We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Pie Bakery Cafe

Apple Pie Bakery Cafe
1946 Campus Dr, Hyde Park, NY 12538
+1 845-871-6608
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Description: The Apple Pie Bakery Cafe showcases the talents of the CIA's baking and pastry arts students and faculty, and features sumptuous baked goods and cafe cuisine. The full menu is available for takeout or to enjoy in our relaxed, reservation-free dining area. The Apple Pie Bakery Cafe received awards for "Best Desserts" and "Best Lunch Spot" in Hudson Valley Magazine's annual "Best Of The Hudson Valley" awards.
Pine Plains, New York, USA
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great Place for Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Apple Pie Bakery can often be a bit crowded but it is always worth the wait. They do an amazing job serving beautifully presented food in a casual place. I've never had anything that wasn't delicious and gorgeous.

The pastries are to die for!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    65
    26
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't leave the Culinary Institute without stopping into the cafe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The students are so refreshingly wholesome and motivated to welcome and serve you. Each one, irrespective of their intended duties, whether they are en route to another guest, will stop and kindly and sincerely assist you. Every item available is gorgeous to look at - the lemon meringue tart was the singular best one I have ever tasted and I am a connoisseur of lemon meringue tarts (lol)! I had had lunch at the American Bounty Restaurant, was totally full, but ordered two desserts at the Apple Pie Bakery - everything was so appealing and mindbogglingly delicious. Actually, one could go just to the bakery cafe and have a great sandwich or the mac and cheese which looked epic. Outstanding!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Everything at the Apple Pie Bakery Cafe smells delightful! It was very difficult to decide what to order because everything looked so good on the menu. Sweet or savory, it was all delicious. We had soup, sandwiches and pie. Each item was excellently prepared and presented. The advantage of this cafe at the culinary is that you don't need a reservation. All other restaurants at the CIA require advance reservations. Enjoy!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Could eat here every day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had heard about the Culinary Institute of America but were concerned it would be too pricy and formal for us. NOT. The bakery is a cafeteria style. It had a long line up out the door for lunch but we were handed menus to make a selection while still in line and the line moved quickly (about 10 minutes in line). Food is then brought to your table. It was so delicious..including a wonderful dessert and friendly service. Very reasonable price. Atmosphere is busy and noisy so if you want relaxation or romance, this is not for you. We could eat here every day if we lived nearby!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawling, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Real Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have stopped in this little gem several times for lunch and breakfast pastry and coffee. A couple of days ago I had friends visiting from CA. After we had lunch, we were heading to the FDR Presidential Library when we decided to make a stop for dessert. I had suggested this little gem and had hoped that since it was mid-afternoon it would not be as crowded. They were thrilled with this wonderful little cafe. We all selected different desserts and got a table. The students are the waiters and it is the final part of their studies. The setting cannot be beat. It is located right on the Hudson River and the campus is lovely. The service was very fast. Always an enjoyable stop. They are only open until 5PM but no reservations are required. Sometimes the lines can be long but they do move fairly fast. Stop, you will not be sorry. They only serves soups, sandwiches, pastry's, desserts and drinks... even wine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apple Pie Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Apple Pie Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Pie Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.