We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph's Steakhouse

Joseph's Steakhouse
728 Violet Avenue, Hyde Park, NY
+1 845-473-2333
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joseph's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 42 restaurants in Hyde Park
Price range: $21 - $39
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Creek Road
Transit: Dutchess
Description: Joseph's Steakhouse is located next to Val-Kill. Eleanor Roosevelt's National Site in Historic Hyde Park. Joseph Steakhouse was once part of Val-Kill and was called Val-Kill Station. Val-Kill Station from 1933 to 1949 servered as a Tea Room restaurant serving a Tea Luncheon to Royal families & travlers visting the Roosevelts. Besides our great steaks and seafood, Joseph Steakhouse still continues the tea luncheon tradition by reservation only in the tea room. Available daily for Groups of 25 or more.
Hyde Park, New York
1 review
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I went to Joseph's after hearing from several friends how good it was. They were right. The food was excellent!!! The service was also great. The decor was classy and well kept. We would definitely return to Joseph's again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    138
    22
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first visit to Joseph's and won't be our last. I had to try the dry aged steak. I ordered the 20 oz porterhouse steak. It was Outstanding, but a little pricey, 36.00 which included a house or ceasar salad. Had to pay $4.00 extra for fries. But it was worth the price. My wife and mother-in-law both had the Sauerbraten which they said was excellent. Service was great. All the waiter seem to help each other out. Joseph the owner makes his rounds to each table to say Hi and see that everything is OK. He was very friendly and chatted with us for a few minutes. Only complaint was after the waiter gave us the menus and told us about the specials he left without asking if we would like to order cocktails. We flagged him down to order drinks and he did apologize. Every course was served in a timely fashion, in fact I hadn't finish my salad yet and our meals came out. Most every table was full that night also. We talked to Joseph's wife on the way out and my wife and mother-in-law told how good the meals were and they totally loved the sauerbraten. See told us that the chef was the chef from the Little Brauhaus that was on main st in Poughkeepsie years ago, which was a German restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Joheph's Steak House -great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Three of us went to Joseph's and were very pleased. The food is very good, the service is excellent, and the whole atmosphere was just as we had hoped. Joseph and his staff really know how to run a successful restaurant. The menu is extensive, with a wide price range.... something for everyone. Steaks are top quality, and we were pleased to find sauerbraten on the menu ... made in the true German way. This will definitely be a repeat performance for us.Pleasant bar atmosphere also, for those inclined.The desserts looked fabulous, but alas, we could not eat another bite.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Could be better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

On a recent visit we found the service to be slow due to inadequate staffing. Our steaks appeared to have been kept warm too long while waiting to be served. Details like clearing away dishes at the appropriate time were overlooked. Condiments were not offered. Overall the meal was average at best. It would seem that more attention to staffing and to details would be a great benefit to this establishment.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Off Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I have been to Joseph's two or three times and have found the food and service to be excellent. However, last night (2/16/13) we were a little disappointed. The restaurant was full, but there did not appear to be anyone waiting to be seated. From the time we were (promptly) seated it was almost two hours until we were served our entrees. We were grateful that there was no unreasonable delay in receiving our appetizer or salads, but between the salads and the main course, time dragged by. Our waitress was pleasant enough (although we never did receive our bread), but long periods of time went by without her checking back with us. When our steaks did finally arrived, they were barely warm. We heard another couple across from us complain to the owner about the same problem of cold food. They decided to have their food wrapped up and they took it home. After waiting so long, we decided to not complain and eat our dinner, fearing how long it would take to send our food back.

At the end, we did tell another waiter who stopped by about the delay and cold food. He said that since the restaurant was rated #1 by Trip Advisor, they had seen a tremendous increase in customers and they needed to have internal discussions on how to adjust for that fact. I expect that they will. The owner seems to respond to comments on this web site and I think he will react to any problems. We will definitely go back and have chalked our experience up to an "off night".

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
The good news about this review is that you have been to Joseph's before and experience an excellent dinner. That Saturday night was not up to our standards and there were about four tables that did not have the type dinning experience that I expect from our staff either. But the blame starts at the top and that is me. There are a few holiday's that restaurant get a lot busier than normal and this was one. Most restaurants use a reduced menu on those days to a void the problem we experienced that night, but I choose to use our full menu. From the time we open to the time we closed we never had an empty seat. In fact we turn away a large number of reservations and walk-in's that night. Our normal menu is a lot larger than most restaurant and using a reduced menu that night would of been a much wiser decision. We are rated the #1 restaurant in Hyde Park for a reason and hope you come back to Joseph's.for a #1 experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Joseph's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.