We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a Smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 2 Taste Food and Wine Bar

2 Taste Food and Wine Bar
4290 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538
+1 845-233-5647
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 restaurants in Hyde Park
Price range: $8 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
South Windsor, Connecticut
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Service with a Smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We made reservations and were promptly seated upon arrival. Terri, our waitress, was lots of fun and very attentive. She is a real asset to the establishment. We all shared a Risotto for an appetizer. It was smooth, creamy and delicious. Entrees varied, one of us had a quinoa burger, another the regular burger, one had a gnocci and I had the special of the night, sausage with pickled red cabbage and baby potatoes. All were excellent with only one complaint. The burger was ordered well done and came pink. It was promptly corrected with an apology. Bagguette slices served with butter or an olive spread were great. The olive spread was especially tasty. For dessert we shared and enjoyed a honey bread pudding and a mousse. Would love to return if ever in the area.

When we arrive a Chamber of Commerce get together was in progress and was a little noisy. It did calm down after awhile.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    65
    15
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrific food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We made a reservation two months ahead by email and it was confirmed. Somehow there was a mixup, and when we arrived they said we were two hours early!! The restaurant staff were wonderfully accommodating. They found a table for the 6 of us and gave us free dessert as an apology!!!! But more importantly the food was inventive, prepared and presented beautifully and was delicious!!! If I lived close by, this would be my regular dining spot. Prices were extremely reasonable, especially for the gourmet food they serve. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good Dinner Experience with an Excellent Wine Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A friend selected this restaurant in Hyde Park for my birthday dinner. The menu is not very large but there are specials available for most evenings. Upon arrival, the specials are posted at the door. The restaurant is fairly small and reservations are recommended. There are options to dine indoors or outdoors. It looked like there are a number of dining and wine tasting events that are held often to the public. After hearing the specials, we opted for the Duck Ragu special and the Duck Breast dinner. We also ordered a couple of flights of wine with our dinner. Our waiter was very attentive and was knowledgeable about the wine selections. Dinner came out very quickly and was the perfect temperature. Overall the food was very tasty and would recommend this place to someone looking for an intimate dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very Good But Not Outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Cute place with very friendly and attentive service. Excellent selection of wine and beer. Wine flights offered a nice selection. The cheese plate at $16 seemed skimpy and the variety might have been better. We had tasted some amazing cheeses at the Rhinebeck farmer's market that afternoon and they were not present on this board.... It was just OK. My burger was cooked perfectly but I found the fries greasy and heavily salted. My wife's salmon was also cooked perfectly but I found the presentation in a bowl a little strange. My French press coffee was great, my wife's cappuccino was on the weak side. It was a good meal but certainly not outstanding......sorry, 2 Taste Food and Wine Bar fans.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“We had a good time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A semi-funky place in a strip mall....park in the back. Very interesting menu with some great surprises. Strip-mall gastronomy, plenty of wine & beer. Absolutely terrific and attentive service. Busy place, as well it should be. Sit at a booth or table, a table with high stools, sit at the bar and watch the open kitchen.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Taste Food and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to 2 Taste Food and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 2 Taste Food and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.