual continental breakfast fare). The negatives were that the bed was not very comfortable and the toilet had a habit of running for a very LONG time after you flushed it. Unfortunately, the toilet was also extremely loud when flushed, so this was more than a minor annoyance. Overall, however, the hotel is fine for a brief stay, especially if you're traveling on a tight budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for a great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed our central location in Hyde Park as well as our complimentary hot breakfast. If you are ever experiencing any issue in your hotel room please let the front desk know right away. We are usually able to fix the problem right away or when you are out of your room during the day.

We hope to host you again for any future stays in Hyde Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Sept 2012. We had a king sized bed 2nd fl. The room was clean and looked like it was recently upgraded. The breakfast was very good. Eggs, bacon, waffles, juice, fruit..... Much more than you expect for a free continental. The pillows were the small chicklet size and were awful. The front desk stated they receive many complaints but they are standard issue for Quality Inns. I asked for 2 add'l pillows. If you want to sit up in bed and watch TV, bring your own pillow. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your room and the breakfast! We always have additional pillows available at the front desk (as well as extra towels and other amenities) for our guests if needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Couldn't access side entrance with our key...twice! No elevator...Had to carry our bags upstairs to our room on the second floor. (Makes me question accessability for elderly and disabled patrons.) Pillows were smaller than the standard size and very uncomfortable. The only ice machine was inconveniently located on the main level. Air conditioner was too loud to sleep while running. The room wasn't clean to our standards. Finally...a rather unpleasant odor greeted us in the parking lot. We'll wait until another hotel is built in Hyde Park before visiting again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for the review. We always like to hear what our customers think about their stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that your key cards would not let you into the side door. The magnetic strip sometimes does get deactivated if placed by a cell phone or a credit card. I am sure that our front desk team was able to make you a new card to get into the door!

We do offer several handicap accessible rooms on the first floor. As a building with only two floors we do not have an elevator. Many times we can accommodate a request to be on the first floor and we are always willing to help carry bags up to the second floor!

I do hope that you will give our hotel another chance to make a good impression on you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
1.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
7.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#1 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Hyde Park

Address: 4142 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Hyde Park 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hyde Park Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.