We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not CIA's best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Andrew's Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
St. Andrew's Cafe
1946 Campus Dr, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1430
845-471-6608
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 45 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good but not CIA's best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Will probably return to other CIA restaurants first. Decor is country club modern. Food good but uneven. Carrot cake turned out to be a muffin. Gnocchi somewhat golf-ballish (fitting the name?). Ravioli dried and tough on edges. But perfectly cooked dorade and excellent cioppino. Wine list a bit limited, partly because they try to offer local wines, which are not my preference. Overall this is very good dining, but we have been even more impressed by other restaurants there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishkill
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superior Service with Fine Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The restaurants at the CIA are all a worthwhile experience. St. Andrew's Cafe is a good example of the excellent food and service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pastry Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just looking at the bakery display will add 5 pounds.The presentation and selection are second to none and you can't beat the freshness.Pick anything that meets your fancy and you will not be disappointed.My personal favorie is the cinnamon bun.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watervliet, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday to my taste buds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Went with friends to lunch for best friends' birthday. YUM! The carrot apple soup was just right, the chicken and onions were amazing and who would think meat loaf would be the star of the show? Note, you need reservations and be there on time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morristown,nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Considering that reception, service and cooking is handled by relatively inexperienced students, I never expected anywhere near the level of quality and professionalism that I experienced.
I take my hat off to the Students and the Faculty of the CIA!
Can't wait to return again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Andrew's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to St. Andrew's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Andrew's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.