We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Pie Bakery Cafe

Apple Pie Bakery Cafe
1946 Campus Dr, Hyde Park, NY 12538
+1 845-871-6608
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Description: The Apple Pie Bakery Cafe showcases the talents of the CIA's baking and pastry arts students and faculty, and features sumptuous baked goods and cafe cuisine. The full menu is available for takeout or to enjoy in our relaxed, reservation-free dining area. The Apple Pie Bakery Cafe received awards for "Best Desserts" and "Best Lunch Spot" in Hudson Valley Magazine's annual "Best Of The Hudson Valley" awards.
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
“Relaxing Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Apple Pie Bakery has become so popular that I've seen long lines for lunch, so it was nice to go for a late breakfast around 9:30am and be there with tables of CIA students. We didn't have to wait long for our food, and there were empty tables, so we didn't feel guilty about staying and chatting even after we've finished eating. Then we had time to purchase a few more items to go!
I had a ham and cheese croissant/pastry and nutella latte (and orange juice!) I couldn't drink everything and they offered to-go cups to me to take the beverages home without my prompting. My friend didn't finish her scones and they gave us a sleeve for the scone and a paper bag for the sleeve. I also purchased 6 good sized brioche donut holes ($1.99), 2 brioche donuts and a chocolate croissant to go. All my food and beverage and take-out came to $20.80 or so. : ) (The croissants were good, didn't get to touch the donuts, but by the way they were consumed by the kids, they were good too.)
The weather was great to look out into the courtyard and see the fountain there and a group students who were obviously in a class that had moved outdoors.
After we left the bakery, we strolled around the grounds in front of the main building and enjoyed the view of the fountain and the blooming lavender and potted plants there.
Parking was very convenient, just have to be aware that there is construction which narrowed the drive out to the exit to route 9.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    28
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Can't say enough about the friendliness of the student/staff at the CIA. Smiles, great pasty breakfast with lots of choices. The campus is beautiful with veggies worked into the landscaping. Pristine and beautiful. Wish I was able to tour the CIA, but did not allow enough time to make the tour at 4pm. If you are in the area, a visit to the CIA is a must.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast and lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

You have to try this for lunch or breakfast. The food is excellent with great variety. Pulled pork sandwich really surprised me! Big enough for 2 and real barbecue flavor and melt in your mouth tender. Servers are students in training so please be patient if they make an error...no tipping allowed. What can I tell you...we loved it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fancy and Comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I are not the most comfortable in a fine dining atmosphere, but we both felt like this was a great way to experience fabulous food in a comfortable environment. We didn't know anything about the CIA except what we learned through TripAdvisor, but we decided to give it a shot. Finding parking and our way to the restaurants wasn't the clearest, but people on the campus were extremely friendly and helped us find our way. It was very loud in the café area, but the grounds and the view was beautiful. We ordered and had a wonderful barbeque sandwich, cauliflower soup, and turkey sandwich. I would say skip French fries, because they weren't anything special and save room for dessert. They had run out of the tiramisu that I wanted, but the desserts we did receive were phenomenal. We will return to the other restaurants if we are in the area again or check out the other campuses if when we're in Texas and California.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Make a quick stop for a gourmet treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The quality and the presentation of these sweets make the visit pleasantly surprising, although a bit pricey. You can view the students in the food preparation area through plexiglass windows. Construction at the school made it difficult to park.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apple Pie Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Apple Pie Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Pie Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.