We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Roosevelt Inn to your Saves list
Roosevelt Inn
4360 Albany Post Road, Rt. 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Early 4 Best Rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value, clean and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

My husband and I traveled with friends. Each couple had our own rooms, very clean and spacious. The hotel proprietor and her daugher are very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast in the cute "cafe" was just right. The cafe room is open 24 hours, access it with a key. It provides a nice area to relax if your partner wants to sleep in or take a nap. The inn is well located near all major attractions.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    89
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
58
97
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

A motor-court type inn in a lovely town. Our room was spacious, very clean, comfortable, and quiet. Our welcome was warm and friendly. The owner's Corgi came out to say hello, much to our delight! We were also welcome to use the coffee shop any time, for free coffee, tea, hot chocolate and microwave pop corn. In the morning the coffee shop has fresh fruit, cereals, bagels, muffins, and donuts to help your self to. The owner told us about nearby places for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, MA
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We booked a room at this hotel based on other trip advisor reviews and we were glad that we did. We were only there for 1 night and we didn't want to spend a fortune for a room . We booked the $99 double bed room. We thought the room was great. It was quite big, and very clean, the beds were comfortable, and there was heat !!!! It got quite cold that night. The bathroom was very clean and modern too.

It includes a Continental Breakfast in the attached little coffee shop which was very clean and comfortable as well. The breakfast includes donuts, bagles, english muffins, and cold cereal. There is also coffee, tea, milk and juice. The sign says that you can also go in the off hours and have tea or hot chocolate and microwave popcorn. We only dealt with the hotel staff during check-in and check-out, but they were very friendly.

I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Hyde Park. The location to all the sites is perfect. You can't beat the value and the charm that this place has to offer. I had checked the prices of the other hotels and the reviews. The Quality Inn started at $125.00 and the other hotels while cheaper didn't get as many good reviews as "The Roosevelt Inn" did.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

While preparing for two-week historic sightseeing trip through New York and other states from Cleveland, OH area, decided to reserve room here after comparing and researching for stay along the western Catskill Mountains, northern Hudson River area. Wonderful location, within driving distance to many historical sites, and situated in clean, peaceful area. Owners of motel were very pleasant. Very nice, extra bonus feature is their breakfast bar room, which is off by itself and separated from motel lobby, and accessed by key given to motel guests. It made for a very pleasant and relaxing morning breakfast that was different from the usual hodge podge of people running to and fro through motel lobby while you're nibbling a bagel and sipping on some coffee. Very clean, comfortable and peaceful place and well worth your consideration if you value serenity over ornamentation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
office
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

My family and I recently travelled to Hyde Park (from all over the US) for the funeral for our Dad. The innkeepers Karen (and her Mom) could not have been lovelier in making our stay manageable. I called about two days before coming in - didn't know how many or when everyone was coming in. Karen was totally flexible, moving us and our stuff around so we could fit. She grew up there, also, so knows the area and was able to recommend anything we needed: pizza, drugstore, you name it - she even had lawn chairs for us to use one night when we decided to go to the drive-in. The reason for our visit was sad but Karen made the lodging part convenient and easy.

Hotel is fine like everyone says on here - basic and very clean. They have this wonderful little "coffee shop" (complete with a counter and swinging stools) that is only for guests - breakfast is in there in the mornings and each guest has a key so you can use it at any time to make some tea or eat take out or work on your laptop or whatever. If you are visiting HP for the sites, this is a great location and there is a terrific coffee/lunch place just two blocks away called Cranberries (very California kinda place right in the middle of HP).

Karen and her Mom could not have been nicer. If you're going to HP, stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Our stay was okay! I would stay there again, but NOT in a rustic room :) We stayed with family in the family suite, which was a "rustic room".

Positives:
1) Pretty clean (the only non clean part was that the bottom sheets on the bed aren't fitted, and lift up at the top because they aren't long enough to be tucked in under the top of the mattress, and it bothered me that when I accidentally lifted it up there were hairs, fuzz, etc. on the underlying mattress - I wish they'd get longer sheets!)
2) Friendly staff
3) nice cafe space in the hotel with air conditioning and tables that you can sit at during any time of the day
4) super convenient location
5) awesome fresh breakfast - the bagels were dreamy! :) i am guessing they came from the nearby dunkin donuts each morning. bagels, cereal, donuts, coffee, tea, cocoa...

Negatives:
1) the beds were SO uncomfortable. My arms fell asleep when I tried to sleep on my sides! :) The beds are also TINY. At least in the rustic rooms. But we knew that going in... but that didn't make it any more comfortable.
2) the bathroom needs serious renovation - the toothbrush holder ceramic thingy had broken off the wall apparently some time ago, and its chipped remains are still there... shower very dark, curtains totally opaque so it doesn't help with the darkness... just looks old and in need of some tlc.
3) the room was so dark... and we knew that beforehand also, but if we were to stay again I would not get that room.
4) NO TEMPERATURE CONTROL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Couldn't control the temp in the room AT ALL. Luckily it had central air or something, but sometimes it would be freezing and sometimes during the day the central air was shut off and it would be stuffy!

I have a feeling that some of these issues aren't a big deal for the regular, non-rustic rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Roosevelt_Inn, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
The room this guest is speaking about is what we call our 'overflow' room and one not generally rented sight unseen nor available online. It is a larger Rustic room on the ground floor and we use it mainly for storage and occasionally rent it on sell out weekends for guests who view it beforehand.

In this guest's case, they asked to change to this room because it was larger (two bedrooms w/one full and two twins) than the room they reserved-- a typical Rustic Full (one full-size bed). As for the central air, none of the Rustic rooms have individual controls.

For approx. $10-15 more per night, anyone can upgrade to our Deluxe room with bigger beds, individual climate control, and more traditional chain-brand look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

A charming hotel reminiscent of vacations and hotel stays before the industry got so homogenized. We stayed in a smaller room with wood-paneled walls and a double bed. It was cozy and comfortable. The property and room were well-maintained and clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. The tree-shaded property with colorful flower boxes combined with free continental breakfast, cable television and wireless internet access made it very easy to not miss the cookie-cutter familiarity of the big box hotels down the road.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Address: 4360 Albany Post Road, Rt. 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roosevelt Inn of Hyde Park is a uniquely charming family-owned motel-style inn with 25 rooms and a coffee shop.The proprietors, originally from Germany and Finland, established the inn and have infused it with an air of old-world hospitality that continues today.Roosevelt Inn offers two styles of accommodations - our deluxe rooms and our rustic rooms. Deluxe rooms include new Thomasville furniture, a flat screen TV, mini fridge and individual A/C unit. Our rustic rooms offer a quaint experience with knotty-pine interior, traditional furniture, brightly colored subway tile in the bathrooms and a flat screen TV. All accommodations include Wi-Fi, a continental breakfast and access to our coffee shop with complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and popcorn available 24 hours a day.The inn is located in the historic town of Hyde Park, New York. Hyde Park is the birthplace of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and offers many points of interest, such as FDR Home and Library, Vanderbilt Mansion, Culinary Institute of America, Staatsburgh State Historic Site, Town of Rhinebeck, Dutchess Fairgrounds and Marist, Bard and Vassar Colleges.Hyde Park sits alongside the Hudson River and Route 9 and is approximately 2 hours north of New York City and 1.5 hours south of Albany. It is a perfect stopping point for travelers exploring the beautiful Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Hyde Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roosevelt Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.