We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 2 Taste Food and Wine Bar - CLOSED

2 Taste Food and Wine Bar
4290 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538
+1 845-233-5647
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A terrific find in Hyde Park,NY. Just a short ride from Poughkeepsie or Rhinebeck. These culinary trained chefs really know how to combine foods and flavors to produce an excellent meal. There is an interesting sample selection for wine tasting on the menu. The fresh ingredients for dinner came from the best local purveyors. Service was attentive and friendly. They will adjust the menu for allergies, and include at least one vegan menu item. Behind the Route 9 entrance is a large parking lot with another entrance to the restaurant. This restaurant is worthy of repeat visits.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    15
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Pork Chops! Excellent Wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We made reservations for a table for 7. The restaurant accommodated our group. Our waitress, Faith was delightful!
We went in for the pork chops, but tried shrimp and grits and risotto! Everything was delicious!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Limited menu but great food (and coffee)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The menu is small, so I advise checking before deciding on eating there. The food was great, well prepared, tasty and well presented. Atmosphere is so, so but on the night we were there quiet and you could talk rather than shout. Nice wine list and the best decaf coffee I have ever had outside of a Bermuda hotel. Service was good to excellent.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
442 helpful votes 442 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch after Visiting FDR’s Springwood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My spouse and I dined at 2 Taste in mid-August 2013. They do not participate in Open Table, nor do they accept Restaurant.com gift certificates any longer, but they do take reservations. The restaurant is open for lunch on weekends only (weekdays for large groups and by reservation only) and dinner daily except on Mondays. The restaurant is located in a strip-mall type location, with other stores and businesses on either side. There is plenty of parking in a lot that all the businesses share. A restaurant called Twist previously held this location.

The restaurant has a few tables on their front patio adjacent to Route 9. Each table has its own umbrella, and the chairs are covered with cushions. The patio is enclosed by a decorative chain and surrounded by different flower pots, so someone has invested some time and energy to provide outdoor seating (although it is a little noisy because of the road traffic). Smoking is allowed on the front patio.

The cheese board was excellent, more plentiful and creative than others we have seen (we particularly liked the wine crackers). We also enjoyed the duck sliders, which featured thick slices of duck breast. The interior of the restaurant is attractive, with table and booth seating as well as seating at the chef's counter. The chalk board detail around the booth area was a cute touch! The restaurant offers four different wine flights, along with many choices by the glass and bottle, as well as a good selection of beers and other cocktails. Service was a little spotty, but our waitress was new (possibly her first day), and when she encountered issues, someone more experienced stepped in to set things right.

We had a pleasant meal at 2 Taste, sitting outside and enjoying the weather on a beautiful day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Wow- best meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Mom and I ate here since staying in Hyde Park for the night. I had the baby greens salad and Wildflower Honey Salmon - awesome! Mom had a mac n cheese app and hamburger. Both of us had the risotto- yum. Excellent service for all our culinary needs. Nice wine selection. The chefs graduated from Culinary Institute so you can't beat this place if in Hyde Park.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Taste Food and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 2 Taste Food and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.