We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Hyde Park to your Saves list
Quality Inn Hyde Park
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4142 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Perfect for the attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is just down the street from the FDR Presidential Library. I walked there several times, and it only took a few minutes. I was there to do research, and the hotel was perfect for me. Good Internet service, a clean and comfortable room, decent breakfast, and the price is right. From here to Eleanor Roosevelt's home Val-Kill is a 2 mile walk on a lovely well-managed path through the woods. The staff at this hotel is pleasant, polite, and helpful.

Try Coco's restaurant for a light dinner or lunch. Good food at a good price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are so glad that you have a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    73
    49
    15
    12
See reviews for
60
52
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
philippines
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you are going to CIA (Culinary Institute of America) either to bring a student or visit a child, this is the best place to stay. It is just 2 miles away from the school.
Breakfast was OK and the rooms clean and neat.
Not a luxurious hotel but good enough for the purpose. Wi fi is free and fast.

Room Tip: Use the back room if you have plenty of luggages. Good for moving in day in the schools nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for the review. As mentioned we are very close to the Culinary Institute of America as well as the FDR Library and Home, Val-Kill, and the Vanderbilt Mansion. We are so glad that you are recommending us for a stay while visiting all of the Historic Hyde Park attractions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent two nights at the Quality Inn Hyde Park, and for the most part we were pleased with our stay. As other reviewers have pointed out, it's tough to find a good hotel in the Hyde Park area, and this one was relatively reasonably priced. The location is unbeatable - the area's main attractions (FDR House, Vanderbilt Mansion, Culinary Institute of America, Val-Kill Cottage) are all located off of the same road as the hotel within easy driving distance. The room was very clean, and it's nice that the hotel provides a full breakfast (eggs, a breakfast meat, waffles, plus the usual continental breakfast fare). The negatives were that the bed was not very comfortable and the toilet had a habit of running for a very LONG time after you flushed it. Unfortunately, the toilet was also extremely loud when flushed, so this was more than a minor annoyance. Overall, however, the hotel is fine for a brief stay, especially if you're traveling on a tight budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for a great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed our central location in Hyde Park as well as our complimentary hot breakfast. If you are ever experiencing any issue in your hotel room please let the front desk know right away. We are usually able to fix the problem right away or when you are out of your room during the day.

We hope to host you again for any future stays in Hyde Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Sept 2012. We had a king sized bed 2nd fl. The room was clean and looked like it was recently upgraded. The breakfast was very good. Eggs, bacon, waffles, juice, fruit..... Much more than you expect for a free continental. The pillows were the small chicklet size and were awful. The front desk stated they receive many complaints but they are standard issue for Quality Inns. I asked for 2 add'l pillows. If you want to sit up in bed and watch TV, bring your own pillow. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your room and the breakfast! We always have additional pillows available at the front desk (as well as extra towels and other amenities) for our guests if needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Couldn't access side entrance with our key...twice! No elevator...Had to carry our bags upstairs to our room on the second floor. (Makes me question accessability for elderly and disabled patrons.) Pillows were smaller than the standard size and very uncomfortable. The only ice machine was inconveniently located on the main level. Air conditioner was too loud to sleep while running. The room wasn't clean to our standards. Finally...a rather unpleasant odor greeted us in the parking lot. We'll wait until another hotel is built in Hyde Park before visiting again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for the review. We always like to hear what our customers think about their stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that your key cards would not let you into the side door. The magnetic strip sometimes does get deactivated if placed by a cell phone or a credit card. I am sure that our front desk team was able to make you a new card to get into the door!

We do offer several handicap accessible rooms on the first floor. As a building with only two floors we do not have an elevator. Many times we can accommodate a request to be on the first floor and we are always willing to help carry bags up to the second floor!

I do hope that you will give our hotel another chance to make a good impression on you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was in town for my high school reunion, and this is basically the only hotel in Hyde Park proper. The ones that were there when I was a child have become indigent housing. So, my expectations were fairly low. I was quite pleasantly surprised. The hotel is clean, the staff was extremely friendly, the price was reasonable, the location was convenient. I will stay there again when in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for the great complements about our staff and hotel! We are so glad that you choose to stay with us for your visit to Hyde Park. As mentioned there are not many hotels in Hyde Park and we are proud to offer all of the Choice Hotels brand standards to our guests. We offer a free hot breakfast, wireless internet, large parking lot, and fitness room and business center.

I am so glad to hear that you will be staying with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland Gardens NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were going to the Dutchess County Fair in nearby Rhinebeck, so we stayed at the Quality Inn. I've been there once before, about three years ago. My expectations of a place like this are low--clean room and a comfortable place to sleep is all I want. If I wanted fro-fro's, I'd stay at the Beekman Arms. The property was just as nice as it was three years ago, with one odd change. We had a room with two double beds. The odd change was in the pillows. The beds had "regular" pillows the last time we were there. This time, there were three tiny square pillows on the bed, like Chicklet pillows. I went into the dresser to see if there were real pillows in there but no. It wasn't until after 11 pm that I realized the pillows were weird, and I wasn't going to go to the front desk to ask. If you are fussy about your pillows, this might be a deal breaker for you.
There was a small round table with a coffee maker on it and two chairs. (The chairs looked like someone had spilled coffee on them and really could use cleaning.) The water was plenty hot enough for a shower and the water pressure was good. The TV worked fine.
The free breakfast was quite good--scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, fruit, make your own waffle, bacon, cereal, bagels, bread, muffins. . .plenty to eat. I liked that they had breakfast until 11 a.m. There is a Dairy Queen and a diner nearby, and Coppola's Italian restaurant across the street.
As someone mentioned in another review, this place has no pool. For us, that didn't matter. The location really good. Quality Inn is near the Roosevelt House, Vanderbilt Mansion, and Rhinebeck (there's an aerodrome there) and the Fairgrounds are not far away. The people who work there are very friendly and helpful and will suggest things to do and see if you are not sure.
I would definitely stay there again the next time we were going to attend something at the Fairgrounds (there are events year round) or want to sight see in the area.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if you have heavy bags, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We are so glad to hear that you had a good stay while you were in Hyde Park!

I am so sorry that you were not happy with the pillows in your room. We do have the Choice Hotel Brand approved pillows that they require us to have in each room. I do understand that they are smaller than pillows that you would have in your home. We do always have extra pillows at the front desk to give out to guests as needed.

Thank you for the review and we look forward to hosting you again!

Linda
Director Of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Hyde Park

Address: 4142 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Hyde Park 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hyde Park Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.